We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Usual intercontinental” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Sydney

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
InterContinental Sydney
Ranked #26 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
247 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Usual intercontinental”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Well located; usual excellent service as expected from the chain. Good value on the days we stayed. Breakfast buffet OK but not brilliant. A major gripe is the unacceptable policy of charging for internet access; this is not acceptable in a 5 star hotel!

Room Tip: habour view rooms obscured by AMP building
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lankylee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,578 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,014
    1,063
    317
    112
    72
See reviews for
575
1,530
188
765
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,078)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

It all comes down to what you deem important. We stayed (mum, dad & 4 year old boy) last weekend and the location was the prime reason to book this hotel. It is somewhat unfair to compare this hotel to say the Hilton or my personal favourite the Westin as these are new buildings but even at a great price, I have to say the InterCont needs some money spent on it. Example .. Bathroom. Toilet flush button on wall almost dropping out of the wall. Tops on taps loose. Decor thru-out very dated. We did enjoy our stay and the staff were excellent but you can do better environment-wise a little ways uptown if you can let go of the Circular Quay location. Probably wouldn't stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveAussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear Steve Aussie

Appreciate the time you have taken to write your review and thank you for the compliments with regards to our colleagues.

I do hope you enjoyed your stay with us and hopefully we shall have the opportunity to welcome you back again.

With kind regards
Clay Bennett-Bremner
Acting General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

I always stay here when in Sydney on business. The location is great, being just a stroll from Circular Quay and a short walk from the city centre. The rooms are always very well maintained and the beds are extremely comfortable. Service is without fault and hotel staff are always willing to help with anything you need. Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tenitchyfeet_88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear tenitchyfeet_88

It is very pleasing to read a review from a regular guest, thank you for sharing.

Pleased you find the hotel to be comfortable and our colleagues are always able to assist you.

We shall continue to welcome you to InterContinental Sydney.

With kind regards
Clay Bennett-Bremner
Acting General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

We stayed here for a couples getaway recently and loved our time here.
The Intercontinental is located close to the Circular Quay for easy acces to harbour trips, but be aware it is set on an in cline and the walk back to the Hotel can be a challenge for those not fit.
We stayed in the Intercontinental Club rooms on the top floors and enjoyed access to the Club lounge which affords fantastic views of the harbour bridge and opera house. The service was very good and the complimentary evening drinks and canapes went down a treat.. Entrance to the lounge is via your room key and your room number will be checked by staff. Evening drinks and canapes are available from 5 - 7pm and breakfast buffet runs from 6 - 11am. Most of the rooms have views of the city/harbour or botanical gardens. We enjoyed our stay and also the late checkout because of membership of the Hotel groups frequent visitor club. We were able to take advantage of the club lounge right up until we left which was a great way to finish our stay at one of Sydney's premier hotels.

Room Tip: Book a room which has club lounge access for the best views in Sydney.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heron2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear Heron2

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

The location of InterContinental Sydney is very handy to all the Sydney sights, so pleased you enjoyed your couples weekend with us.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you once again for another great weekend away.

With kind regards
Clay Bennett-Bremner
Acting General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
133 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

We have stayed here a few times in the past several months. Staff are very friendly and helpful. The room on the 25th floor offered a terrific view of the eastern harbour and the botanical gardens. The conservatorium of music was just below across Macquarie. We particularly enjoy the convenience of the location. On a busy night at Sydney airport where there are lineups for the taxis it is very easy to take the train and head to Circular Quay - and the Intercontinental is just a short walk up the hill. Great if you are not carrying much baggage or anything. When we were there the place was very busy. In fact I couldn't get a room through the hotel site of the Ambassador/priority club sites which was the only disappointed. I did find a room at lastminute.com.au which helped. The Cortile in the hotel is a good place to catch up with friends. Concierge services are quick and helpful as are the team outside with respect to taxis, and drivers. It was a very good weekend and the well appointed room and comfortable bed helped us to "de-stress" from work. Looking forward to our next stay.

Room Tip: The green city bus is at Circular Quay and you can easily get on it and head around city center...g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tevorolevu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear tevorelevu

Thank you for your review, so pleasing to read that you had a great weekend away with us.

Our Eastern Harbour View rooms do have a lovely uninterrupted view of the Botanical Gardens and the harbour, it is a very relaxing view.

Thank you also for the very nice compliment with regards to our colleagues.

We do look forward to welcoming you once again in the very near future.

Yours sincerely
Clay Bennett-Bremner
Acting General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Couldn't have been better situated for many of the key sights of Sydney and for getting the ferries around the bays from Circular Quay. Our room didn't have Harbour views but we could see the Botanical Gardens and the Sydney Museum. Very good, friendly service and good,comfortable,quiet rooms. The swimming pool at the top has glorious views of the Opera House and Harbour Bridge, especially at night! Would certainly stay there again when next in Sydney.

Room Tip: Harbour views at a premium
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Julia B

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review. It was a pleasure to read.

Very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we do look forward to welcoming you once again in the near future.

With kind regards
Clay Bennett-Bremner
Acting General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
85 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Great location, nice rooms, wonderful staff. The Intercontinental Sydney is always a perfect experience. The staff are welcoming, friendly and always go out of their way to make you feel comfortable and valued. I have stayed there many times before and would always go back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mack1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Mack1975

A pleasure to read your review, thank you.

As a regular guest we value your feedback and look forward to welcoming back to InterContinental Sydney.

With kind regards
Clay Bennett-Bremner
Acting General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
The Rocks
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#23 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 stars 5,358 reviews
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Pullman Quay Grand Sydney Harbour
The Rocks
Park Hyatt Sydney
Park Hyatt Sydney
#3 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 stars 1,911 reviews
Central Business District
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Sydney

Property: InterContinental Sydney
Address: 117 Macquarie Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#11 Family Hotel in Sydney
#12 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#15 Business Hotel in Sydney
#26 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 509
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Sydney has been the luxury hotel of choice to meet, do business and unlock authentic experiences that make Australia's harbour city one of the best places in the world to live, work and visit. From its exceptional service and world-class facilities to luxury accommodation and rooftop Club InterContinental that overlooks Sydney harbour, it offers everything you need to make your time in the city count. With a total of 509 rooms and suites, 15 meetings and conferences spaces and dining options offering both seasonal fresh seafood buffet and a la carte dining, InterContinental Sydney caters for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your InterContinental Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sydney Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing