We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“In between Christmas and New Years” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour
Ranked #85 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
GreenLeadersBronze level
A TripAdvisor Member
“In between Christmas and New Years”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2012

The staff and the ground floor are the best thing regarding this hotel until you look out of the window ans catch a view of thr harbour, wow!

The rooms are fully functional and although a little pokey they have everything you need and enough room to swing an almost full grown moggie. The bed was suprisingly comfortable and well supported a nights entertainment with an aquaintance as well a being a base for exploring for three days. The staff in the room areas are noticable by their absence (actually a complement as they are totally unobtrusive) and downstairs there is a cheery smile and generally a wave from all of the staff and a true feeling of hospitality.

The breakfast bar is well worth the cost and is on par with overseas offerings in much more expensive hotels. One of the chef's popped out a couple of times and and checked which is always a good sign and the staff again were helpful and available. Great way to start the day especially after a another tremendous night on the turps that required some quiet reflection and some scrambelled eggs and bacon.

I liked it and you will too.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    386
    966
    665
    222
    143
See reviews for
335
1,030
233
480
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (456)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orange NSW
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2012

I found that the rooms were very small and Tv's very much better than the room.

Otherwise bed was comfortable and staff were excellent, as when I arrived I was placed in a twin single room and it was only me, but I was unable to do anything when I arrived as was attending a function not long after arrival.

I will compliment the staff after I return from my function I ask Reception Staff if there was any chance of getting a queen size bed instead of two singles as it was only me and they accommodated me with a another room with a Queen bed and a single. This room was slightly bigger that the original room which was nice.

I also have to highly compliment Johnny (Vietnamese) Bar tender as he was always happy and also will to chat to you when he had a chance. I had a few drinks as he as about to close and I was by myself and sat at the bar and he chatted as he was cleaning up. He was friendly and pleasant all places should have staff like him.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2012

Staff and service were both exceptional. The noise levels were disconcertingly high with being able to hear other guests in the next room (conversation). Any arguments on the floor woke us up. I fully acknowledge the difficulty inconsiderate guests present and the Ibis can only manage that as best as possible. My only real disappointment was the that our budget was blow by, what I consider, 'advantage taking' car parking fees. Having to pay near full rate for car parking when we are paying customers at the hotel sours the stay. I have stayed at city hotels (CBD) and used the carpark next door and because we were guests we received a 'pass' which at least halved the normal charges.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2012

If I ever visit Sydney again I would undoubtedly stop at this hotel. Very pleased with the room (had read in previous reviews that they were small, but we found they were adequate in size and comparable to a normal city hotel room) and the staff were always friendly and helpful. The location was excellent for exploring the city and everything is within a comfortable walking distance.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OxfordSparky69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, QLD
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2012

The location of the hotel is very convenient. It is just a few minutes walk away from the Darling Harbour. That means it is close to good restaurants and entertainment. The hotel itself is average. Rooms are rather small and basic. We had breakfast included and the buffet bf was quite good.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rabs003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2012

Outstanding reception, great location, rubbish bar, but who needs one when you're in Darling Harbour!
Free Harbour view upgrade at the mere mention of it being our honeymoon! Be careful of being near to the lift and hence the cleaner's store room, they rant and carry on in the morning as they prepare to start their day at work, but it's loud enough to wake you, and we had to remind them of the time and where they were in the end... Overall great location, but the Ibis on the other side of the harbour is cheaper and best placed for CBD and D Harbour walking. No view though...

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ExpectTooMuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tweed Heads, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2012

We booked a harbour view room at a higher rate and got a great view on the 8th floor. The room was basic but had everything we needed including wheelchair access (just -- to the foot of the bed) although the live cord for the kettle was a bit of a worry -- the plug was under the built-in counter and could not be reached. Bathroom was fine. The three lifts were a problem as it appeared not all were working and was necessary to change lifts sometimes to get to the garage. At one point the only lift servicing the garage lift went out of service and it was necessary to walk outside the hotel to reach the garage by a circuitous route. The bistro was basic but the food was good, with limited choice, and good service. There is a convenience store opposite the hotel (expensive) and a bigger menu on offer at the Novotel next door. Easy foot access to Pyrmont Bridge and other parts of Darling Harbour, including the Harbourside shopping centre, via the monorail station nearby.

Room Tip: Harbourside rooms cost a little more but the view is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PhineasP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour
Central Business District
PARKROYAL Darling Harbour Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City West
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Mercure Sydney
#57 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour

Property: Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour
Address: 70 Murray St | Darling Harbour, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour 3.5*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the heart of Darling Harbour, ibis Sydney Darling Harbour is one of Sydney's most popular 3.5 Star hotels. Ibis is renowned for its quality, simplicity and value for money with many rooms boasting spectacular views of Darling Harbour. With a popular bar, restaurant and 24 hour reception, ibis has affordable rates and friendly service and is perfect for business or leisure travel during a Sydney visit. With an undercover walkway to Harbourside Shopping Centre and surrounded by world renowned restaurants, bars, clubs and the Casino, this is Sydney's premiere visitor destination. Major visitor experiences include Sydney SEA LIFE Aquarium, WILD LIFE Sydney Zoo, Powerhouse Museum, National Maritime Museum, China Town and the regular free entertainment and festivals of Darling Harbour. All this, and the city and CBD are just minutes away with a Light Rail connection at the door! Ibis is part of a two hotel complex managed by Accor Hotels which includes the adjacent Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, ACCOR, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Hotel Sydney
Ibis Darling Harbour
Hotel Ibis Sydney
Ibis Sydney
Ibis Hotel Darling Harbour

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing