We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ibis Sydney World Square
Ranked #92 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
GreenLeadersSilver level
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

First of all the hotel is in a great location, okay it is only a 3 star, but you pay for what you get, Sydney is very expensive and i would guess that 5 star hotels are really expensive.
I walked everywhere from the hotel as it is very central for everywhere, room was what it said it was, hot water, comfortable bed, enough towels, tv with good channels, poor view but i was hardly in the room.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iand0310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisWorldSquare_GM, Front Office Manager at Ibis Sydney World Square, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Hi

Thank you for your review.

Yes, when staying at ibis World Square you need good walking shoes, as we are walking distance to all attractions. You sound like you had a great visit in our beautiful city.

We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,828 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    698
    606
    198
    105
See reviews for
283
556
317
449
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Buderim
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 3, 2013

I had not stayed at an Ibis hotel before, only Novotel, Mercure and Sofitel. I knew Ibis would not be of the same standard as these other properties but I chose it for its location for the purpose of my visit but this turned out not to be as convenient as I had thought and for the future, I will stay at a Darling Harbour property, either Novotel or a non-Accor property.

Prior to my visit, I researched various hotels and the room was priced just as highly as other various hotel properties (not necessarily Accor brand), however, it was very basic but comfortable - the bed was excellent but I'm pleased I took my own pillow. I had asked for a quiet room on a high floor but the only thing I got was a high floor. The was a sign in the room that the rooms were sound proof but from 12.00pm until 2.00pm, I could clearly hear the continual opening and closing of room doors from other room doors and a baby crying non-stop, so sleep quality was poor. The furniture was badly chipped and detracted from the Accor brand. There was hair in the bathroom sink and no hand towel.

There was no restaurant, only a "breakfast room" and take away options".

Although I have never stayed at a backpackers but have seen pictures, I would consider this property to be akin to an up-market backpackers hotel.

This hotel was not to my liking and I will not stay there again, nor can I recommend it to my family, friends or colleagues.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Barbara-Anne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisWorldSquare_GM, Manager at Ibis Sydney World Square, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Hi,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Hotel.

I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us and our location was not suited for your needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ile-de-France, France
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Very close to most popular attractions of Sydney, mainly Sydney Harbour
Rooms are quite small and house cleaner forgot to empty some garbage
Room fee very reasonable regarding other hotels
Very warm welcome and a lot of support to enjoy Sydney
Breakfast too expensive

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
2 Thank alezam1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisWorldSquare_GM, Manager at Ibis Sydney World Square, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Hi,

Thankyou for your kind rewview of the team.

We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sydney hotels

Gosford, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

I stayed at the Ibis as there was not much available in the city. Location was great and the service from the reception staff was excellent however that is where it ended. The foyer was unwelcoming and dirty, the hallways were dirty and grubby. Went to have breakfast in the morning and the entrance to breakfast was so unwelcoming that we went out for breakfast. Lots of places in the city which is much warmer and cleaner. The entrance to the breakfast area was very dirty and grubby. In terms of budget, I understand however you can get same price deals elsewhere which is much cleaner and nicer. I personally would not stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank bella762
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisWorldSquare_GM, Manager at Ibis Sydney World Square, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Hi,

Iam sorry you did not enjoy your stay.

We hope you will give us another chance, our upgrade will be completed in May.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

A great hotel in a great location! Well worth the money! The hotel met the 15 minute time frame to sort out problems- they had new towels with us within 5 minutes of putting the phone down! We were also able to check in at 10am!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wiseboy22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisWorldSquare_GM, Manager at Ibis Sydney World Square, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Hi,

Thank you for your great review about the team.

I hope you had a great time in our beautiful city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviewed March 31, 2013

A central location with food aplenty nearby. Accessible to all places of interest in Sydney. World Square just across the road. Walking distance to Darling Harbour. Real convenient stay and breakfast for really good.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank aeroblues307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisWorldSquare_GM, Manager at Ibis Sydney World Square, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Hi,

Wow, how nice is a long weekend and Sydney put on the best weather.

Thanks for your review, we hope to see you again soon.

I hope the Easter Bunny was good to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel
Central Business District
APX World Square
APX World Square
#108 of 179 in Sydney
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Vibe Hotel Sydney
Vibe Hotel Sydney
#72 of 179 in Sydney
3,026 reviews
Central Business District
Ibis Sydney King Street Wharf
Central Business District
Central Station Hotel
Central Station Hotel
#80 of 179 in Sydney
2,393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Sydney World Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Sydney World Square

Property: Ibis Sydney World Square
Address: 382 - 384 Pitt St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Sydney World Square 3*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Sydney World Square is in the heart of the Sydney CBD, within easy walking distance of Darling Harbour, Cockle Bay, Sydney Convention and Exhibition Centre and Chinatown. The hotel features 166 rooms and is conveniently close to the Sydney Light Rail and Central Station. The hotel has been recently refreshed with new bedding, carpet, in room amenities and upgraded dining facilities. The ibis Sydney World Square hotel in Sydney's CBD offers Standard and Deluxe room type, ideal for both corporate and leisure travelers in Sydney! From the solo traveler needing a comfortable queen sized bed for a night, to large two king sized bed rooms for the family holiday or a group of friends wanting to share. All hotel rooms are clean, wonderfully comfortable and have the convenience of a private en-suite bathroom with shower, new smart TVs, direct dial IDD / STD, tea & coffee making facilities, iron & ironing board, hair dryer, high-speed broadband internet access, in-house movies and fluffy towels. Guests staying at the Ibis Sydney World Square can also take advantage of the extensive hotel facilities including the 24 hour Reception, tour desk and on-site self-service laundry and dry cleaning services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ibis Sydney World Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor World Square Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing