We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Marketing better than the product”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ibis Sydney World Square
Ranked #91 of 174 Hotels in Sydney
GreenLeadersSilver level
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Marketing better than the product”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

It's my first stay at an Ibis in years, as my 'usual hotel' was full. This feels like a 'cheap and cheerful' refurb - particularly the paint job. "Plush pillows and inviting duvets" they claim in their marketing. I'd call it paper thin duvets (I needed a blanked from the wardrobe - that was not clean) and uncomfy pillows.

It's the first time I've ever ordered "room service" in a hotel, only to have to collect it from reception in a brown paper bag. In fairness they call it "Grab and Go". It wasn't great either... chips were good; club sandwich was 'meh'. Now I know why it was cheaper than other room service I've had. The "fruit" at breakfast came out of a tin. Yuk! Maybe my expectations are too high.

The thing that let this place down the most was its cleanliness. Sheets/towels all good (thankfully) but vacuuming and general cleaning in the room could be much improved. Areas of the bathroom are dirty - a definite no no! Work desk not cleaned and still had a long, stray hair (from a previous tenant - not mine) and the crumbs from last night's club sandwich. Nice.

On the plus side, check in was prompt and friendly. All staff I've encountered have been good.

I would not be rushing back to this hotel, I have to say.

That said, if you can find a cheap deal (mine wasn't) and you're not as fussy as me, then it's at least a good location and the staff I met were nice.

Room Tip: I was in an "01" room. It's across from the lift, so avoid if "ding dong" a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GarryMcG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisWorldSquare_GM, Manager at Ibis Sydney World Square, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Hi,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Ibis World Square. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,792 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    682
    599
    193
    105
See reviews for
274
553
310
437
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
402 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

I knew when booking an Ibis not to expect too much but was sold on the price and location. Upon arrival the staff were friendly and check in was prompt. My room was small but perfectly acceptable for one person with a comfortable enough bed, good TV channel selection and was clean. The air conditioning also worked brilliantly in the Sydney heat.
The bathroom was small and older style, the shower was a bit rusty and gross.
There is a small gym available (not expected from an Ibis!) which was clean and had a few treadmills, bike and weights.
The breakfast is nothing fancy - just the basics, cereals, toast eggs, bacon etc but the staff in there were very friendly.
I think I drew the short straw with room choice. I was on the second floor facing the street and was awoken by loud music from the bar next door and I was also the room next to the room service closet, next to the lift and the floor with the gym and breakfast area. It was a pretty noisy area to be!
The location is fantastic but I think next time I will pay a little bit more for something a bit more modern.

Room Tip: As high as possible to escape street noise and as far away from the room service closets to avoid co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa_WLG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisWorldSquare_GM, Manager at Ibis Sydney World Square, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Hi,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

Great location in Haymarket area, practically next to Chinatown area and only 5-10 mins walk to Darling Harbour and Westfield Pitt St Mall. You can also just walk up to Museum station at Hyde Park to visit Sydney Harbour & Opera House. Lots of eating places around the area. Room size is typical IBIS, compact but with basic amenities such as coffee/tea/fridge/iron. Housekeeping staff were great in terms of re-making up of the room and were very friendly when bumping into hotel guests.

After a long drive from Melbourne to Sydney, unfortunately our experience was spoiled by a Front Desk staff (possibly a duty manager) upon check-in early evening. We emailed them 1 week prior to arrival and requested a double room and received confirmation that everything was OK. No welcome smile upon check-in.. (what's going on with the customer service?). After advising her that we had a booking and produced my ID, we were asked again on how many nights we needed to stay and even then, we were asked on the name of the booking. Finally after insisting on having booked a room, she re-checked the system and found our booking. When checking the arrival form, we realised that we were assigned a twin room and advised them that we requested for double room. The staff seemed to find it difficult to understand the difference between twin and double room. She gave a 'strange discriminating look' at my partner and myself and insisted that we requested for twin room. After insisting and showing her the email confirmation I received from IBIS, she finally responded that they did not have any double room left and no apology was given. A hotel staff does not understand the difference of twin a double room??.. That's the most basic knowledge for hotel operation! We expressed our disappointment and mentioned that we wished that they would have advised us the uncertainty of a double room rather than just a short response confirming that the reservation was OK. We were advised that she could not do anything and that if we wanted, she could probably change our room the next day which we then rejected. We were only staying for 2 nights and had plans for the entire day the next day. There was no point hanging around the hotel waiting for available room and repacking our stuff. Further, my ID was also not returned by the staff until after we were inside the room. Taking into accounts the void of welcome greeting, smile and the above hick-ups that we experienced upon checking-in, we can only conclude on the poor customer service standard and professionalism displayed by the specific Front Desk staff at IBIS World Square (especially if she was a duty manager).

Check-out was efficient and the staff (different staff) displayed standard professionalism and friendliness.

Room Tip: Choose higher floor if you are a light sleeper. Can be noisy at night as it is in central area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1earthtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisWorldSquare_GM, Manager at Ibis Sydney World Square, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Hi,

Thank you for your review.

It is disapointing to read we were not able to accomodate you in a Queen room on your arrival. Iam sorry you did not take the opportunity to move the following day, as you would have been more comfortable.

Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guayaquil, Ecuador
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

Lets get it straight, you get what you pay for if lucky to find a good rate, rooms are just like in cheap hotels in china (small is the word for everything: bath, bed, room, etc.)DON'T accept the rooms finishing in 1 like 3001 or 4001 since the re next to the utility room and start shooting doors and making heavy noise starting at 7am.

The location is great since you re close to mayor atractions within walking distance.

The street where its located is full of "massage.parlours" (prostitution) so dont get confused unless thats what you re looking for. Also packed with bars and 24h/7 caffes.

The staff looked worn out and little helping with tourists.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Luis3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisWorldSquare_GM, General Manager at Ibis Sydney World Square, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Hi,

Thank yuo for your review, I think you have written about the wrong Hotel.

We do not have baths, and we do not have rooms 3001 or 4001.

Sorry.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sydney hotels

Perth
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

Excellent location for visiting the many restaurants, pubs and cafes in the area. Good size room, very clean and quiet. We travelled over from Perth and parked across the road from the hotel. The parking was subsidised by Ibis and would otherwise have been extremely expensive but then it was the centre of Sydney. Would thoroughly recommend. Will stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glaushouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisWorldSquare_GM, Manager at Ibis Sydney World Square, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Hi,

Thank you for your kind review.

Yes we are in the best location in Sydney....Shop, eat, drink and be merry the perfect Holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guayaquil, Ecuador
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Ibis 3 nights in hour honeymoon after spending 10 days in bali's resorts, obviously a big shock. Room size is about 12sm we have to put our luggage in desk and coffee table. The shower was so small that we kept hitting our elbows all the time.
The room was clean, towels and sheets smell ok so cleanings was average.
Location 5 points! Walking distance to darling harbour, opera house, chinatown, etc. Subway just two blocks away.
Customer service, not nice, they dont even say hello back to you when you enter to the hotel, you ask a question and it seems you are disturbing their peace, we asked for a taxi for our check out the day we left and they respond that we must grab it in the street? No even a offer to call one o help you to find one. Awful!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank lchum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel
Central Business District
Metro Hotel on Pitt
Metro Hotel on Pitt
#50 of 174 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
#97 of 174 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,591 reviews
Mercure Sydney
#59 of 174 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,704 reviews
Central Business District
Vibe Hotel Sydney
Vibe Hotel Sydney
#69 of 174 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Sydney World Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Sydney World Square

Property: Ibis Sydney World Square
Address: 382 - 384 Pitt St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Sydney World Square 3*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Sydney World Square is in the heart of the Sydney CBD, within easy walking distance of Darling Harbour, Cockle Bay, Sydney Convention and Exhibition Centre and Chinatown. The hotel features 166 rooms and is conveniently close to the Sydney Light Rail and Central Station. The hotel has been recently refreshed with new bedding, carpet, in room amenities and upgraded dining facilities. The ibis Sydney World Square hotel in Sydney's CBD offers Standard and Deluxe room type, ideal for both corporate and leisure travelers in Sydney! From the solo traveler needing a comfortable queen sized bed for a night, to large two king sized bed rooms for the family holiday or a group of friends wanting to share. All hotel rooms are clean, wonderfully comfortable and have the convenience of a private en-suite bathroom with shower, new smart TVs, direct dial IDD / STD, tea & coffee making facilities, iron & ironing board, hair dryer, high-speed broadband internet access, in-house movies and fluffy towels. Guests staying at the Ibis Sydney World Square can also take advantage of the extensive hotel facilities including the 24 hour Reception, tour desk and on-site self-service laundry and dry cleaning services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, ACCOR, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Sydney World Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor World Square Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing