We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Service was amazing. The workmen next door weren't” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Sydney

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
InterContinental Sydney
Ranked #26 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Service was amazing. The workmen next door weren't”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We spent the night of our wedding here and it was beautiful. The views were amazing and the service was exceptional.
Next morning however around 830am we heard a lot of banging and drilling from the next room from workmen. I understand repairs do have to go on in a hotel but I think it would be better if it weren't done so early and best between check out and check in times

Room Tip: choose the harbour bridge view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank darphi239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Darphi239

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

So pleased you had a truly enjoyable stay with us, especially on such an important night.

Please accept our apologies for the disturbance, we did not have any room maintenance scheduled during this time but there had been some road works taking place. We are not sure if this may have been the cause. As you had mentioned, room maintenance does not normally take place early in the morning unless necesary. Again our apologies for the disturbance.

We do hopefully look forward to welcoming you back for your first wedding anniversary.

With kind regards
Clay Bennett-Bremner
Acting General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,564 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,005
    1,059
    316
    112
    72
See reviews for
573
1,521
188
764
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,075)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Had a great stay at the Intercontinental for 3 nights in a Club room on the 29th floor. There's lots that is good about the hotel - standard of service is great, the Intercontinental Club is great, room amenity is good - quiet airconditioning. Most rooms have a good view, even the city view rooms have some harbour views. Only gripe was that our king size bed was about 6 inches shorter than what it should've been. I'm 180 cm (5'10") which is average height and my feet hung over the bottom of the bed. Really disappointing as the rest of the hotel was great.
Hotel could refine its checkout procedures with long queues every morning and no apparent express check out option. Was also surprised to find $100 deducted from the credit card as a "surety" without any authorisation on my part to do this - or any explanation from the hotel that this would occur.

Room Tip: High up away from the street noise is best. East facing rooms face a major street (Maquarie Street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank djrg123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear djrg123

Thank you for your review, we do appreciate the time you have taken to share you experience.

Please accept our apologies with regards to the bed and for any inconvenience caused to you.

With regards to the $100 on check in, this is amount is very normal in all hotels as unfortunately there are some people who do depart without paying for incidentals. It is a pre-authorisation to cover the costs of any incidentals which are incurred during a guests stay, if the amount is not used it is released upon check out.

Pleased overall you seemed to enjoy your stay with us and thank you for providing your feedback.

We do hope to welcome your return in the near future.

With kind regards
Clay Bennett-Bremner
Acting General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

Staying at the intercontinental is very satisfactory most of the time. However my wife and I decided to dine at the opera cafe for dinner. The menu was very limited and portions small but let's face it that's dining these days. However the main let down was the service and the buffet customers. We were sitting there drinking champagne at $34 per glass and after our first drink we could not get another one due to the staff more concerned about removing the plates in front of the buffet customers so they could get another helping and force feed themselves in the most disgusting fashion I have seen in a five star hotel. Quite seriously I thought it was the last supper the way these people were eating like a backhoe.

However the hotel cannot help this. But they can help us waiting 1 hour and 20 minutes for our main and 25 minutes for our drink order to be retaken. Considering we were one of two tables eating ala carte. We are members of the 'priority privilege' club which is supposed to show our loyalty and patronage to the intercon. I think I will be going to the shangri la with the rest of the populous. Very disappointing.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MK0303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear MK0303,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I can assure you that your comfort and satisfaction are of utmost importance to us and for that please accept my sincere apologies if your stay was negatively affected by service you received from our hotel. I appreciate you bringing this matter into our attention as this is our best resource for improving guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubbo, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

I love it here! The rooms are so clean and fresh. Cafe opera is lovely, the breakfast selection is vast, the wait staff are very helpful and friendly. Fantastic location only steps away from circular quay. The building is beautiful as is the decor. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you Jennie for the wonderful feedback. We also look forward to having you stay with us again for another memorable stay.

With kind regards
Clay Bennett-Bremner
Acting General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
153 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

What a fabulous stay as a Royal Ambassador-- the concierge James was spot-on in helping with everything! Complimentary mini-bar, good wi-fi, and Club Lounge had excellent service and food for breakfast and twilight. Parking was a bit spendy and sometimes the wi-fi clunked out, but had a glorious view so no matter!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wandersmuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Wandersmuch

Appreciate your review, thank you.

Pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for the compliment regarding James, he is a great asset to our hotel and always willing to assist our guests.

Thank you again and we look forward to having you stay with us once again.

Wtih kind regards
Clay Bennett-Bremner
Acting General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

Have stayed here since mid-80's. Ckub level is fantastic -- views if the harbor and food/beverage service leave nothing to be desired. Rooms are good size, well kept. Best though is rhe staff who all go out of their way to assure everything is to your liking.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PRUTLEDGE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear PRUTLEDGE

Appreciate you review, thank you and we are also very pleased you had a great stay with us.

Most of all we appreciate your comments regarding our staff, they also enjoy taking good care of our guest.

We look forward to having you stay with us again.

With kind regards
Clay Bennett-Bremner
Acting General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
160 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Love this hotel. The location is the best in Sydney and the building is just a beautiful piece of Sydney history. The Intercon never disappoints, the service, room standard and breakfast is always first class and Sydney Intercon is no different.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnkiGoldCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you AnkiGoldCoast for your review. Very pleased that all you expectations were met.

We do hope you will return once again in the very near future.

With kind regards
Clay Bennett-Bremner
Acting General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
The Rocks
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#24 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 stars 5,340 reviews
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Pullman Quay Grand Sydney Harbour
The Rocks
Park Hyatt Sydney
Park Hyatt Sydney
#2 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 stars 1,904 reviews
Central Business District
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Sydney

Property: InterContinental Sydney
Address: 117 Macquarie Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#11 Family Hotel in Sydney
#12 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#15 Business Hotel in Sydney
#26 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 509
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Sydney has been the luxury hotel of choice to meet, do business and unlock authentic experiences that make Australia's harbour city one of the best places in the world to live, work and visit. From its exceptional service and world-class facilities to luxury accommodation and rooftop Club InterContinental that overlooks Sydney harbour, it offers everything you need to make your time in the city count. With a total of 509 rooms and suites, 15 meetings and conferences spaces and dining options offering both seasonal fresh seafood buffet and a la carte dining, InterContinental Sydney caters for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your InterContinental Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sydney Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing