We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ibis Sydney World Square
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Hilton Sydney(Sydney)
$145
$137
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$186
$155
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$173
$168
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$137
$133
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
QT Sydney(Sydney)
$225
$179
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$146
$130
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Sheraton on the Park, Sydney(Sydney)
$201
$162
Sheraton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$138
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$268
$208
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,939)
Filter reviews
1,939 results
Traveler rating
248
737
634
209
111
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
248
737
634
209
111
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdarling harbourpitt staccor membermuseum stationcoles supermarketshort stayhotel is in a great locationpublic transportgeorge streethyde parkopera housechinatownirontrainblindscafesrocks
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,002 - 1,007 of 1,939 reviews
Reviewed March 10, 2013

I have stayed at hostels better and cheaper than Ibis World Square. For $390 AUD per night you get a dogbox. How can they charge this sort of tariff for such substandard quality? There were pubic hairs all through the bathroom and especially the shower. Not enough power points in the room, crappy tv and the list goes on...

Stayed: March 2013
3  Thank Nigel X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisWorldSquare_GM, Manager at Ibis Sydney World Square, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Hi,


Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

This hotel was good value for a business stay of a few days. It was close to the city centre, Darling Harbour and Chinatown. The rooms are modest, but the breakfast was good and the service was good. We had a broken light in the bathroom and it was fixed in less than 15 minutes. Convenient for walking anywhere in the middle of the city.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Dr_G509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisWorldSquare_GM, Manager at Ibis Sydney World Square, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Hi,

Thank you for your review.

We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

We stayed here for mardi gras. The room was basic, the air con didnt work well at all but as we were only staying for a night we let it go. The staff were happy and helpful and happy for the mardi gras which was lovely of them. The place was clean, bed clean just a bit dated. I was not aware they charge 50 deposit fee and you have to wait for a week for it to come back...i will not be happy if its not returned. The location is great and close to oxford street. Would stay at the ibis near cockle bay next time i think.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brisfoodie15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisWorldSquare_GM, Manager at Ibis Sydney World Square, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Hi,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Hotel.

Hope you had a great Mardi Gras.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

I'm here right now on business trip and while the location is second to few other hotels, the hotel lack of some basic comforts.
Rooms are VERY small and at least in my room (904) here the problems:
- Shower: water temperature is unstable and keep changing between very hot and cold.
- Air Condition: the only good thing is that at least there is the AC unit... the bad is that it's VERY noisy and right on top of the bed (way to go to get sick)
- Bathroom: water is leaking from the roof
- Security lock: not available
Overall the condition of this hotel is quite bad and would need serious works to make it decent.
Only very positive note: the staff is SUPER friendly.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Snowmirko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisWorldSquare_GM, Manager at Ibis Sydney World Square, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2013

Hi,

I am sorry we did not meet your expatiations.

We are in the nids of a mini upgrade, I hope you will give us another opportunity.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

If you've stayed at an Ibis Hotel before then you probably know that it's nothing fancy. They are pretty basic as far as hotels come and for the most part pretty clean.

I have to say that the saving grace of this hotel was location. The hotel itself was quite dated and the rooms though clean were tiny and did not give off that welcoming feeling. Though it got the job done especially for the price that you pay. Luckily there are plenty of things to do nearby with World Square, Chinatown and the rest of CBD nearby. All within walking distance from the hotel.

Like most Ibis Hotels, this place is basic with no frills. If you're looking forward to an affordable stay in a prime location then give it a go. If you have some extra cash to burn then I would definitely check elsewhere.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank themattkim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisWorldSquare_GM, Manager at Ibis Sydney World Square, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Hi,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Hotel, please note we are upgrading the Hotel at the moment.

We hope you will return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews