We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean affordable location”
Review of Hyde Park Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyde Park Inn
Ranked #48 of 177 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
WA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“clean affordable location”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Stayed over from September 9th to 11th, 2013. Booked a standard room for 3 people which was clean, tidy and modern looking. Quite spacious in comparison to some hotels I have stayed in, equipt with microwave, kettle, pop up toaster and crockery and cutlery.

Bathroom like the rest of the room is modern looking supplying soap dispenser and shower cap. But take note you need your own tooth brush/paste, shaver/cream which is not a hassle as there is a woolies about 10 minutes away and quicker if your a fast walker which I think is a 24 hour store with a good supply.

Breakfast is supplied which is a light continental breakfast consisting of two slices of bread, one multigrain and one white. A one serve box of cereal, fruit in a snack pack, orange juice like the ones you get on the plane and some milk and of course butter and jam etc. Just to make it more exciting i got stuff from woolies like smoked salmon, avacado etc to make a decent but affordable breakfast yet simple as it is a holiday. There are breakfast joints available not far away if you do not want to lift a finger.

No gym is available but why would you need one on a holiday and if you want a pool why not go to Bondi beach or something.

Parking is available but you need to book it in advance. We got the offsite parking two blocks away but I think its fine as it is not a long walk. Just keep in mind if you get the offsite parking you cannot go and return as often as you like. So basically you can park the car and exit once a day so park wisely, use public transport for short trips.

You are virtually in the city and walking distance to circular quay, its good as you get to explore. China town is relatively close as with market city for your cheap shopping if your not shopping at the top end of town.

The verdict, yes there are inconveniences such as parking, gym facilities and light breakfast supplied in your room supply, However there are aspects that make it shine such as kitchen facilities, free wifi, clean and tidy room and being close to the grocery store and tourist sites.

Would I stay again? Definately! I would recommend this place to family and friends based on the above and the staff surprised me as we left our luggage when we checked out. When we came back we asked we could use the bathroom which they refused.but once we said we would like to get our bags they said we can use the level 1 toilets. The service did not stop once we checked out., its understandable they do not want people walking off the streets wanting to use the bathroom

Room Tip: No advice to offer as our room was good for us
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TouristWa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,009 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    397
    452
    104
    37
    19
See reviews for
347
310
52
105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We arrived early and were going to just drop off our luggage but the reception staff were lovely and changed our rooms so we could check in at 10.30am, at no extra cost, which was great.
The deluxe suite was very modern and open plan so we could all chill in the same area.

The balcony over Hyde Park was lovely, with nice views but very small (couldn’t sit out on the balcony, it was just a wander out and look out at the view).

The kitchen area had everything that we needed and breakfast supplies in the fridge were ok for continental style breakfast but I didn’t like the white processed bread wrapped and wrapped in clingfilm. The fruit and juice was delicious. Obviously, you can pop to the 7/11 that is only two doors away and stock up with your own supplies.

The bathroom was clean with a bath and shower, but I do agree with another reviewer – please ensure that bath towels are of an adequate size to wrap around an adult nicely!! Not the size of a face flannel!!

The Museum train station is across the road and the bus stop is outside the hotel where you can catch a bus all over the city; we caught the train to Bondi and the bus back. So an excellent location in the centre of the city; we walked down to the harbour too in about 30mins.

My teenage daughter was over the moon to have free wi-fi in the room.

A newspaper was left on the mat in the morning too.

Service from every member of staff was great and they were all very friendly. The beds were very comfortable and the room was spotless in a fantastic central location.

Key cards are issued and you can only access your own floor which is a great security plus.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor and you don't get the road traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NiceNise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Recently booked a room that sleeps 5 for my daughter who just turned 18yrs & her 4 older cousins. We got to Sydney at about 10:30am & the staff were very lovely & allowed us to check in early at no additional cost. The rooms were neat & clean & the location was excellent. I had booked 2 nights & my daughter & I stayed the second night. Breakfast is simple but fine & the room size was decent. Having off street parking was fantastic too. Its great value & centrally located. I would definitely stay there again

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manna_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballycastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We stayed in the studio apartment and we thought it was excellent. Very clean, fresh and with modern appliances. Small kitchenette good for breakfast and light meals. Great location just across from lovely Hyde Park, and only a few minutes stroll into the main shopping areas and down to the harbour. We have stayed here twice, so it must be good!

Room Tip: The high floors get a good view across Sydney.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shaun K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bundaberg, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We had a lovely room with balcony which had beautiful views of Hyde Park. So close to shopping & walking distance to Darling Harbour. Very comfortable, clean & new. Staff were very polite & helpful. Newspapers delivered to the door of our room.

Room Tip: Get a balcony room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EMM477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I travelled with my 18 year old daughter and we spent one night in the two bedroom apartment which was spacious & comfortable. I really enjoyed having a balcony over Hyde Park and the city to enjoy the views, however a small seating area would have been nice. The bathroom was clean and modern with a bath & separate shower. The kitchen met all our needs and it was convenient to have basic breakfast supplies provided. The location is excellent; right in the city, across the road from the Museum train station. The beds are extremely comfortable and I didn't experience any traffic noise on the 14th floor. The icing on the cake was the free parking and wi-fi. Overall a great hotel for the price in Sydney.

Room Tip: High floors have the good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Convenient access to buses and trains and an easy walk to anywhere in the CBD. newspapers, breakfast, and free wi -fi an added bonus. Rooms were comfortable and well appointed. We had views over Hyde Park which was very nice. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ly222013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Surry Hills
Best Western Plus Hotel Stellar
Central Business District
Radisson Hotel And Suites Sydney
Central Business District
Park8 Hotel Sydney
Park8 Hotel Sydney
#56 of 177 in Sydney
774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Metro Hotel on Pitt
Metro Hotel on Pitt
#54 of 177 in Sydney
1,315 reviews
Central Business District
Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel
Central Business District
Primus Hotel Sydney
Primus Hotel Sydney
#10 of 177 in Sydney
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyde Park Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyde Park Inn

Property: Hyde Park Inn
Address: 271 Elizabeth St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Sydney
#24 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#33 Business Hotel in Sydney
#45 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyde Park Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Star Hotel in Sydney Australia offering quality family accommodation with views of Hyde Park and Sydney Harbour. The Hyde Park Inn is a 93 room property in the heart of Sydney’s Central Business District across from beautiful Hyde Park. For comfort, cost, facilities, location, transport and spectacular views of the city, the Hyde Park Inn is the place to stay in Sydney.Our Rooms include all new furniture, fittings and appliances including LCD TV's, DVD's & Microwaves in all rooms as well as cook tops fitted in all Deluxe Studio & Family Rooms and Apartments.The rooms also feature all new interior design including carpet, bedding furniture and curtains to create a contemporary yet comfortable feel.Conference & Meeting CentreIntroducing the Hyde Park Forum Conference and Meeting Centre. An all new state of the art Conference and Meeting Centre in Sydney's CBD. Featuring built in AV & IT equipment including data projection, teleconferencing and videoconferencing units. Two meeting rooms and an Executive Boardroom with exhibition/trade show space available. All rooms face Hyde Park and feature abundant natural light.Hyde Park Forum, Small Meeting SolutionsLevel One, 271 Elizabeth Street Sydney ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyde Park Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyde Park Hotel Sydney
Park Inn Hyde
Park Inn Sydney
Hyde Park Inn Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing