We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Filthy hotel, unhelpful staff, cleaners left room door open and unlocked while we were out.”
Review of Hyde Park Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hyde Park Inn
Ranked #56 of 181 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 21, 2012

Hotel was in a great location but was dirty and tired looking. I agree with other comments that it is definitely more like a backpackers than a hotel. Also not worth the self assessed 4 stars or the money they charge. Cleaning of the room was ber half hearted and cleaners left our door unlocked and open while we were out. Also if you do choose to use this hotel make sure that you get the quote in writing as they charged us almost $50 a night more than was quoted on the phone. When I complained and said I would write a poor review on Trip Advisor the reception staff were supremely indifferent. I would not stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Voyagetripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,063)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

761 - 767 of 1,063 reviews

Reviewed March 20, 2012

Comfy beds. Pillows a bit hard. Breakfast included - continental in the fridge of the room - but adequate and convenient. Didn't have towels or breakfast for the 3rd person but brought them up straight away when we phoned them. From first phone call to book and at check in staff helpful and friendly. Thanks for a pleasant overnight stay

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SamSmithSurfs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2012

Positives: We chose the Hyde Park Inn because of its excellent location -- across from Hyde Park, and within walking distance of the main sights. Hotels in Sydney are quite expensive, so price was a consideration as well. (We paid $209 for each of 3 nights.) Parking is available (underground) and free. There is also a free laundry available to guests.
The young lady at the front desk was very courteous and helpful. The room is quite large and has a nice view of the park. It has a kitchenette and a very light breakfast (cereal, bread) is left in the fridge every day.

Negatives: The noise was terrible. We booked one of the deluxe studio rooms which were supposed to be quieter but we must have been on the lowest deluxe floor. Even with the windows closed we could hear constant traffic and conversation on the street below. It felt like we were on the first floor with the window open! This went on all night.
We discovered in the middle of the last night that the air conditioner didn't work. We hadn't needed it earlier.
The room itself was fairly clean but the bedspread was stained. The kitchen did not receive a thorough cleaning each day. (We washed our own dishes and put things away.)

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marigoldlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2012

This hotel was in a fantastic location and the views were awesome which is what you expect when you pay so much money. But I wouldn't stay here again. The hotel reception staff were not friendly. The walls were thin and even though the management left a note alerting travelers that renovations were under way within the hotel they said the noise would begin at 9am and finish by 6pm each evening. This was false. The banging and drilling started at 6am and finished late at night.
I didn't have a good nights sleep for 4 nights.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank melloCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2012

This hotel is in a good location but in this case position isn't everything ! We checked into our room and it smelled so bad we asked to be moved , to be told the hotel was full. The girl at reception then came up to check and didn't even come in saying she could smell it in the corridor ! She said when we go out, she would put an "ozone" machine in the room to help clear the air. When we came back it was slightly better. The next night the smell was back - maybe a guest died in our room ! The booking included breakfast which when we asked where it was served, they said it was the slices of bread, juice , cereal and canned fruit in our fridge !! After coming back to our "made-up" room our pyjamas were thrown on our bed side tables - wow ! Never seen that before !! Never be back

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ivan_G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2012

As we all know Sydney accommodation is not cheap. This hotel was really close to all the attractions we needed to see at a really good price. No in house dining was not a problem as we were close to a great assortment of food restaurants. Close to Circular Quay, bus routes only 30 mins from the Airport out of peak times. Strongly recommend this Hotel if you don't want to pay to much for your accommodation.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bartforde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

I stayed 4 nights and chose the hotel for 2 reasons.
The location is Elizabeth St ,across the road from Hyde park and Museum station,only 15 mins by train from the airport.It is about 10-15 mins walk to Circular Quay or one train station.It is not far to walk to Central station (one station) or Chinatown.
The free city loop bus 555 goes past and is great but has limited hours.
I also wanted a studio rather than a hotel room.There was one single bed and one double bed,a sofa and chair,small dining table and a kitchen bench with microwave.It was a very comfortable room but the only negative was very uncomfortable (hard and irregular) beds which need replacing.If the beds were comfortable I would have given 5 stars.Parts of the hotel are being refurbished so maybe they will get new beds.They provide basic provisionsfor a light breakfast that can be supllemented from the large Woolworths supermarket nearby.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Australiafrancophile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Inner West
Waldorf Sydney Central Serviced Apartments
Surry Hills
Best Western Plus Hotel Stellar
Surry Hills
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
#39 of 181 in Sydney
4,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Vibe Hotel Sydney
Vibe Hotel Sydney
#77 of 181 in Sydney
3,301 reviews
Central Business District
Radisson Hotel And Suites Sydney
Central Business District
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyde Park Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyde Park Inn

Address: 271 Elizabeth St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Sydney
#24 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#34 Business Hotel in Sydney
#51 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $139 - $366 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyde Park Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Star Hotel in Sydney Australia offering quality family accommodation with views of Hyde Park and Sydney Harbour. The Hyde Park Inn is a 93 room property in the heart of Sydney’s Central Business District across from beautiful Hyde Park. For comfort, cost, facilities, location, transport and spectacular views of the city, the Hyde Park Inn is the place to stay in Sydney.Our Rooms include all new furniture, fittings and appliances including LCD TV's, DVD's & Microwaves in all rooms as well as cook tops fitted in all Deluxe Studio & Family Rooms and Apartments.The rooms also feature all new interior design including carpet, bedding furniture and curtains to create a contemporary yet comfortable feel.Conference & Meeting CentreIntroducing the Hyde Park Forum Conference and Meeting Centre. An all new state of the art Conference and Meeting Centre in Sydney's CBD. Featuring built in AV & IT equipment including data projection, teleconferencing and videoconferencing units. Two meeting rooms and an Executive Boardroom with exhibition/trade show space available. All rooms face Hyde Park and feature abundant natural light.Hyde Park Forum, Small Meeting SolutionsLevel One, 271 Elizabeth Street Sydney ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hyde Park Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyde Park Hotel Sydney
Park Inn Hyde
Park Inn Sydney
Hyde Park Inn Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing