We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location / Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
InterContinental Sydney
Ranked #24 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Hawaii
Level Contributor
84 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Great location / Great hotel”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

I have stayed here a few times, but decided to write a short review on this hotel. First, it is in a great location, just a block from Circular Key (the ferries and train station), Sydney Opera House, Botanical Gardens and the Rocks.

The rooms are comfortable, spacious and well laid out. (We enjoyed our view of the Botanical gardens.) We only ate in the hotel once and did the dinner seafood buffet. Make sure you let them know you are a guest in the hotel, as you get a discount (at the time we went, it was $15 off). The food was good, but not as great as we were expecting. It would have been nice to have some more hot dishes, but it still was a good buffet and a decent price.

The gym was better than normal by most hotel standards, but we've seen better at other InterContinentals we have stayed at in SE Asia. We've actually remained pretty active outside, so we haven't used the gym too much.

I would highly recommend this hotel if you are looking for a good combination of location, quality, good service and reliability of a major chain. InterCon never disappoints.

Thanks to the entire staff for a great stay!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EB808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,410
    1,252
    383
    132
    92
See reviews for
716
1,833
226
894
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,262)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

My brother gifted me two nights at the Intercontinental for my wedding. Loved the amazing views of the harbour. Room was standard 5 star - bit on older side.
Location was amazing and the breakfast was enjoyable.

The only -ve for a 5 star was the sleepy check in staff who insisted I show them ID as the room was in my name (pre-paid) - But I was in my wedding dress at 1am with no ID. After some to-fro he finally accepted my Husbands ID and credit card. Not rocket science?

Room Tip: The king harbour is well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nish M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buderim, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

From the minute you arrive the staff are helpful, polite and just wonderful!

We stayed in a king Room with view of the harbour bridge with the rest of our family in rooms either side of us (another request they filled for us). The room was lovely, clean and big. Bed was very comfortable.

They gave us great recommendations on where to go and eat etc. No request was any worry for them.

BIG THUMBS UP to all of your staff!!

Room Tip: A view of the harbour for sure :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Genry_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tweed Heads, Australia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Something old world about the service, staff professionalism, room quality and location. Staff addressing guests with deference and formality is unusual but refreshing now. Our visit was a 'special' occasion and the hotel enhanced the occasion. Great harbour views, obscured only by one building. On the downside, we had a not up to standard coffee in the cafe.
We found the InterContinental dual loyality club system different, and the cheaper rate incentive line mentioned in the web site has to be done within 24 hours of the original booking.

Room Tip: Upper north eastern rooms look out towards Sydney Heads. Suites are on the harbourside corners
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boggle103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
154 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

This is consistent with the Intercontinental brand of quality. The hotel is excellently located 2 mins walk from Circular Quay. There is an impressive bar in the lobby area. The rooms are decent with all that you would expect. Mine faced away from the harbour and so did not benefit from a view. The breakfast offering is good though not of the standard of similar hotels around Asia. All in all, a great location but value is a challenge.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Abdul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ADELAIDE
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

My husband and I recently returned to this hotel to stay for our wedding anniversary which has always been one of our favourite places. The reasons are the following four, it has staff that present with excellence in all areas of the hotel, rooms are spotlessly clean and well presented many with great views,a wonderful club room with outstanding views of Sydney and finally its very good location, a walkable distance to Circular Quay, Darling Harbour and the city shops providing you are fit, if not the free city link bus is nearby. Even on a very wet stormy weekend in Sydney this hotel made for a most enjoyable weekend.

Room Tip: Well worth the extra money for a CLUB room and ask for either a harbour or bay view high up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TashAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We had a very enjoyable stay at the InterContinental Sydney prior to a cruise. Great location and breakfast and cocktails in the Club Floor were a great value. Free WiFi here too! The staff and service were very professional.

Room Tip: Book a Club Floor room, but you don't necessarily need a harbor view. The view from the Club Fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sflady2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
The Rocks
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#27 of 178 in Sydney
6,284 reviews
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Sydney

Property: InterContinental Sydney
Address: 117 Macquarie Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#10 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#11 Family Hotel in Sydney
#15 Business Hotel in Sydney
#24 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 509
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Sydney has been the luxury hotel of choice to meet, do business and unlock authentic experiences that make Australia's harbour city one of the best places in the world to live, work and visit. From its exceptional service and world-class facilities to luxury accommodation and rooftop Club InterContinental that overlooks Sydney harbour, it offers everything you need to make your time in the city count. With a total of 509 rooms and suites, 15 meetings and conferences spaces and dining options offering both seasonal fresh seafood buffet and a la carte dining, InterContinental Sydney caters for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your InterContinental Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sydney Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing