We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For Business and Pleasure”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
InterContinental Sydney
Ranked #24 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“For Business and Pleasure”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

I am a returning guest at the Sydney Intercontinental where I recently spent few days in a business trip. The immediate feeling you get is a warm smiling welcome by the doorman greeting you at the arrival. It looks like you landed in Thailand and not so far away from the land of smile. Despite the fact there is not a dedicated line for Ambassador Members, the staff is quick, efficient and very polite. First thing gets your attention on the way to the elevator is the lovely red bricks lobby bar called "il cortile" where a pianist is featuring some covers from the old Simon and Garfunkel. The room is well prepared in advance with stunning view of the Botanic Garden and Woolloomooloo bay. Arrived in time for a snack before dinner and you don't want to leave the room after a refreshing shower? The room service selection is great and the service fast and impeccable. All around there haven't been any shortcoming as the attentiveness of anyone really make you feeling at home. You need a last meeting booking on a Saturday night in a packed trendy restaurant ? you can assure the concierge will do the very best to make it happens and usually they get it for you.
The location is also a plus as it is few meter always from Circular Quay terminal and a walking stroll from the Opera House. I have no idea when rooms went through refurbishment but still they are in a very good condition, clean and the quality of the bed, linen and towels is remarkable.
In summary: great location, attentive and prompt service, catchy ambience and food selection good enough for hotel standard.
I have tried other hotels around the bay and CBD but Intercontinental Sydney never let me down.

Room Tip: You got to get a view on the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FabR57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,410
    1,252
    383
    132
    92
See reviews for
716
1,833
226
894
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,262)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
99 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Check in line was long, staff was helpful in holding bags as room was not ready yet. Room was average size-bed was comfortable. Views out looking the Sydney Bridge and Circular Quay are nice.. Another hotel blocks the view of the Opera House. Quick walk to Royal Botanical Gardens, Opera House and Circular Quay. Tried to purchase the club lounge and it was "too full" and could not obtain access- disappointed. Internet is extra $25 per day. Indoor pool, gym, and business center are readily accessible. Did not have a spa treatment.
Have to check your bill when home to verify all charges! I was billed for $300+ that I stated were not my charges. The hotel itself cannot verify why they are there!!! Intercontinental stated I have to file formal protest with credit card company to have it investigated further, as Intercontinental cannot find their own error to correct. Frustrating to call from states four times to resolve directly, to no avail. Manager was kind but not helpful in resolving their error.

Room Tip: Face the Sydney Harbor for best views. Higher floors better, but still hear ferries and cruise ships...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karetomuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Austell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

We managed to book this hotel using Priority Club points for 4 nights in October for our honeymoon, and i have nothing but praise for the hotel, the staff and the location.

We managed to pay in advance to upgrade to a club room with view of the naval base/harbour and i would certainly suggest this to anyone, you get amazing views and Club intercontinental access due to upgrading.

Rooms are modern and big, with good bathrooms. The views and staff are the big plus for this hotel.

Upon checking in, very early due to arriving on a BA flight from London we headed out for a wonder and returned to find a bottle of wine, chocolates and a card congratulating us on our marriage.

Staff in club intercontinental are brilliant, always service with a smile and the club offers amazing views of the opera house and harbour bridge to have your breakfast looking at, or drinks in the evening.

Breakfast is included if you have Club access and this was a self service buffet with hot and cold options as well as made to order egg items, poached etc all served with a smile with as many hot drinks as you can manage

We made use of the concierge staff to book a tour, ask advice and arrange our transfer back to the airport and these guys were full of knowledge and really helpful.

We couldnt rate this hotel higher and would certainly visit again should we be fortunate enough to visit Australia again

Room Tip: either pay for or upgrade to harbour view club room ! well worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cornishsimon1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
Reviewed November 14, 2012

The senior staff member last night 14-11-12 went to extreme lengths to assist me with revising a booking made through a third party agency. She (Susea?) made a phone call on my behalf and assisted me in negotiating a satisfactory resolution so that i was extremely happy.
I feel her efforts warrant a extremely favorable mention, it was certainly appreciated and was beyond what i would expect as normal behaviour.
She has convinced me that they really care about their customers.
Thanks again.
Scott

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Managed to stay here for the weekend thanks to Hotwire. Great location and hotel. Room was really nice and they allowed me to check in early. Special thanks to entire concierge staff. Their suggestions were awesome and showed they had listened to me as they matched with what I was looking for. Always checked to make sure their suggestions would work before they sent me off. Would recommend, especially for those wanting to tour the city.

Room Tip: Great view of city from pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DWBKY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
273 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 568 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for 10 nights. It is fantastic being greeted at the door with a friendly smile. The staff at check-in is always warm and friendly and willing to help out any way they can (Brendon). Every morning I went for a jog and without fail the front desk staff always acknowledge me. The rooms are very well appointed in what I would like to call a modern style, which gives you that L.A. feel. The room size was above average; Very clean, well stocked with towels. Housekeeping crew were outstanding as were the Bellmen--quick and accommodating; The concierge (James) was fantastic! I did notice that rather than hiding behind their counter the concierge would come out and greet guest walking to and from the elevators. Very nice touch.

The old charm of this building is remembered by the vintage elevator in the cafe area used to adorn the downstairs lobby, and it works!. You cannot beat the location. You have four options to get around from this very convenient location. A very short walk to Quay circle for a Ferry, subway or bus and of course a taxi. There is a large number of restaurants and bars within walking distance. I found myself wondering the "Rocks" almost every night. The Opera house is just a few hundred yards away and the hotel is right next to the Botanical garden. The food court right across the street was great and fairly cheap. The staff is fantastic and if you need any suggestions on what you should do, just ask the concierge or the doormen, they will give you a few suggestions

Wi-Fi is with a charge and the business center is on the 1st floor with two meeting rooms; each with a computer; one printer in the middle. The business center staff was professional and friendly. They gym was nice and well equipped. I do have to admit, that this is a very good hotel, but at a price. This hotel is not for the budget minded traveler. Breakfast will run in 30-40 AUS. Dinner buffet 95 AUS. Club access is about 100 AUS daily. Sydney is not a cheap city to visit. Everything is pricey and the prices here are pretty much in line or at least what you would expect to pay at this level of hotel.

Overall, a very friendly place for any family travelers; Well suited for the business traveler. Job well done from this picky traveler.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor facing the harbor, you will love the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank F5993GMericd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
175 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

This hotel is showing its age (slightly), but it is ageing gracefully. Our room was large, with, as expected from the 24th floor, lovely views of the Botanic Gardens and the Domain. The bathroom was well-appointed, plenty of hot water, large towels, and nice touches like a small sewing kit for emergencies. Beds and pillows were wonderfully comfortable. The staff were absolutely outstanding – nothing was too much trouble, and if you stood still for more than a couple of minutes, you were sure to be asked if they could do anything for you. In that respect, they were world-class, and for that alone, I would recommend this hotel over most of the alternatives.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank myrgatroyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
khucker, General Manager at InterContinental Sydney, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear RobertA

What a pleasure it was to read your review, thank you.

So very pleased you found our service to be of a very high standard, it is always a pleasure for our colleagues to assist our guests in any way they can.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming your return to Intercontinental Sydney.

Yours sincerely
Clay Bennett-Bremner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
The Rocks
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#27 of 178 in Sydney
6,284 reviews
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Sydney

Property: InterContinental Sydney
Address: 117 Macquarie Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#10 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#11 Family Hotel in Sydney
#15 Business Hotel in Sydney
#24 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 509
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Sydney has been the luxury hotel of choice to meet, do business and unlock authentic experiences that make Australia's harbour city one of the best places in the world to live, work and visit. From its exceptional service and world-class facilities to luxury accommodation and rooftop Club InterContinental that overlooks Sydney harbour, it offers everything you need to make your time in the city count. With a total of 509 rooms and suites, 15 meetings and conferences spaces and dining options offering both seasonal fresh seafood buffet and a la carte dining, InterContinental Sydney caters for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, IHG, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your InterContinental Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sydney Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing