We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent City Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyde Park Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hyde Park Inn
Ranked #46 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
98 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Decent City Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2008

We, a family of 2 adults and 2 children, stayed 4 nights in a family apartment. The room is pretty decent: ample space, 1 double bed and 2 single beds, as wellas a small but adequate kitchen.

The hotel is good basis to explore the city, the hotel is quite central and opposite Museum railway station. Staff is ok, not overly friendly but still service-minded. No complaints. In-room breakfast is basic: a few slices of bread, orange juice, milk and some jam/honey. Would recommend this place for visitors wanting to explore Sydney.

  • Liked — ample space in the room for a family of four, location
  • Disliked — nothing specific
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank morevish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

971 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    382
    434
    99
    37
    19
See reviews for
332
294
52
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Yorkshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2008

Central, very well equipped affordable deluxe studio with kitchen. Staff, facilities, welcome all exemplary. Continental breakfast provided in the room. All superb in a city centre hotel.

  • Liked — Size of rooms, kitchen facilities
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marabooka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2008

My two teenage children and I shifted to the Hyde Park Inn after spending a week in unsatisfactory accommodation elsewhere. From the moment we entered the lobby the experience was a complete contrast to our previous one.

The staff were friendly, helpful and keen to oblige. They insisted on helping us carry our bags to the room, and popped in a few minutes after we checked in to ensure everything was okay. The room, with kitchenette, was very well appointed, tastefully decorated, comfortable, very clean and beds were quality. The bathroom was lovely, and exceptionally clean with all the necessities provvided. We had an upper level room with balcony, and loved being able to pop out to absorb the city atmosphere. After the first day the city noise became quite soothing, almost 'background' noise.

Having a continental breakfast provided was a bonus, with cereal, toast, fruit and juice, a more than adequate start to each day. As we stayed a week we cooked some basic meals in the room and found the utensils provided to be adequate. There is a Coles and number of seven elevens just moments away to provide any supermarket needs.

The flatscreen tv and free movie channel was a bonus for the end of day when needing to unwind.

Having family I utilized the free on site washing machines and dryers, and despite being peak tourist time I never had to wait to access them. I was further impressed by the level of security and 24 hour reception, which many places I've stayed has lacked. Traveling with teenagers, and being a woman, this gave me an added sense of security.

The location was perfect for staying in Sydney. An abundance of restaurants are within a small radius of the hotel. All the major city attractions were a short walk away, and for those who are unable or not wishing to walk, there is a fantastic public service network at the doorstep. At no time did I feel unsafe in the vicinity of the hotel at night.

I highly recommend the Hyde park Inn and will be using it again.

  • Liked — quality room, perfect location, lovely staff
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank PerthMishelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2008

We stayed in Room 105 for four nights and were pleasantly surprised by how nice it was. The rooms had been recently refurbished earlier in the year (2007) and were very modern and tastefully decorated. We had booked about ten months prior to our visit and were cheeky enough to ask for the room that had the same view as that on the internet which overlooked the ANZAC memorial and I'm quite sure we got the exact same one so the view was fabulous. The room was well appointed with a small kitchen area if you fancied cooking something easy but who would want to cook given the hotel's close proximity to so many restaurants, bars and other eateries. The room cost came with a continental breakfast each day and the supplies were placed in your room when it was serviced each morning. You could fill up on toast and cereal and there was also juice and packaged fruit (peaches, etc) which meant you could have a decent meal before starting your day's adventures. The hotel is a stone's throw from the museum train station (right across the road) and a short walk to the nearest monorail station as well (just around the corner). Being there so close to Christmas we also got a great view of the fireworks from the Carols in the Domain concert right from our own balcony.

There were fresh towels each day (if you wanted them) and also a complimentary newspaper. For the kids (and parents) there is a television with a dvd player which is a good diversion for the little ones after being out and about all day.

The only drawback I would say and is this is being really picky is that there is a fire station in the next street and each time they were called out on an emergency you could hear the sirens. You can also hear slight road noises from the street (even on the 10th floor) but you should expect to hear something if you're staying in the middle of a big city! We only really noticed the road noises the first night as each night afterwards we were so tired from our day's activities that we fell into deep slumber on the very comfy but firm beds in the room. There is also a slight gap between the top of the roller blinds and the ceiling in the kitchen area which, because of the east facing orientation, lets in quite a bit of morning light. This was easily remedied by my resourceful hubby who stuffed the complimentary morning newspaper in there each night and voila! no more light! This could, of course, be permanently remedied if the hotel chose to mount a fixed pelmet?

We had an early flight out the day we were leaving the CBD and given that it was Christmas Eve were a bit concerned about getting a taxi to the airport. We spoke to the staff on the front counter who were very efficient in booking us with one of their regular drivers who turned up on time and was a very pleasant taxi drive to boot (the best one we used on this trip).

All in all we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Hyde Park Inn and would recommend it as a great place to stay in the city because of its comfy rooms and close proximity to everything thats fun in Sydney. We would definitely stay there again!

  • Liked — Tasteful decor, comfy beds, great view from balcony and close proximity to all things fun in Sydney!
  • Disliked — Nothing really!
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank mumbro1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2008

Our family of five stayed in a Family Deluxe room on the 13th floor for 6 nights in January. The room was spacious enough for the five of us albeit one large room. It was clean with modern furnishings. The room was serviced daily with fresh towels and beds made. The room was air conditioned and had a small balcony. The street noise can be a bit loud, so we opted for air conditioning on and balcony door closed. However, a great view looking over Hyde Park was very nice.
A light continental breakfast ( and morning paper) was supplied daily to our room and was more than enough to start the day. As the room was equipted with cooking facilities we could have made a hot breakfast.
The staff were very helpful and always had a smile when coming and going from the hotel. As far as location goes, it was perfect.. A 5 minutt walk to Pitt St. 15 min walk to Circular Key, 1 min to bus and train stations. Internet cafe just around the corner. An added bonus was that we were able to park the car in their under building car park at no extra cost. Would highly recommend this hotel for families and will definately be going back.

  • Liked — location, cleanliness
  • Disliked — street noise
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tanray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2007

Fantastic, clean, convenient hotel that provides extras that all other city hotels charge big dollars for. We had a family room (1 queen and 2 singles) and it included a kitechenette, flat screen TV, air con, big bathroom and very comfy beds. Parking was already booked out so we were given a voucher to park at the marriott across the road and it was free - very rare in Sydney city. Location is fantastic. We were in Sydney to see a show at the Opera House and as this hotel is directly across the road from the Museum train station, we caught the train to Circular Quay. Took max 5 minutes and cost $3.60. Price included a light continental breakfast that consisted of bread, cereals, juices and tinned fruits. The only thing I could fault this hotel on would be the noise. Elizabeth St is very busy, especially in the mornings with all the buses so best to keep your balcony door closed and take ear plugs if you are particularly sensitive to noise at night.

  • Liked — Convenience, price and excellent room facilities at no extra cost
  • Disliked — Noise from street
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sportygalaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2007

Positives:

The rooms are very large and clean. They come with kitchenettes which include a stove, microwave and a fridge. In the fridge there are complimentary juices, package fruits and bread for breakfast. There are also forks, spoons, plates, frying pans and a water steamer for tea. The view is very nice. The bathroom is also clean and comes with all the proper things. You are also alloted a parking space if you have a car (I do not recommend driving in Sydney). The beds are very comfortable. The hotel is very "homey". It is a comfortable place to stay in. The desk clerks do not really bother you but say hello and smile when you walk in. Also included is a flat screen T.V.. There are a lot of channels, but what I liked the most is the "Box Office" channel that offered new movies that are on DVD for free. I was sick for a day and a half during this trip, so the movies really made me feel at home. The hotel is very centrally located to the subway (on same block or across the street) that connects you to all the main attractions. On the same block there is also a a bus stop that connects you with all the main buses that can take you all over the city. There is a also a Seven-Eleven store two doors towards Liverpool street where you can buy inexpensive dinners (noodles, beef pies) and bus/subway tickets (I suggest buying the "Red Ticket", you can use this ticket for a week on all the subways and buses that are in the Sydney Area but won't work on the Ferries). It is also two blocks from the Monorail, two blocks from the Spanish Corrider, a block from China Town and across from Hyde Park. Also included is air condition.

Negatives:

The hotel is on a major street (Elizabeth Street) which can get quite noisy during the day. If you close your door to the balcony, your room becomes very quiet.

The hotel offers Internet Via Ethernet wire (no wireless) for 22 Aus dollars a day. I bought it for two days because I was sick but around the corner on Liverpool Street there is a internet shop that offers internet for 1 hour for 3 Aus. Dollars.

Other then that, I had a great stay. Very Central Location. Very comfortable and "Homey". Sidney is a very "Metro" City and quite busy. I suggest heading North for day trips to Manly or going taking bus rides and getting lost in the outer Sydney. I hope you have a great time!

Oh, if you are heading to this hotel from the Airport, just take the green line towards the city and get off on Museum Station and your at the hotel.

  • Liked — The Location.
  • Disliked — Internet Access, very expensive and no wireless.
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank eonnee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Park8 Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels
Surry Hills
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Stellar
Central Business District
Radisson Hotel And Suites Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Metro Hotel on Pitt
Metro Hotel on Pitt
#50 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
Central Business District
Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyde Park Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyde Park Inn

Property: Hyde Park Inn
Address: 271 Elizabeth St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Sydney
#24 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#33 Business Hotel in Sydney
#44 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyde Park Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Star Hotel in Sydney Australia offering quality family accommodation with views of Hyde Park and Sydney Harbour. The Hyde Park Inn is a 93 room property in the heart of Sydney’s Central Business District across from beautiful Hyde Park. For comfort, cost, facilities, location, transport and spectacular views of the city, the Hyde Park Inn is the place to stay in Sydney.Our Rooms include all new furniture, fittings and appliances including LCD TV's, DVD's & Microwaves in all rooms as well as cook tops fitted in all Deluxe Studio & Family Rooms and Apartments.The rooms also feature all new interior design including carpet, bedding furniture and curtains to create a contemporary yet comfortable feel.Conference & Meeting CentreIntroducing the Hyde Park Forum Conference and Meeting Centre. An all new state of the art Conference and Meeting Centre in Sydney's CBD. Featuring built in AV & IT equipment including data projection, teleconferencing and videoconferencing units. Two meeting rooms and an Executive Boardroom with exhibition/trade show space available. All rooms face Hyde Park and feature abundant natural light.Hyde Park Forum, Small Meeting SolutionsLevel One, 271 Elizabeth Street Sydney ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hyde Park Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyde Park Hotel Sydney
Park Inn Hyde
Park Inn Sydney
Hyde Park Inn Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing