We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour
Ranked #86 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
GreenLeadersBronze level
Perth, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Terrific location”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

This is the second time we have stayed at the Ibis. The location is terrific close to all we needed. The staff were very friendly and helpfull, we arrived earty but our room was ready for us which was great as we had just arrived from WA. Room small but comfortable and the harbour view was terrific. Would stay there again,

Judy WA

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank traviscat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,522 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    420
    1,025
    695
    233
    149
See reviews for
357
1,081
247
514
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (485)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gympie, Queensland, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
70 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

I have never paid SO much for SO little! Absolutely horrible experience! Smallest room I have ever seen! Impossible to have a
Meal of any kind if there is two of you...only one chair! Bathroom is terrible. Smallest shower in Sydney...nowhere to put anything....painful to walk in and out while doing your makeup! Ridiculous! On arrival, reception was abysmal. Felt like we were interrupting them. Service remained abysmal for the rest of the stay. The kettle did not work in the morning. Went down
To reception to tell them, only to be told "I'll send someone up to check it". Popped around to the cafe to buy a coffee, only to be told "they don't do takeaway, try room service!" No menu in the room, so that's a bit difficult! One hour later, rang reception AGAIN to get a kettle. Turns out the young girl I interrupted earlier forgot to send someone up! No surprise!
Checked as soon as possible, even though I had prepaid for another night. I would rather pay and get out of there than put us through that again! Stayed across the harbour in a top floor apartment, fantastic staff, and a brilliant view. IBIS IS SUCH A RIP OFF!!!! DO NOT STAY THERE! Oh and the two "gentlemen" on reception on checkout, did not even have the decency
To wait till I had gone to start talking about me! Pure class.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorDHSM, General Manager at Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Hi Lynda,

Please accept our apologies regarding the issues that you have raised in your review.

I would love to have the opportunity to speak with you regarding these and would welcome you to e-mail me your contact details and the most convenient time to contact you.

My e-mail address is h1757-gm01@accor.com

Kind Regards

Klaus Kinateder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sydney hotels

Canberra, Australia
1 review
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Location was top.
However, for the price I paid there was very little I got.
Examples:
No Room Service - Had to go downstairs to plead to the bar to get some milk.
Parking not included which meant I had to pay $40 per night for parking on tops.
I guess location is what I paid for and nothing else....

Location = Great
Everything else = Poor

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank TomWest78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorDHSM, General Manager at Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Tomwest78,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Ibis and for taking the time to write a review for our hotel.

In regards to our pricing, like the airlines we have a dynamic model that increases or decreases in line with the level of demand for each day. We also watch our competitor pricing via 3rd party online travel agents to ensure that our pricing remains competitive against other hotels within the Darling Harbour precinct and Sydney CBD.

Being a 3 star hotel we do not offer room service but we do have staff available to can restock room amenities such as tea and coffee making facilities and bathroom amenities. We also have an innovative service called "grab it and go", this does mean ordering your food or beverage over the phone and coming to reception to pick it up but it does give us the opportunity to offer this 24 hours per day.

Parking, I understand that this is a challenge and across Sydney parking can be quite expensive but we have always tried to keep this price to a minimum. For example, at the beginning of 2012 the dept of state revenue increased taxes/levies on car spaces in Sydney but at hotel level we held off increasing our fee until late September 2012.

This afternoon I will be speaking to our food and beverage attendants regards your request for milk, this should have been a given and I am quite surprised that you had to plead with staff for this. Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience that this caused and rest assured the person that you dealt with with be counseled appropriately.

Again, thank you for your feedback and we do hope that you choose to stay in an Accor hotel on your next travels.


Warm Regards,

Klaus Kinateder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okemos, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Perfect place for not staying in the room as the room is small (very European style), but clean, quiet and adequate. The hotel is located on the edge of Darling Harbour with all the restaurants, entertainment and activities that the harbour area offers. The pedestrian bridge across the harbour is very close which allows walking to and from Sydney Harbour. The light rail system stops very near the hotel and the harbour ferry service is within a short walk. We had access to the pool, exercise room and tennis court at the adjoining Novotel and the Ibis staffers were very friendly and helpful. I have stayed with Ibis in Paris and London and the Ibis Sydney was just as nice, easily met my expectations. I certainly would not hesitate to stay there again.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room wit a harbour view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry42545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Perfect for a solo traveller who just needs a bed to crash. Was in Sydney for a conference and needed a roof on the head. Location is unbeatable. Staff excellent and accommodating.

Room is small but this is Ibis which is meant to be a hotel meant to cater mainly to business travellers, not tourists.

Only small issue I had was the scrambled eggs I had for brekky, just not cooked to my preference.

Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: try getting a room away from the lifts if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RagingBull1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Nice view of Darling Harbour and well located. Easily accessible by light rail from Central Station

However the room very cramped - most of the space taken up by the bed. We had to take the ironing board out of the tiny hanging space in order to hang our few clothes for the week end. The room had one chair, the air conditioner was very noisy and the shower was so small you could hardly turn around in it. Supposed to be a 4 star hotel and all this cost us more than $900 for 3 nights!!- a rip off.

My advice to anyone looking for a comfortable hotel in Darling Harbour and thinking of the Ibis is DON'T.

Room Tip: Don't stay there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ken m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorDHSM, General Manager at Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear ken m,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to leave feedback on your experience.

The Ibis are a 3 star hotel and we definately do not try and sit in the 4 star space. We try and deliver a solid product that is based on simplicity and functionality in design and deliver hospitality that genuine and natural.

For the better part I think that we do a fairly good job and that is why feedback from our customers is so important. This gives us motivation and inspiration to deliver better services and ensure that our teams are engaged with our customers in the most positive way.

Obviously on this occassion we have missed the marked, please accept our apologies for any inconvenience that occurred during your stay with us.

Again, thank you for your feedback and I hope you choose to stay at an Accor hotel on your next travels.

Kind Regards


Klaus Kinateder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights, hotels in Sydney are expensive and this was our most expensive on our tour down the east coast of Australia. Price varies day on day so check.
This hotel is all about position and view. Make sure that you get a room with a harbour view. Also being near the pedestrian bridge and all the malls and restaurants around Darling Harbour is ideal. You could spend a week in the harbour area alone. The rooms are very small, just room to move around the beds, and really no where to keep your suitcase. The shower room is a reasonable size. Breakfast is good value, but the room is hectic, and the small number of staff really have to work hard to keep up with demand. Reception staff were helpful and friendly and we enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Harbour view only
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loiriston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour
Central Business District
PARKROYAL Darling Harbour Sydney
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Darling Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Central Business District
Hyatt Regency Sydney
Hyatt Regency Sydney
#68 of 178 in Sydney
868 reviews
Central Business District
Ibis Sydney King Street Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour

Property: Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour
Address: 70 Murray St | Darling Harbour, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour 3.5*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the heart of Darling Harbour, ibis Sydney Darling Harbour is one of Sydney's most popular 3.5 Star hotels. Ibis is renowned for its quality, simplicity and value for money with many rooms boasting spectacular views of Darling Harbour. With a popular bar, restaurant and 24 hour reception, ibis has affordable rates and friendly service and is perfect for business or leisure travel during a Sydney visit. With an undercover walkway to Harbourside Shopping Centre and surrounded by world renowned restaurants, bars, clubs and the Casino, this is Sydney's premiere visitor destination. Major visitor experiences include Sydney SEA LIFE Aquarium, WILD LIFE Sydney Zoo, Powerhouse Museum, National Maritime Museum, China Town and the regular free entertainment and festivals of Darling Harbour. All this, and the city and CBD are just minutes away with a Light Rail connection at the door! Ibis is part of a two hotel complex managed by Accor Hotels which includes the adjacent Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, ACCOR, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Hotel Sydney
Ibis Darling Harbour
Hotel Ibis Sydney
Ibis Sydney
Ibis Hotel Darling Harbour

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing