We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for Australia Day Celebrations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
InterContinental Sydney
Ranked #25 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Perfect for Australia Day Celebrations”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stayed at the Intercontinental for Australia Day weekend and had a great stay. Our room was a Harbour Bridge view room which offered spectacular views of the Harbour - we were even able to see the Ferry Boat race from our room. This hotel is in an excellent location for exploring Sydney CDB, as well the Botanical Gardens. Given the close proximity to the Ferry Terminal it was very easy to get a Ferry to Manly. Staff at the Intercontinental are great too, friendly and very helpful.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slowjocrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,446
    1,265
    387
    135
    95
See reviews for
735
1,857
230
900
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,280)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manhattan, Kansas
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

This hotel is centrally located and is steps from the Harbor, Opera House and the Botanical gardens. We had a city view room which was OK since we were using points for the stay. If you have the chance go with a high floor harbor view since that will be a better view. I couple of things to note: This property has a great gym on the top floor I used it several times, and it nice that most. If you are lucky enough (or pay enough) to get Club access the view from the club are outstanding! The pool is also on the top floor and has some very nice Operahouse views!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ernperez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rarotonga, Cook Islands
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Arrived fried off the plane and received profuse apologies that my room wouldnt be ready until 9 am as it was sunday! offered access to internet, spa and pool to freshen up but chose to take a coffee in the Atrium and check the news.

the room was excellent - i had a corner city view and it was well lit with plenty of space and lots of pillows.

hotel is in walking distance of circular quay and the george street and nearby there are a number of small bars springing up in the side streets.

very handy for the museum of sydney

Room Tip: the higher the bettter - the city view rooms are blocked until about the 13th floor by the buildings...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mld1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Like all other Intercontinentals I've stayed at, this was once again perfect in every way! All amenities are new, location is perfect, and most importantly staff are very helpful! This chain of hotels really live up to it's reputation, unlike some others (E.g. Sofitel) where it could be a hit and miss...
Nice short stroll to the botanical gardens was a nice bonus! And the view from the rooms is simply stunning! Definitely one of the best located hotels in Sydney! Would definitely come back!
PS: InterContinental hotels always have nice beds and sheets!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shoenutpooh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We visited this hotel just for a one night stay. Seriously overpriced, but very conveniently located. Room was ordinary - aging blinds and tiles, noisy air conditioning at night, soundproofing from adjacent room very poor.
Stay had been prepaid through Wotif, but they charged the credit card $101.50, and dismissively told us we might get it back in 10 days. Could not recommend anyone stay there.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear RogerB

Please accept our apologies for any diappointment experienced during your stay. If we had have been made aware of your concerns we certainly would have made every effort to correct this.

With regards to pricing, all prices are very in line with all 5 star hotels in Sydney.

The $100 per day pre-authorisation to your credit card is very normal in all hotels as this covers the cost of any incdentals which may be incurred during a guest stay. Unfortunately some guests do choose to depart without paying for such items. This amount isreversed by the hotel to the guests credit card upon check out and at times it can take up to 7 days for your bank to reverse the funds.

Again our apologies that you were disappointed with your stay.

We do hope you may reconsider and return in the future.

With kind regards
Clay Bennett-Bremner
Acting General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
144 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Stayed there for 4 nights with 2 rooms, business and leisure. After coming in from InterCon Adelaide, this hotel was a more pleasant experience, but there were issues. I had 2 rooms booked (3 nights, 4 nights) - they could not place us on the same floor despite communications 2 weeks prior to arrival. Then the internet did not work and my room was changed 4 times in total. Considering the exhorbitant charges for internet, it was all waived. The rooms are very well appointed, spotless and clean, pleasant to stay a whole day to relax. Airconditioning works very well without noise. Beds were very comfortable and sleep experience was excellent. Downside - had to pay a lot more upfront to get premium view rooms and lounge experience - additional $350/day, which on hindsight, was excessive. Having stayed at the ShangriLa on a previous visit, eveythiong was provided for a fixed rate, including internet, 270 degree view of harbour/opera, lounge access, breakfast. Overall, it was a relaxed experience, staff were very helpful and accomodative. But I'd like to try more locations in Sydney in future visits.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gul1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Gul1957

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and pleased overall your stay with us was enjoyable.

With regards to the additional charges, as you had booked 2 standard City View rooms on vouchers, which were room only and the on arrival requested one room be changed to a suite and the other upgraded to a Club InterContinental room there were additional charges required for these upgrades. Regrettably we cannot upgrade complimentary from a standard room on vouchers to a suite as well as Club InterContinental being included. Very sorry if this was not explained to you.

With regards to the internet charges, we did refund to you as a gesture of our goodwill and pleased this was appreciated.

Thank you again and very pleased that overall you seemed to have an enjoyable stay with us.

With kind regards
Clay Bennett-Bremner
Acting General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Very good hotel definitely 4 stars but just a shade shy of 5 stars. However great location and very friendly staff. walking distance to Opera House and all the shoreline action.Other sights of interest within 5 minutes walk..Sydney a very fun city.

Room Tip: Any view is good..different but good
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MCB11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear MCB11

Pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, thank you for taking the time to share.

Hopefully we shall have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future.

With kind regards
Clay Bennett-Bremner
Acting General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
The Rocks
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#29 of 179 in Sydney
6,349 reviews
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Sydney

Property: InterContinental Sydney
Address: 117 Macquarie Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#10 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#11 Family Hotel in Sydney
#15 Business Hotel in Sydney
#25 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 509
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Sydney has been the luxury hotel of choice to meet, do business and unlock authentic experiences that make Australia's harbour city one of the best places in the world to live, work and visit. From its exceptional service and world-class facilities to luxury accommodation and rooftop Club InterContinental that overlooks Sydney harbour, it offers everything you need to make your time in the city count. With a total of 509 rooms and suites, 15 meetings and conferences spaces and dining options offering both seasonal fresh seafood buffet and a la carte dining, InterContinental Sydney caters for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, IHG, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your InterContinental Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sydney Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing