We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for families”
Review of Hyde Park Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyde Park Inn
Ranked #49 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 18, 2010

We stayed in a family room which had 3 single beds and 1 double. The kitchenette was perfect, had all we required. Check in was fast - they provided maps and details on bus stops etc... Every question I asked (where is closest supermarket etc) was always answered with a smile and then they marked it on my map for me. Bfast was provided in your fridge (bread, spreads, cereal, fruit, milk) - it was more than we needed, so we used the bread to make the kids sandwhiches for the day. Free laundry facilities were very handy, especially when travelling with young kids. Only thing that would have been good, would be baths in the bathrooms - a bath for the kids and for the parents tired muscles after sightseeing would have been great. Highly recommend the place - will definately be back. Rooms were good value for central Sydney. Position was great - close to darling harbour, china town, museums, circular key etc.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NLKx4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,040)
There are newer reviews for Hyde Park Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

860 - 866 of 1,040 reviews

Reviewed May 4, 2010

We are frequent clients of this hotel although the absence of a lift/elevator at the nearby Museum Underground rail station makes it difficult to lift baggage up/down all those stairs. Until recently we used to stay in the more expensive upper level apartments with full kitchen & balcony but now we specify the studio apartments with kitchenette & double glazing on the lower levels as they are much quieter. The studio apartments are spacious, have contemporary quality furniture & furnishings & meet our modest needs.However on this occasion cleanliness & presentation were deficient & the matters concerned drawn to reception staff & management attention. Unfortunately none of the issues was rectified during our stay, presumably as the week-end was involved. In my opinion this was unacceptable as some health & hygiene issues were involved.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2010

Stayed here for one night in a deluxe studio. My room faced Hyde Park and it is a stunning view where you can see all the way to the heads in the Harbour. Room was clean and comfortable with its own small kitchen, table and chairs, couch and two beds. Bathroom was a little small and outdated but very clean. Would highly recommend if you were staying in Sydney for a couple of days or weeks as it is walking distance to the harbour and on the edge of the cbd and with the kitchenette it is perfect for making your own meals and saving a little money :)

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2010

I just stayed with my two daughters for three nights at this hotel. Such a great location. Clean rooms, great breakfast (more than enough each day). Yes once again you do hear the traffic a bit but I used cheap ear plugs and heard nothing & my girls slept though each night no worries. The reception staff always answered any questions we had and were more than helpful and always pleasant. I would highly recommend this hotel and for the price well worth it. I don't know what anybody would want more from a hotel. I will stay for sure when I next return.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bubba030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2010

I loved my 2 week stay at the Hyde Park Inn, and will definitely be back when I am next in Sydney.
Great location, great room, and pretty good service overall.
I had a deluxe studio on the top floor, with great views of Hyde Park and St Mary’s Cathedral.
It’s a bit noisy even that high up if you have the balcony doors open, but closed no problem, I managed to sleep well and I am a considerably light sleeper.
Location was excellent, walked all over, 15 mins to Kings Cross, 15 mins to Circular quay, Chinatown is a 5 min walk away, and of course right near Town Hall station which will get you to any destination in the metro area.
Breakfast is simple but adequate, and is supplied daily, toast, juice, coffee and cereal. If you want anything more substantial you’re in the heart of the CBD so there is unlimited variety of cafes to eat breakfast at.
Servicing of the room was good, daily clean.
I would recommend this hotel to any one visiting Sydney, for the price, location and quality of service; it’s one of the best in Sydney. Check it out.
Thanks to Trish for taking care of my reservation and Suri for his attentiveness to my needs.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank teresavimini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2010

Have just returned home after a 4 night stay at Hyde Park Inn over the Easter long weekend. I had booked room many months back simply for location, but as stay got a bit closer I started to read other reviews about this hotel and thought about changing, I am so glad that I didnt change.

As a regular visitor to Sydney I have stayed at many many different hotels (from 3 star to supposed 5 star), but none have ever really made me want to go back and stay there again.
But this will be my preferred choice of hotel for Sydney for every trip from now on.
There is not one thing that I could fault.
I know other reviewers have had issues with certain aspects of this hotel, but I did not have a single problem with any aspect.

The room was huge (I stayed in a Deluxe studio on level 11) was spotlessly clean,had an amazing view from balcony, was quiet (didnt hear any traffic or siren noise at night like some others had complained about), the breakfast was great, more than sufficient, got a free paper every morning (saved having to walk next door to convenience store!!) and got free parking for rental car (yes its a bit tight, but not impossible, but hey... its free, whos going to complain??!!) what more could you possibly need.
Ok there is no gym or pool, but across Hyde Park on College Street, is an aquatic centre... bout a 3 min walk.

Hyde Park Inn is the best value hotel I have stayed anywhere in the world, I have spent 4 times per night in other hotels compared to what I payed here and this place is far superior.

Those of you looking for a clean, spacious, quiet room with great views, friendly reception staff, free breakfast, newspaper and carparking and laundry, stop wasting your time searching the net for other hotels in Sydney, because I promise you that if you book a room here you seriously will not have any regrets.

I also forget to mention you get free in room movies... they give so much, but ask for very little... Give it a go.....

Cant wait to go back to Sydney for no other reason but to stay here again :-)

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AusBrenden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2010

Hyde Park Hotel is a hidden gem. It is, by far, the best value for money in Sydney for families. It is a very small hotel, which we like. The location is excellent, very convenient to almost everywhere a tourist would need. The amenities were pretty basic, and the bathroom was small, but the room we stayed was spacious and very clean. The view from our little balcony was gorgeous both during daytime and at night. All the hotel staff during our stay were extremely nice and helpful.

We all love the mini breakfast in our room. On top of the basic things hotel provided, we bought extra breakfast items from nearby Coles or Woolworth supermarket. Our family traveled extensively around the world, and stayed in many different hotels/resorts/motels. My kids like the breakfast in HPI much better than those buffet/continental breakfast in the 5 star hotels/resorts. Although my husband and I didn't like the coffee there, we always made sure to have good coffee later in the day.

There are many restaurants nearby with many varieties to choose from. Chinatown is only a few minutes walk away. QVB and Gallery is also within less than 10 minutes walk. A little stroll in Hyde Park at dawn or dusk is absolutely wonderful.

We will definitely stay in Hyde Park Inn again next time when we visit Sydney.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank twitter123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Surry Hills
Best Western Plus Hotel Stellar
Central Business District
Radisson Hotel And Suites Sydney
Central Business District
Meriton Suites Kent Street, Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Surry Hills
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
#35 of 178 in Sydney
4,271 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Town Hall
Central Business District
Vibe Hotel Sydney
Vibe Hotel Sydney
#74 of 178 in Sydney
3,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyde Park Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyde Park Inn

Address: 271 Elizabeth St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Sydney
#24 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#34 Business Hotel in Sydney
#45 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $149 - $325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyde Park Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Star Hotel in Sydney Australia offering quality family accommodation with views of Hyde Park and Sydney Harbour. The Hyde Park Inn is a 93 room property in the heart of Sydney’s Central Business District across from beautiful Hyde Park. For comfort, cost, facilities, location, transport and spectacular views of the city, the Hyde Park Inn is the place to stay in Sydney.Our Rooms include all new furniture, fittings and appliances including LCD TV's, DVD's & Microwaves in all rooms as well as cook tops fitted in all Deluxe Studio & Family Rooms and Apartments.The rooms also feature all new interior design including carpet, bedding furniture and curtains to create a contemporary yet comfortable feel.Conference & Meeting CentreIntroducing the Hyde Park Forum Conference and Meeting Centre. An all new state of the art Conference and Meeting Centre in Sydney's CBD. Featuring built in AV & IT equipment including data projection, teleconferencing and videoconferencing units. Two meeting rooms and an Executive Boardroom with exhibition/trade show space available. All rooms face Hyde Park and feature abundant natural light.Hyde Park Forum, Small Meeting SolutionsLevel One, 271 Elizabeth Street Sydney ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyde Park Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyde Park Hotel Sydney
Park Inn Hyde
Park Inn Sydney
Hyde Park Inn Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing