We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ibis World Square - 1 night”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ibis Sydney World Square
Ranked #93 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Convenient and good value. We appreciated the complimentary glass of wine My wife has limited mobility and the easy access room was useful.
We have an advantage plus card which made the hot breakfast very good value at $ 10 each.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank ROBG1232014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisWorldSquare_GM, Manager at Ibis Sydney World Square, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Hi,

Thank you fro taking the time to review the Hotel.

We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,856)
There are newer reviews for Ibis Sydney World Square
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

877 - 883 of 1,856 reviews

Reviewed May 4, 2013

I was in Sydney for a few days (the weekend following Easter) and needed accommodation that wasn't too far from the Sydney Entertainment Centre or the city. Of the few that I was interested in, this was the cheaper one and is conveniently located behind the World Square shopping area.
It's also a short walk to Pitt St Mall and Chinatown and a bit of a further stroll to QVB. But with all the shops along the way, you won't realise how far you've walked.

The staff are friendly and as we arrived earlier than check-in time, we were able to store our luggage (for free) with them until check-in time at 2pm. Check-out time is 11am and if you need to store your luggage somewhere before leaving the premises, there are locker storage facilities in the basement for $7/24hrs per locker. Each locker can store a standard sized luggage and a hand carry. Once you've stored your luggage let reception know, they'll then give you a temporary access card to the basement to retrieve your luggage later.

Our room was a Deluxe 2 King bed for 3 people. The room was a bit small and requires a facelift. I think the lobby area looked better than our room! Our TV remote wasn't working and neither was the airconditioner (only the fan was). We mentioned this to reception who replaced the remote straight away, offered us free breakfast the next day for the broken airconditioner and asked if we wanted to change rooms.
We normally don't have breakfast in hotels but because of the free one, we got to see what was on offer. The usual tea/coffee, baked beans, bacon, scrambled eggs, cereal, toast etc. I'm sure there's something to satisfy your tastebuds.

As standard, there were the mini fridge, tea/coffee, kettle. Complimentary Internet access is available for 30min each day. You'll need to ask for this at reception. The 30min is valid once logged in with the code and password (i.e. one 30min block). There is also a B&W printer.

I think I'd stay here again if another concert at Sydney Entertainment Centre calls for it.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WLH_Oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisWorldSquare_GM, Manager at Ibis Sydney World Square, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Hi,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

This hotel was a huge disappointment, having stayed in other Ibis hotels before. The standard room we stayed in thankfully for just 2 nights, smelled really bad and felt damp. The bed creaked and the fixed furniture was shabby and the upholstery on the only chair in the room was filthy. The location of the hotel was not good for us - seemed to be right in the middle of hostel and backpacker land. World Square is just across the road and has many many shops and Pitt St has many small restaurants. The area was originally the Chinese Quarter and this is reflected in the restaurants around the hotel. The breakfast was fairly basic however, the only bright thing about the hotel was the cheery member of staff in the breakfast room.

I would not recommend this hotel and I would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel!
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HMcAGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisWorldSquare_GM, Manager at Ibis Sydney World Square, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Hi,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Hotel.

We are located in a very exciting part of town, Rydges World Square a 5 star Hotel is across the road next door to the World Square complex with 100 variety stores ranging from JB Hi Fi to Oxford clothing etc.. all international stores.

I am sorry you did not like the area, may I suggest next time Ibis King street wharf may be a better area for you. It is located in the CBD side of Sydney.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Generally fine but, along with other Ibis hotels I have stayed in the UK, the TV system is substandard, reception of sound suffers from interference and does not give access to most of the free-to-air channels. One other major criticism is the outrageous wifi charges, if many coffee shops can have free wifi why can't you.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank sidjboucher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisWorldSquare_GM, Manager at Ibis Sydney World Square, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Hi,

Thank you for your review on the Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Service and attention was great but the room and public spaces are well overdue for a refurbishment. This hotel is generally similar to many other inner Sydney hotels in that it is not as clean or fresh as they are promoted to be.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Stepp10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisWorldSquare_GM, Manager at Ibis Sydney World Square, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Hi,

Please let me know next time you are coming to Sydney so we can allocat you into one of our new rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We got a good deal at $110 per night for 2 of us. It is at a great location, the rooms were clean and staff were great. Rooms were tiny but we were hardly in there so it didn't matter. I think its a great place to explore Sydney from.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank gjed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisWorldSquare_GM, Manager at Ibis Sydney World Square, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Hi,

Thank you for your review, we are in a fantastic location. Shopping, food, Bars,...

all in walking distance.

We hope to see you again soon. Keep looking we have some great rates out at the moment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

A basic hotel that charges above what it offers. Rooms are tiny - so tiny that you have to be careful where you even place your shoes so that you don't fall over them during the night to find the bathroom. Only one chair provided yet there were two of us - although there was probably no room available to place another chair. The electric jug looked good but the sink was so small that it could not be filled from tap in the bathroom sink - it had to be filled with several glasses of water. A major problem was the bed - it was so soft that both our backs were aching after the first night and a visit to a nearby supermarket was necessary to buy Nurofen to help us survive the following two nights. Afraid we will look elsewhere in future for Sydney accommodation.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank JohnEllisCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisWorldSquare_GM, Manager at Ibis Sydney World Square, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Hi,

I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay in Sydney.

Our beds are new and we have had some wonderful feed back. I am sorry they were too soft for you.

If you wish to further discuss your stay please let me know.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
APX World Square
APX World Square
#111 of 178 in Sydney
373 reviews
Central Business District
Vibe Hotel Sydney
Vibe Hotel Sydney
#73 of 178 in Sydney
3,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel
Central Business District
Central Station Hotel
Central Station Hotel
#81 of 178 in Sydney
2,463 reviews
Central Business District
Ibis Sydney King Street Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Sydney World Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Sydney World Square

Address: 382 - 384 Pitt St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $125 - $285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Sydney World Square 3*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Sydney World Square is in the heart of the Sydney CBD, within easy walking distance of Darling Harbour, Cockle Bay, Sydney Convention and Exhibition Centre and Chinatown. The hotel features 166 rooms and is conveniently close to the Sydney Light Rail and Central Station. The hotel has been recently refreshed with new bedding, carpet, in room amenities and upgraded dining facilities. The ibis Sydney World Square hotel in Sydney's CBD offers Standard and Deluxe room type, ideal for both corporate and leisure travelers in Sydney! From the solo traveler needing a comfortable queen sized bed for a night, to large two king sized bed rooms for the family holiday or a group of friends wanting to share. All hotel rooms are clean, wonderfully comfortable and have the convenience of a private en-suite bathroom with shower, new smart TVs, direct dial IDD / STD, tea & coffee making facilities, iron & ironing board, hair dryer, high-speed broadband internet access, in-house movies and fluffy towels. Guests staying at the Ibis Sydney World Square can also take advantage of the extensive hotel facilities including the 24 hour Reception, tour desk and on-site self-service laundry and dry cleaning services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Sydney World Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor World Square Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing