We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ibis Sydney World Square
Nearby Hotels
Hilton Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
$394
$137
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hyatt Regency Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
$240
$137
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$197
$175
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$245
$178
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$239
$186
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$164
$158
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
$216
$131
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
$193
$130
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$252
$180
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$223
$203
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,946)
Filter reviews
1,946 results
Traveler rating
249
740
635
211
111
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
249
740
635
211
111
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdarling harbourpitt staccor membermuseum stationcoles supermarketshort stayhotel is in a great locationpublic transportgeorge streethyde parkopera housechinatownirontrainblindscafesrocks
Filter
Updating list...
774 - 779 of 1,946 reviews
Reviewed February 15, 2014

My partner and I booked a double room, for a Saturday evening.

We called three times in advanced to ask, and double check if we were able to check in earlier then the specified check in time. Staff were very lovely and said for the same price of $279 they could check us in earlier. They contacted us the next day stating that they only had a room with two single beds and not a queen available. As my partner and I were attending something important over the weekend we agreed to make the change.

THEN

We checked into our room, there was no bond needed, and staff confirmed all details, prices, etc, but said we just have to pay once our stay was over.
The next morning we went to check out, and the Manager told us it would be $379.
We were told three times our room was $279.
He asked us which staff member had told us it was $279, and just like most people we don't write down or remember names.
After a long dispute, telling us if we didn't pay this amount he would call the police, asking my partner to leave the building because she was being quite blunt about the situation, and showing us an invoice which showed us no cost of the room, AT ALL. We then were basically forced to pay a total of $379.. Not only that, but we missed our bus interstate home because the manager took a very long time to try and sort something out..which obviously worked, in his favour.

So beware when you book a room here, and make sure you are emailed an itinery including all pieces, etc. You do not want to get ripped off like we have today!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JSP363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisWorldSquare_GM, Manager at Ibis Sydney World Square, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

Hi,

Thank you for taking my call in regards to your stay.

The matter has been resolved and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Had an enjoyable 2-night stay at Ibis World Square. Positives - efficient check-in and knowledgeable staff; neat and tidy room; hotel is centrally located and provides easy access to Town Hall and Museum stations; World Square shopping centre across the road; room was cleaned daily. Negatives - hotel is close to a lot of bars and clubs so at night (particularly Friday and Saturday) you can hear the noise from downstairs; you could hear the cleaners in the hallway and in neighbouring rooms early in the morning; bathroom is a bit small. But for the price it was a reasonable stay.

Room Tip: Choose a room on a high floor to minimise the noise heard from downstairs at night
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hansjlarsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisWorldSquare_GM, Manager at Ibis Sydney World Square, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2014

Hi,

The team and I are very happy you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Thank you again, for taking the time to let us know about your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

we stayed for 7 nights staff very good and helpful.enjoyed the pleasant walk down town.Chinise new year guests very vocal. Hotel staff coped very well Breakfast just about ok.We enjoyed a nice glass of wine and a chat with the staff some evenings

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pitchmaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisWorldSquare_GM, Manager at Ibis Sydney World Square, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2014

Thank you very much your review and compliments of the hotel and its staff. I am very proud of the entire team and this review is a direct reflection of their consistent desire to deliver the best level of customer service possible.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

IBIS world Square has Perfect Location - central Sydney. We stayed here for 3 days in end January 2014. Rooms are kinda small, but clean and tidy, Bed is quite comfortable. Best thing is you can walk to Darling harbour(15 min), Chinatown( 5 min), Hyde Park( 15 min), Sydney Tower eye(15 min). You can walk to bus stop(Town Station - 8 min walk, Museum Station - 10 min) as well train station. Also there are many cafes's around.
We had reached the hotel at 7.30 am, as a room was ready we could check in immediately and didnt have to wait till check-in time of 2.00 pm. The hotel staff was quite helpful.
You will require about 20-25 minutes to reach the hotel from Airport by a taxi.
Rooms and shower area is kinda squeezed but its good. I would not recommend to have breakfast in the hotel as it is overly priced for the menu provided. Rather you can have cheap breakfast across the street.
I would really recommend this location to all visitors. It is value for money.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NiharikaW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisWorldSquare_GM, Manager at Ibis Sydney World Square, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2014

Hi,

Yes, we are located in the "perfect location", walking distance to everything the city has to offer.

The restaurants in this area are amazing.
China Republic has just opened and getting fantastic reviews, the Civic Hotel next door for a quick drink before a show or movie and shopping!!!!! Don't get me started.... :-)

We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

I stayed here on a business trip and was pleasantly surprised with the hotel. The staff were friendly and helpful and the rooms were fine for what I wanted - comfortable bed and a shower. The only thing I noticed on arrival in the room was a lack of cupboard space for clothes so I kept everything in my suitcase. Good coffee shops opposite the hotel and a shopping centre. I enjoyed my stay there.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
Thank kbayes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisWorldSquare_GM, Manager at Ibis Sydney World Square, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

Hi,

Thank you for your review.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews