We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour
Ranked #86 of 174 Hotels in Sydney
GreenLeadersBronze level
Gladstone, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

Great location, rooms are quite small but adequate. The bed was so comfortable. The reception staff are so friendly and helpful. Buffet breakfast was huge, shame the coffee machine wasnt quite warm enough for my taste. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend this property.

Room Tip: Darling harbour rooms have fantastic views of harbour, Pyrmont rooms have great view of bridge and i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KathE59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorDHSM, General Manager at Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor about the Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour.

I am pleased that you loved the location and enjoyed the friendly service that we pride ourselves on here at the hotel. I am sorry that you found our coffee not hot enough. I have investigated this and through our coffee provider we have been able to increase the temperature of the coffee so that it is "hot" and not "warm".

Thank you again for your feedback and we will look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Sincerely,

Sarah Connelly
Acting General Manager
Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    391
    981
    672
    223
    144
See reviews for
335
1,048
235
484
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (460)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

Situated right in Darling Harbour so location is excellent. The rooms were very small and starting to be a little tired. If you just want somewhere to sleep and don't need space or quality then the Ibis is a good choice.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank nahabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorDHSM, General Manager at Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Nahabe,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback of the hotel on Trip Advisor.

We appreciate you sharing your feedback with us and we will look forward to welcoming you back to the Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Sarah Connelly
Acting General Manager
Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

Terrible Terrible stay. I had booked this online and wanted somewhere right on Darling Harbour as when we go to Sydney we usually stay pretty central to Darling Harbour but were going for my husband's birthday so i thought right on the harbour would be perfect.
Well we arrived my husband asked the staff member checking us in where do we park "Just go next door he says", my husband who is so laid back and never speaks a bad word of people walked back to the car and said to me well that was the rudest guy ever anyway we followed his advice and went " just next door" which after 40 mins of walking the carpark (with a 2year old in tow) to try and find our way to the hotel from the carpark we realised this was not where we were supposed to be and thankfully we spoke to someone helpful at the Novotel who told us where the correct car park was, gees how difficult this would have been for the staff at the hotel we were actually staying...NOT.
Get up to the room and as many other reviews have said i wouldn't worry about swinging a cat you couldn't swing a kitten or anything close to it unbelievably tiny and claustrophobic this room was thank god for the nice weather so we could leave the room first thing in the morning's and returned as late as possible.
People say in other reviews stay here for the location well to actually get to Darling Harbour you have to walk down two levels of the correct car park, across the pedestrian bridge into the big shopping complex and down one floor to get to the harbour....for the money you pay here trust me staying on the opposite side of the harbour would be alot more enjoyable there is plenty of places over there for around the same price as the Ibis and they have always been a hell of alot more enjoyable then this horrendous experience was.

Room Tip: Tip to choosing a good room- choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JamoJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelSydneyDHH, General Manager at Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We very much appreciate your feedback as it allows us to continually review and improve our service and facilities.

We understand that rates during peak times are high in Sydney and that when paying certain rates guests have high expectations. We are very sorry you were not happy with your room. We pride ourselves that all of our rooms are true to the ibis brand.

We are very sorry the service you encountered on this occasion did not live up to expectations. Please if ever you have these issues we would like you to advise us immediately so they can be addressed quickly and not impact on your stay.

Whilst we cannot turn back the clock on your experience, we certainly value your patronage and would like to welcome you back when you are next visiting Sydney so that we may have an opportunity to provide the service and standard in which we pride ourselves and one would expect from ibis.

Kind Regards
The ibis Sydney Darling Harbour Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sydney hotels

Sydney
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

Decided to book a night in the city at the last moment and booked the Ibis with a Darling Harbour view. While the room is smaller than the Novotel, which is adjoining, the view is exactly the same and for the price you can't go wrong. Nice dining room and smallish bar overlooking Darling Harbour as well. Great value for money.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank girlfriendSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
270 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

Stayed 2 nights whilst on business trip. I had a Harbour view room and it had an amazing view. It was a very short walk to the Convention Centre and the restaurants in Darling Harbour. I found the room to be of reasonable size and very clean, wardrobe space is a bit tight and the bathroom is compact but very functional and shower was a good size, bed was very comfortable. There is no room service but Harbourside shopping Centre is very close and has a number of cheap eateries including a food hall. Staff were all very friendly. Buffet Breakfast was reasonable for $15 cost. The window shutter bloked out all outside light so you could sleep and aircon worked well and was not noisy.

Room Tip: Thye extra fews $ for a harbour view is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Physim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorDHSM, General Manager at Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Physim,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of the Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour regarding your stay with us.

Your feedback is important to us and helps with the development of our hotel operations. Thank you for your comment regarding our friendly staff, I will ensure I share this with the entire team Ibis.

We appreciate you sharing your concerns and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Sarah Connelly
Acting General Manager
Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on a recent trip to Sydney. The staff were very pleasant, the location was great just a short walk to Darling Harbour. The rooms were clean but very small. The only downfall was we had a room behind the elevator and the ring of the bell when it reached our level kept waking me up. The buffet breakfast was a bit disappointing for the price. Overall the hotel was definitely value for money and I will continue to stay here when I come to Sydney!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Megan_Jane88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

I stayed one night in IBIS Sydney. Service was not bad and the view was pretty good. We were lucky to watch a free fireworks show through the window in darling harbour on Saturday night.
The toilet exhaust fan was quiet annoying. It would be greater choice if you can book the room with a cheaper price.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tianwei C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelSydneyDHH, General Manager at Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

We understand that rates during peak times are high in Sydney and that when paying certain rates guests have high expectations.

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed the fireworks form your room. The night sky in Darling Harbour is special!

If you have time, we would appreciate if you could send the room number that you stayed in to H1181-SL02@accor.com so we can follow up on the issue you encountered with the toilet exhaust fan.

We certainly value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Sydney.

Kind Regards
The Team at ibis Sydney Darling Harbour
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour
Central Business District
PARKROYAL Darling Harbour Sydney
Central Business District
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Ibis Sydney King Street Wharf
Mercure Sydney
#59 of 174 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour

Property: Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour
Address: 70 Murray St | Darling Harbour, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour 3.5*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the heart of Darling Harbour, ibis Sydney Darling Harbour is one of Sydney's most popular 3.5 Star hotels. Ibis is renowned for its quality, simplicity and value for money with many rooms boasting spectacular views of Darling Harbour. With a popular bar, restaurant and 24 hour reception, ibis has affordable rates and friendly service and is perfect for business or leisure travel during a Sydney visit. With an undercover walkway to Harbourside Shopping Centre and surrounded by world renowned restaurants, bars, clubs and the Casino, this is Sydney's premiere visitor destination. Major visitor experiences include Sydney SEA LIFE Aquarium, WILD LIFE Sydney Zoo, Powerhouse Museum, National Maritime Museum, China Town and the regular free entertainment and festivals of Darling Harbour. All this, and the city and CBD are just minutes away with a Light Rail connection at the door! Ibis is part of a two hotel complex managed by Accor Hotels which includes the adjacent Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Hotel Sydney
Ibis Darling Harbour
Hotel Ibis Sydney
Ibis Sydney
Ibis Hotel Darling Harbour

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing