We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not bad..”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
InterContinental Sydney
Ranked #24 of 174 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Not bad..”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

I stayed here for a business trip as a conference was being held at the hotel.

It's a lovely hotel with but I certainly would not rate it any better than Four Seasons, Sofitel or Shangri-La. The rooms are a little outdated and believe that the hotel is in need of serious refurbishment however, the views are fantastic.

More care needs to be taken by the front desk staff to cater for individual requirements when in group booking situations.

The breakfasts were fantastic and the chef's were so polite. The food was certainly one of the best at any high quality hotel chain.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank journeywithjezriel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Hello Jazabella84

Appreicate your review thankyou, pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us during your conference trip.

Pleased you enjoyed our breakfast and the food overall, this was great to read.

Thank you again and we hope to welcome your return soon.

With kind regards
Clay Bennett-Bremner
Acting General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,336
    1,212
    374
    129
    88
See reviews for
680
1,789
217
874
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,222)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
272 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

Like most InterContinentals, this one is beautiful. The check-in process was a little rocky because they simply did not have enough staff on to handle to number of people needing service. Based on other trip advisor reviews, I requested a room with an Opera House view. I am so glad that I did! Every minute I was in my room I was delighted by simply looking out towards the windows. The roomservice breakfast was delicious and always delivered on time. My tea did NOT taste like coffee and that is the sign of a hotel that pays attention to the details. My only complaint is that my bed was not the cushy experience I have come to expect from other high end hotels. The mattress felt very old, like, I could feel the springs and I had to sleep on the opposite side of the bed to avoid the dip caused by too many people sleeping on one side vs the other. That said, I did not complain because I didn't want to risk losing my postcard perfect view by moving to another room.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Kwchilily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear kwchilly

Appreicate the time you have taken to write your review, thank you.

Pleased you enjoyed the view from your room as well as breakfast.

With regards to your bed, we are actually in the process of replacing mattresses, so on you next visit you will notice this difference.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming your return.

With kind regards
Clay Bennett-Bremner
Acting General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

I regularly use this hotel for business in Sydney. The rooms are well set up for getting some work some and the service and food are good. The staff are friendly and try to help as much as they can (such as supplying the BB charger you left home). I like the harbour view rooms the best - tip 1724 has a great view of the bridge and Luna park

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Hello Oldtimerlex_12

Thank you for your review, it is great to know that being a regular stayer that you find our rooms comfortable, enjoyable food and our colleagues are always at hand to assist you.

Thank you again and we look forward to continuing to welcome you.

With kind regards
Clay Bennett-Bremner
Acting General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

We stayed at the InterContinental for one night following a cruise (2 adults and 2 children aged 11 and 13). The location was fantastic, with easy walking distance to Circular Quay train station and the ferries. The room was a good size and can easily accommodate a family of four. We had a harbour view room and the view was to die for! The beds were 2 x queens and really comfortable. The pool up on the 31st floor also has incredible views of the harbour, bridge, opera house, botanical gardens, etc. Can easily walk into the CBD from the hotel too. The staff were so friendly and accommodating, especially as we arrived early and had kids, they put us straight into a room despite us arriving before check-in time. Highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Harbour View rooms have unbelievable views of the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Hello Lee W

Thank you very much for your review, it was great to read your family had an enjoyable stay with us.

Pleased the views impressed you as well as our pool area and our colleagues along with being able to provide you with an early check in.

Thank you again and hopefully we can welcome your family once again in the very near future.

With kind regards
Clay Bennett-Bremner
Acting General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerrards Cross, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Comfortable hotel with all amenities expected provided with excellent service. Situated in centre near Circular Harbour close to Opera House and Bridge. Virtually everything is within easy walking distance.

Expensive but worth it with excellent service and facilities in hotel. Beautiful breakfasts and, unusually, we dined in the hotel's restaurants.

Room Tip: We had pre-booked B&B but we should have gone foir the 'club' package for value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pierre83120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Hello Pierre83120

Truly appreciate your review, thank you.

Very pleasing to read that you had a great stay with us, agree the location to the Botanical Gardens, Harbour is very handy.

You feedback regarding breakfast is also appreciated along with the lovely compliment about colleagues.

Thank you again and we look forward to having you stay with us once again.

With kind regards
Clay Bennett-Bremner
Acting General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2012

We stayed at the Intercontinental in October 2012 on our way to New Zealand from Perth. This was the second time we have stayed here and have enjoyed on both occassions.

It is in a very good location - overlooking the harbour bridge and opera house - the rocks are a 5 minute walk away. The room and beds are excellent - the only negative being the size of bathroom, they are quite small and showing signs of being a bit dated.

The lounge area in hotel atrium is very atmospheric and a nice place to have a drink and a snack. Service is efficient but as wth a few Intercontinentals a bit impersonal.

One gripe I had was (for the first time) staying with Ambassador status - having paid for this early in the year we got one night free. However - although we got a room "upgrade" this only related to the view (east towards the sea) - the room was no bigger than our previous stay. In contrast when we had stayed in the Intercontinental in Singapore we had an upgrade to the club floor. I was also annoyed to have to pay for internet - free in my last stay at a Crowne Plaza which is a much cheaper hotel.

In summary - a very nice hotel place to stay with lovely harbour views, excellent food and good location - just don't expect too much as an Ambassador guest.

Room Tip: Best view is to the opera house and harbour bridge - also very good to have east facing if early ris...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnA52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
interconsydney, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear JohnA52

Thank you for writing your review and sharing your experience following your 2nd stay with us.

We hope we can welcome you back once again for a 3rd stay in the not to distant future.

Thank you again.

With kind regards
Clay Bennett-Bremner
Acting General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

We recently stayed for 2 nights in this hotel. The location is good and our room was quite spacious. In addition, we requested our room be made available on our arrival, which was prior to check in time. We had a long overnight flight from Phuket and knew we would be tired and need a sleep on arrival. The staff went out of their way to find us a room that was ready for occupancy. The hotel was quiet and met all our needs. The staff were exceptionally helpful. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FayAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
The Rocks
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#26 of 174 in Sydney
6,083 reviews
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Sydney

Property: InterContinental Sydney
Address: 117 Macquarie Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#10 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#11 Family Hotel in Sydney
#15 Business Hotel in Sydney
#24 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 509
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Sydney has been the luxury hotel of choice to meet, do business and unlock authentic experiences that make Australia's harbour city one of the best places in the world to live, work and visit. From its exceptional service and world-class facilities to luxury accommodation and rooftop Club InterContinental that overlooks Sydney harbour, it offers everything you need to make your time in the city count. With a total of 509 rooms and suites, 15 meetings and conferences spaces and dining options offering both seasonal fresh seafood buffet and a la carte dining, InterContinental Sydney caters for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sydney Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing