We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour
Ranked #88 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed August 2, 2014

Situated in the heart of Darling harbor ..
Linked directly to Harbor side shopping complex, plenty of restaurants and bars to enjoy. Cinema, Aquarium, museum very close by. A short walk only to city(Pitt street, China town, Town Hall etc).. Location would be my favorite fact for this hotel.
Nice and clean room, very comfortable bed.
Very pricey car parking, which costed me 45$/day.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Saw Yu M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelSydneyDHH, General Manager at Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2014

Dear Saw Yu M

We appreciate you taking the time to tell us about your experience here at Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour. I am glad to read you had and enjoyable stay and would have to agree with you, our location is pretty spectacular.

We hope your next visit will be another memorable stay.

Kind Regards

David McDonald
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,572)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,052 - 1,058 of 2,572 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2014

Got a deal through Travel Zoo for this hotel (just happened to be a football night in sydney too).
$99 a night and for an extra $20 a buffet breakfast for 2. The hotel has a very good location..right at darling harbour..close to ferries, light rail and star casino and at the darling harbour shops ,restaurants and bars etc.The hotel is nothing fancy but rooms and bathrooms in good order,good beds. My view was of the street but we were only there to sleep no big deal.I really have nothing negative to say about the Ibis Darling Harbour. Some big plus points were...the staff were terrific..day desk, night desk and room staff , buffet, all bid you goodday with a smile and a cheery out look. The buffet breakfast was great with a large range . Thank you Ibis DH i will return.

Room Tip: A room on Cockle Bay side would have a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank denjam46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelSydneyDHH, General Manager at Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2014

Dear Denjam46

Thank you for choosing to stay at Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour and taking the time to provide us with feedback. We hope you had a great night at the football.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

We do hope you enjoyed your stay and we hope your next visit will be another memorable stay.

Kind Regards

David McDonald
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2014

Booked four nights for two adults. On floor 9 with fantastic views of Darling Harbour. From there, only short walk to the city centre. Very welcoming and accommodating staff. Rooms small but absolutely fine. Clean and functional. Darling Harbour on the up so good place to start. Free wifi only in reception. Didn't really access any hotel services but would certainly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: High floor. Harbour side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank FionaandGordonB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelSydneyDHH, General Manager at Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2014

Dear Fiona and Gordon

It is always pleasing to read such great feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your trip Australia and hope you had a safe return home. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on your next visit.

Kind Regards

David McDonald
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2014

great location with direct access to Harbourside shopping centre and hundreds of eating places to choose from. Darling Harbour also has great entertainment such as the Sealife Centre, Madame Tussauds, 10 pin Bowling, Cinema etc within minutes of the hotel. There is a frequent bus and ferry to circular quay which takes 15-30 minutes and the ferry has unmissable views of the harbour bridge and opera house. The hotel is clean, staff are very friendly and helpful - especially Rob and Peter who couldn't help us enough and the restaurant offered a great tasty buffet breakfast and small evening menu( but so much choice in the surrounding area) The room was smallish but adequate for our stay and the beds were very comfy - our best sleep in Australia!

Room Tip: We were given a free upgrade to a harbour view room which had an amazing view as the hotel was quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank buckleyfamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelSydneyDHH, General Manager at Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2014

Dear buckleyfamo

Thank you for choosing to stay at Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour and taking the time to provide us with feedback. We hope you had a safe return back to the UK

I will share your comments with our team especially Rob and Peter. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

We do hope you enjoyed your stay and we hope your next visit to Australia will be as memorable.

Kind Regards

David McDonald
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2014

Nice rooms and smart workers. There is only a problem with daylight, rooms are too dark. Internet is only available at the lobby where one can only use 30 minutes a day and it´s so slow, you can´t even send a message.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank PATRICIA162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelSydneyDHH, General Manager at Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2014

Dear Patricia

We are glad you enjoyed your first trip to Australia and Hope we have the pleasure of seeing you again.

Thank you for your feedback in regards to hotel WIFI. We understand the need for WIFI when travelling however are restricted in service and cost provided. Nonetheless, we are currently reviewing our options with our provider and trust a solution will be reached that will help alleviate the cost and provide a more efficient service.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Kind Regards

David McDonald
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2014

The best thing about this hotel is the location. The rooms itself is very small with no drawers to put your clothes in. So we were living out of our suitcase which made the room even smaller. The walls are bit thin so you can hear when people are talking while passing by your room. The bathroom was functional but again quite small to get changed in. The breakfast was mediocre and if it didn't come as part of the package I wouldn't suggest you eat breakfast at the hotel. It's clean though and if you are not fussy then this would be okay.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms that face Darling Harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Gracie2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelSydneyDHH, General Manager at Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2014

Dear Grace

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience her at Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour.

I am glad you found our hotel to be comfortable and clean, we think so too. We look forward to welcoming you back soon to the hotel soon for what I am sure will be another fantastic stay.

Kind Regards

David McDonald
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2014

Really liked this hotel and is an affordable option if you want to stay on the harbour and not pay $400 per night. Connected to the shops next door and close to the harbour and a ferry to circular key.

Ask for a harbour view, it's worth the extra couple of dollars. As always the higher the floor the better. Wish they had balconies but still good view.

Downside is the gym is shared in the hotel next door but the ferry's are close by and friendly. We went close to Christmas and we got to see the area decorated with a ton of people walking around.

Would stay here again... Rooms were small (think cruise ship) but had everything I needed. A woman would probably want more room in the bathroom but it was enough for me. Nice desk area with chair that I could look out at a huge Australian flag with harbour behind it.

Room Tip: High Floor away from elvators. Closest to left side of hotel if looking at it from lobby. Hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brett O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelSydneyDHH, General Manager at Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2014

Dear Brett

Thank you or taking the time to write such a great review. It is always a pleasure to read feedback that gives an a incite to our hotel. I hope you had safe travels back to the US and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel upon your next visit to Australia.

Kind Regards

David McDonald
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour
Central Business District
Ibis Sydney King Street Wharf
Central Business District
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Darling Harbour
Central Business District
PARKROYAL Darling Harbour Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour

Address: 70 Murray St | Darling Harbour, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $125 - $346 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour 3.5*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the heart of Darling Harbour, ibis Sydney Darling Harbour is one of Sydney's most popular 3.5 Star hotels. Ibis is renowned for its quality, simplicity and value for money with many rooms boasting spectacular views of Darling Harbour. With a popular bar, restaurant and 24 hour reception, ibis has affordable rates and friendly service and is perfect for business or leisure travel during a Sydney visit. With an undercover walkway to Harbourside Shopping Centre and surrounded by world renowned restaurants, bars, clubs and the Casino, this is Sydney's premiere visitor destination. Major visitor experiences include Sydney SEA LIFE Aquarium, WILD LIFE Sydney Zoo, Powerhouse Museum, National Maritime Museum, China Town and the regular free entertainment and festivals of Darling Harbour. All this, and the city and CBD are just minutes away with a Light Rail connection at the door! Ibis is part of a two hotel complex managed by Accor Hotels which includes the adjacent Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Hotel Sydney
Ibis Darling Harbour
Hotel Ibis Sydney
Ibis Sydney
Ibis Hotel Darling Harbour

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing