We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly staff”
Review of Hyde Park Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyde Park Inn
Ranked #47 of 175 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Friendly staff”
Reviewed August 23, 2014 via mobile

Arrived early . Staff kept our bags while they got the room done . We walked across the road to have a coffee and then got a call from hotel to say our room was ready . I found the staff great helpful and friendly .. From reception to the young guy who delivered our breakfast .. Hotel is clean and comfy .. And yeah a little noise from street but hey we are in the city area .. Breakfast of cereal and toast was provided which was a great plus . .. I would defintaly stay again ..

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Frano66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

992 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    391
    445
    100
    37
    19
See reviews for
337
304
52
105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NY Metro
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2014

This hotel is right on Elizabeth St, opposite Hyde Park. You walk across the park, you are in Surry Hills with all the nice restaurants and cool boutiques. You walk the other way and you are in the middle of the city shopping district with the department stores and the big name chains. It's really a great location. When I booked, I was told that parking was included, but I would be parking off-site a block away - I should come to the hotel first, drop my bags, and then I would be told where to park. Fine. What they didn't mention was that it is illegal to stop in front of the hotel when the bus lane is in operation on weekdays, and they don't have any kind of driveway. Not sure how that was supposed to work. I just went into their on-site parking and they ended up being fine with that, I guess they could see it wasn't a good idea to ask me to move at that point. Don't try to bring anything larger than a regular sedan into the parking lot, it is made for mini hatchbacks, my VW Golf station wagon fit with a couple of inches to spare on each side/end. We had a family room on a high floor, with four beds in a row, it was fine, a little crowded. The breakfast was a joke - already placed in the mini-fridge before you check in are plastic-wrapped pieces of bread, airplane-food type orange juice, tiny milk cartons, and one tiny cereal box for each guest, with a few condiments. Luckily there is a 7-11 downstairs, and also a very nice breakfast cafe (closed on Sunday mornings.) We used the fridge and the microwave. The wifi was easy to use and free but limited to 1gb per 24 hours, and when we used it up (having a 12 and a 13 year old with us) the message that showed up said that we had used up 1gb and that they did not consider this "fair use" and so we were cut off. Jeez. Calm down.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lizzieNYarea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights during Easter. Good value with reasonable sized and well equipped room. Centrally located, walking distance to shops and tourist attractions. The room is not really soundproof, we can hear noises both from Elizabeth St and the corridor. Staff are friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jecci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2014

5 of us stayed in a family room with kitchen area.
No complaints at all! Very spacious and clean and central to everything Sydney has to offer. We booked car parking in advance and had no problem leaving and returnng the car during our 3 night stay. Overlooked Hyde Park and hardly any noise at all.
Would definately stay again

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2014

Excellent hotel in a superb location on bus route and across the road from Museum Station.Views of the War Memorial in Hyde Park from our room and further to the Cross. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Free breakfast of cereal, fruit and juice is great and free WiFi is a bonus. Parking can be a little awkward if you are unable to park on-site but it really is only a small issue. Definitely the place to stay for convenience, comfort and value.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Grandalf242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
144 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2014

Clean room. has most mod cons. In room self serve brekky. Location is perfect - right opposite Museum train station so very handy coming from the airport. I paid 150 per night which I thought was good given its location right opposite hyde park.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2014

We always stay at the Hyde Park Inn, very well located, helpful staff, good value. Wonderful views of Hyde Park, love the balcony, you can even see the Harbour :) They are happy to store your luggage for the day, and even gave us a late check out because we had an evening flight.

Room Tip: Ask for a park view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cath W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Radisson Hotel And Suites Sydney
Central Business District
Park8 Hotel Sydney
Park8 Hotel Sydney
#55 of 175 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
Central Business District
Metro Hotel on Pitt
Metro Hotel on Pitt
#53 of 175 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Surry Hills
Best Western Plus Hotel Stellar
Central Business District
Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel
Central Business District
Primus Hotel Sydney
Primus Hotel Sydney
#10 of 175 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyde Park Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyde Park Inn

Property: Hyde Park Inn
Address: 271 Elizabeth St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Sydney
#24 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#33 Business Hotel in Sydney
#44 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyde Park Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Star Hotel in Sydney Australia offering quality family accommodation with views of Hyde Park and Sydney Harbour. The Hyde Park Inn is a 93 room property in the heart of Sydney’s Central Business District across from beautiful Hyde Park. For comfort, cost, facilities, location, transport and spectacular views of the city, the Hyde Park Inn is the place to stay in Sydney.Our Rooms include all new furniture, fittings and appliances including LCD TV's, DVD's & Microwaves in all rooms as well as cook tops fitted in all Deluxe Studio & Family Rooms and Apartments.The rooms also feature all new interior design including carpet, bedding furniture and curtains to create a contemporary yet comfortable feel.Conference & Meeting CentreIntroducing the Hyde Park Forum Conference and Meeting Centre. An all new state of the art Conference and Meeting Centre in Sydney's CBD. Featuring built in AV & IT equipment including data projection, teleconferencing and videoconferencing units. Two meeting rooms and an Executive Boardroom with exhibition/trade show space available. All rooms face Hyde Park and feature abundant natural light.Hyde Park Forum, Small Meeting SolutionsLevel One, 271 Elizabeth Street Sydney ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyde Park Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyde Park Hotel Sydney
Park Inn Hyde
Park Inn Sydney
Hyde Park Inn Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing