We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location but....” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyde Park Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hyde Park Inn
Ranked #46 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
ashby de la zouch
Level Contributor
207 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Good location but....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

doesn't have a great deal in the range of services and amenities. the breakfast (continental) is left in the fridge and consists of orange juice, bread (for toast), cereal and milk.
the room is a decent size with a double and single bed and a decent amount of room it reminds me of an apart hotel rather than a traditional hotel and if this is what you want then the location is excellent.
we stayed in a budget room a few days later for one night and it was very compact and ideal of a very short stay if you don't want to unpack or are travelling light, overall 3.5 stars and decent value.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank david h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

971 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    382
    434
    99
    37
    19
See reviews for
332
294
52
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ohio City, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel. Great location you can get on the metro right across the street at the park. They have a nice free laundry room good bonus. Wifi is limited to 999mb per day which was plenty if you don't stream movies. Downside: small lobby and small room. We stayed over Christmas and they were busy of course, yet the staff is very friendly, overall good price for great location in Sydney...

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank insearchofsolitude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

This hotel is conveniently located in the heart of Sydney, close to the botanical gardens and within walking distance of major attractions such as the Sydney Harbour Bridge and the Opera House. Our room was spacious and had a nice view on Hyde Park.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vincent_82Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

We stayed in one of the Hyde Park Inn's budget rooms when in Sydney for a short holiday in October 2013. The room rate was $165 per night. We were happy with the room but some might find too compact and claustrophobic due to lack of proper windows-only glass bricks on one wall. The bathroom was tiny but clean and the shower had excellent pressure and temperature control. There's a bit of a squeeze between basin and toilet. The towels were budget-sized so bring your own if you are fussy. There were far too many cushions on the bed and two armchairs which cluttered up the already minimal space in the room. There was no shelf space in the wardrobe for clothes-only hanging space. Continental breakfast was provided as part of room rate. There is a $50 pre-authorisation fee required at the time of check-in.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CanTravel6611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

I would like to provide a feedback to the Management on our recent stay there. I was travelling with my family a couple weeks ago and spent a few days in Sydney. When we checked in at Hyde Park Inn between 1.30 and 2.00 pm on Friday 13 December, the service we received from a large sized Indian lady and a stout man at the front desk was unacceptable.

We had booked 3 rooms online and had 2 cars. Upon checking in, we were only given 1 car park at the hotel, while the other car park was 2 blocks away. We were previously not aware of this from our online booking confirmation, hence we were not too thrilled with the idea of one of us having to park the car 2 blocks away (with only one entry and exit on the hotel).

When we complained about this, the 2 said employees were very very rude to us. The man even sounded threatening and actually said “DO YOU WANT ME TO CANCEL YOUR BOOKINGS?” As a hotel and as people working in the service industry, these are words that should never be uttered, whether you are in Sydney or Singapore or London or Beijing. I don’t care if you are a 2-star or 5-star hotel, but nobody at the front desk should ever say these words to a guest!!! If they had explained the situation in a polite manner, we would have accepted it. We are not unreasonable people. However, they chose to act in a rude and threatening manner. Therefore, it was a very bad first impression of the hotel, and as they say “First impressions are the most important”.
Because of this incident, we will never come back to this hotel, nor will we recommend to anybody.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jeremykhoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

For value of money and location, Hyde Park Inn on Elizabeth Street, Sydney is popular with not only Aussies visiting Sydney but also overseas visitors.It is not part of a hotel chain and was reburbished in 2012.This is my regular haunt when I visit Sydney but often have to book at least 6 weeks ahead due to its popularity. All rooms overlook Hyde Park, directly East (except for a handful of much cheaper rooms) so obviously the higher the level, the better the view. All rooms are similar in size except for larger family rooms. Studios do not have a balcony and sliding door and so smaller windows and are on lower levels. Consequently are a little cheaper. Sometimes I like just the green tree leaf views at low levels--is calming in mid-city. Hairdryer and shower caps are provided but only herbal handwash and shampoo in the installed refillable large bottle.Tariff includes free parking if required, free daily newspaper, free wi-fi and complimentary continental breakfast of packet of cereal, full fat milk, 2 pieces of bread;white & brown, butter and sachets of jams/honey or vegemite cartons of tinned fruit and orange juice plus teabags and instant coffee per person. Kitchenette has microwave, toaster and jug with a 24 hour convenience store 2 min. walk away and supermarket and shops in World Square centre-less than 10 minute walk. Also cafes and restaurants nearby. Close to the Greek, Korean and Asian section of the city. Opposite is Museum train station which is on the inner circle line and also directly connects to Central Station and the airport. Buses also run in either direction; Circular Quay ( for Opera House and ferries) or into Oxford Street for Paddington and Bondi. Taxis can be easily hailed from outside--that's what I do. Is an easy 10 minute walk to Town Hall Station and the lovely Queen Victoria Building shopping precinct and to Martin Place. Sometimes Reception can be busy especially at check-out time and also the two lifts. Able to store luggage for a few hours. Very quick service if maintenance is required e.g. replace light bulbs.

Room Tip: Ask for higher levels for views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jeeves2576
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lara, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

We recently spent five nights at this hotel and except for the cleaning we would have definitely given it five stars. The location is brilliant and so close to public transport and the shops and great eateries close by. Our room was on a very high floor and we had a small balcony and had great views across Hyde Park and to the harbour and seeing St Mary's Cathedral with its Christmas laser light show was fantastic. The front desk staff were extremely helpful and offered any assistance they could. The room was a decent size with a small kitchenette, a comfortable bed and walk in shower which was great. The TV had some foxtel channels and had good reception. The airconditioning was extremely effective.We were told that no cleaning would be done on Christmas Day which was fine as people should be able to spend time with their families and there was a message that if we would like additional towels we could contact reception. As only two towels were left for us to cover two days I phoned and asked for extra towels. A lady who I believe was a cleaning supervisor came to our room and knocked but didn't wait for us to open the door and proceeded to unlock the door. I went to the door and she questioned me as to why we wanted towels and said we had enough. I told her that the towels they provide are very small and as there were two adults we needed the towels, she was not happy about this at all. We ate a few things in our room at our small but nice table and chairs and unfortunately there were some food crumbs which could not be helped and if we had a small broom and spade I would have swept them up. On Boxing Day we thought the floor would be vacuumed but it was not, the lovely crumbs were there to greet us on our return. Cannot believe that the floor was never vacuumed during our stay. The room was definitely cleaned with a 'lick and a promise'. We even tied up the rubbish bags so that on Boxing Day this would help the cleaners and they didn't even bother to put the rubbish bin lid back on. Would definitely stay again however hope the cleaning improves as this really did bring the standard down. I don't think our sheets were changed at any time during our stay. Maybe we sound like 'whingers' but we have stayed in many hotels and expect our rooms to be kept at a high standard. As it is partly self contained then a small broom and spade could be left in the room and we could have at least cleaned the tiled area but not even the carpet was cleaned.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Catbar57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Park8 Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels
Surry Hills
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Stellar
Central Business District
Radisson Hotel And Suites Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Metro Hotel on Pitt
Metro Hotel on Pitt
#50 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,139 reviews
Central Business District
Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyde Park Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyde Park Inn

Property: Hyde Park Inn
Address: 271 Elizabeth St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Sydney
#24 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#33 Business Hotel in Sydney
#44 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyde Park Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Star Hotel in Sydney Australia offering quality family accommodation with views of Hyde Park and Sydney Harbour. The Hyde Park Inn is a 93 room property in the heart of Sydney’s Central Business District across from beautiful Hyde Park. For comfort, cost, facilities, location, transport and spectacular views of the city, the Hyde Park Inn is the place to stay in Sydney.Our Rooms include all new furniture, fittings and appliances including LCD TV's, DVD's & Microwaves in all rooms as well as cook tops fitted in all Deluxe Studio & Family Rooms and Apartments.The rooms also feature all new interior design including carpet, bedding furniture and curtains to create a contemporary yet comfortable feel.Conference & Meeting CentreIntroducing the Hyde Park Forum Conference and Meeting Centre. An all new state of the art Conference and Meeting Centre in Sydney's CBD. Featuring built in AV & IT equipment including data projection, teleconferencing and videoconferencing units. Two meeting rooms and an Executive Boardroom with exhibition/trade show space available. All rooms face Hyde Park and feature abundant natural light.Hyde Park Forum, Small Meeting SolutionsLevel One, 271 Elizabeth Street Sydney ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hyde Park Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyde Park Hotel Sydney
Park Inn Hyde
Park Inn Sydney
Hyde Park Inn Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing