We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hyde Park Inn
Nearby Hotels
$197
$175
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$245
$178
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hyatt Regency Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
$240
$137
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hilton Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
$394
$137
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
$216
$131
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$164
$157
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$203
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
$193
$130
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Grace Hotel Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
$137
$122
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$252
$180
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,107)
Filter reviews
1,107 results
Traveler rating
424
504
115
43
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
424
504
115
43
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmuseum stationhyde parkcontinental breakfastdeluxe studiowar memorialbread for toastelizabeth streetgreat locationfamily roomsmall kitchenettefree laundrydarling harbourdouble glazingdining tableeach morningshort walkbusy road
Filter
Updating list...
608 - 613 of 1,107 reviews
Reviewed January 6, 2014

doesn't have a great deal in the range of services and amenities. the breakfast (continental) is left in the fridge and consists of orange juice, bread (for toast), cereal and milk.
the room is a decent size with a double and single bed and a decent amount of room it reminds me of an apart hotel rather than a traditional hotel and if this is what you want then the location is excellent.
we stayed in a budget room a few days later for one night and it was very compact and ideal of a very short stay if you don't want to unpack or are travelling light, overall 3.5 stars and decent value.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank david h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Nice hotel. Great location you can get on the metro right across the street at the park. They have a nice free laundry room good bonus. Wifi is limited to 999mb per day which was plenty if you don't stream movies. Downside: small lobby and small room. We stayed over Christmas and they were busy of course, yet the staff is very friendly, overall good price for great location in Sydney...

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank insearchofsolitude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

This hotel is conveniently located in the heart of Sydney, close to the botanical gardens and within walking distance of major attractions such as the Sydney Harbour Bridge and the Opera House. Our room was spacious and had a nice view on Hyde Park.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vincent_82Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We stayed in one of the Hyde Park Inn's budget rooms when in Sydney for a short holiday in October 2013. The room rate was $165 per night. We were happy with the room but some might find too compact and claustrophobic due to lack of proper windows-only glass bricks on one wall. The bathroom was tiny but clean and the shower had excellent pressure and temperature control. There's a bit of a squeeze between basin and toilet. The towels were budget-sized so bring your own if you are fussy. There were far too many cushions on the bed and two armchairs which cluttered up the already minimal space in the room. There was no shelf space in the wardrobe for clothes-only hanging space. Continental breakfast was provided as part of room rate. There is a $50 pre-authorisation fee required at the time of check-in.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CanTravel6611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

I would like to provide a feedback to the Management on our recent stay there. I was travelling with my family a couple weeks ago and spent a few days in Sydney. When we checked in at Hyde Park Inn between 1.30 and 2.00 pm on Friday 13 December, the service we received from a large sized Indian lady and a stout man at the front desk was unacceptable.

We had booked 3 rooms online and had 2 cars. Upon checking in, we were only given 1 car park at the hotel, while the other car park was 2 blocks away. We were previously not aware of this from our online booking confirmation, hence we were not too thrilled with the idea of one of us having to park the car 2 blocks away (with only one entry and exit on the hotel).

When we complained about this, the 2 said employees were very very rude to us. The man even sounded threatening and actually said “DO YOU WANT ME TO CANCEL YOUR BOOKINGS?” As a hotel and as people working in the service industry, these are words that should never be uttered, whether you are in Sydney or Singapore or London or Beijing. I don’t care if you are a 2-star or 5-star hotel, but nobody at the front desk should ever say these words to a guest!!! If they had explained the situation in a polite manner, we would have accepted it. We are not unreasonable people. However, they chose to act in a rude and threatening manner. Therefore, it was a very bad first impression of the hotel, and as they say “First impressions are the most important”.
Because of this incident, we will never come back to this hotel, nor will we recommend to anybody.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jeremykhoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews