We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would definitely stay here in future” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour
Ranked #86 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
GreenLeadersBronze level
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Would definitely stay here in future”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

Everything about the hotel says "excellent value for money". The room was well furnished and comfortable, public areas were clean and attractive. Check-in was very efficient and very friendly. Breakfast buffet great value - and the hotel is so close to the light rail, Darling Harbour and Star Casino. Terrific place to stay and wouldn't hesitate to stay again.

Room Tip: rooms overlooking Darling Harbour offer great views and (with luck) lovely sunrises
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim649
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelSydneyDHH, General Manager at Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear Jim

Thank you for your wonderful comments in regards to your stay here at Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour.

It is encouraging to read you had such a wonderful stay and it is my hope your next stay will be as memorable as the last.

Kind Regards

Sarah Connelly
General Manager
Ibis Sydney Darling
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    387
    968
    665
    222
    144
See reviews for
335
1,032
233
482
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (456)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

We were lucky to have a high floor room with a harbour view and even more lucky to be there on a Saturday night when there were fireworks over the harbour. Lovely view from our room! The rooms are smallish but adequate, including a comfortable bed, small refrigerator and hot pot. The bathroom was efficiently organized, fine for one person yet too small for two people to use at one time. The breakfast buffet was included in our rate and was excellent. The location of this hotel is fantastic, very easily walkable to most areas of interest on both sides of the harbour. Only negative was lack of help from front desk people regarding tourist information.

Room Tip: Be sure to get a room on the harbour side. Outstanding view!! View from the city side is not good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank george f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelSydneyDHH, General Manager at Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
ear Guest,

Thank you for Choosing to stay at Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour and taking the time to tell us about your experience whilst here.

It is inspiriting to read that you had such a wonderful stay and it is our hope your stay will be as pleasant as the last.

Kind Regards

Sarah Connelly
General Manager
Ibis Sydney on Darling Harbour
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

A friend and I stayed here for one night and we booked the room through a Travelzoo deal which included a discounted rate, a bottle of sparkling wine on arrival and breakfast.

Check-in was easy and staff were pleasant. The room was a decent size with a nice room of the city (we did not have harbour view). Bathroom was a bit small but had all the essentials including toiletries.

My only issue was that we were allowed a late checkout by the hotel, yet the cleaning lady barged into our room at the normal checkout time without knocking (do not disturb sign was on the door handle) and completely took us off guard. And she didn't even apologise, just said 'good' when we told her we had a late check out. Strange!

But overall, it was a pleasant stay in a good location for exploring the heart if sydney.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jtann98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelSydneyDHH, General Manager at Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for Choosing to stay at Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour and taking the time to tell us about your experience whilst here.

It is inspiriting to read that you had such a wonderful stay and it is our hope your stay will be as pleasant as the last.

Kind Regards

Sarah Connelly
General Manager
Ibis Sydney on Darling Harbour
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014

Spent one night in the Ibis. I asked for 2 x double beds but ended up with 2 x single small beds.
The rooms was so tiny and with no where to put your luggage we both felt squashed.
The shower area was also small-being tall I felt like a giant!
The windows could have done with some curtains as in the morning the sun would shine directly into the room..NO SLEEP IN.
Breaky was very good.
Staff are excellent!

Its a budget hotel, would rather pay that extra and get a bigger bed and room..

Room Tip: Pay that extra for a bigger room and confirm with your booking you get harbour view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maza70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelSydneyDHH, General Manager at Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Maza

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Ibis Darling Harbour.

I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies, However it is encouraging to hear that our staff were excellent and attentive in your needs.

Maza I appreciate you sharing your feedback, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Kind Regards

Sarah Connelly
General Manager
Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batemans Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

We had two nights on the top floor (10) in a harbour view room. Although very small the room was fine, but it may be a problem if you had big suitcases . The location was great. We walked all around Darling Harbour, Paddies Market, to The Rocks and up Market Street to the shops. Cleanliness of the room was fine and breakfast very good. Can highly recommend eating at The Little Snail just a short walk down the road. Didn't have any luck getting wifi from our room though. Parking was $40 per day.

Room Tip: Harbour view room for sure
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jodean63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelSydneyDHH, General Manager at Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Jodean

Thank you for choosing to stay at Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour we very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay with us, it is always great to read feedback.

Please feel free to email us at h1181-te5@accor.com if we can be of any further assistance and it’s our hope your next stay will be as pleasant as the last.
Kind Regards

Sarah Connelly
General Manager
Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour
Central Business District
PARKROYAL Darling Harbour Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City West
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Mercure Sydney
#57 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour

Property: Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour
Address: 70 Murray St | Darling Harbour, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour 3.5*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the heart of Darling Harbour, ibis Sydney Darling Harbour is one of Sydney's most popular 3.5 Star hotels. Ibis is renowned for its quality, simplicity and value for money with many rooms boasting spectacular views of Darling Harbour. With a popular bar, restaurant and 24 hour reception, ibis has affordable rates and friendly service and is perfect for business or leisure travel during a Sydney visit. With an undercover walkway to Harbourside Shopping Centre and surrounded by world renowned restaurants, bars, clubs and the Casino, this is Sydney's premiere visitor destination. Major visitor experiences include Sydney SEA LIFE Aquarium, WILD LIFE Sydney Zoo, Powerhouse Museum, National Maritime Museum, China Town and the regular free entertainment and festivals of Darling Harbour. All this, and the city and CBD are just minutes away with a Light Rail connection at the door! Ibis is part of a two hotel complex managed by Accor Hotels which includes the adjacent Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com and ACCOR so you can book your Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Hotel Sydney
Ibis Darling Harbour
Hotel Ibis Sydney
Ibis Sydney
Ibis Hotel Darling Harbour

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing