We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central Sydney”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Ibis Sydney World Square
Ranked #97 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed February 21, 2013

What a perfect central location (Ibis World Square). Although the room was a little small, who wanted to stay in it when there was a city to explore in all directions, and most of the sights could be visited on foot.
Staff were friendly and helpful in every way, even helping with transferring photos with their computers. We couldn't have asked for a more appropriate place to stay for our 5 day Sydney experience. A hearty breakfast at a reasonable price, started each day perfectly.

Room Tip: The 16th floor was way above the street noises, including fire and ambulance sirens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisWorldSquare_GM, Front Office Manager at Ibis Sydney World Square, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Hi,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Hotel.

It is always nice to read the staff being so helpful to our guest needs.

We are located in the perfect part of town for the traveller on the go.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,883)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

974 - 980 of 1,883 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2013

We have stayed at many IBIS hotels and we have never stayed in a hotel where we have had to complain! Where do I start!
A warning not to stop out the front of this hotel would have been appreciated! My husband was waiting out the front whilst I ran inside to get parking instructions only to have police ask him to move on! Parking spot signed as 1hr parking!
The front desk was chaos! Very small for waiting guests to check in and out. The so called bar/lounge is in this small foyer!!
The room was much smaller than picture led us to believe. Bathroom floor was dirty and shower obviously leaks and the water damage is evident. No room on vanity to hold yourovernight wet bag! Air con controls broken so couldn't adjust easily.
Breakfast was embarrassing! We arrived 1 hour before breakfast closed and had to ask for bowls to be replenished with food. Not even any milk! Coffee was help yourself to a dispenser machine, no filter coffee! British and German visitors to Australia were obviously irritated by this and made comments as such.
We certainly won't be staying here again, very embarrassing as an Aussie citizen!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LiveLife_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisWorldSquare_GM, Manager at Ibis Sydney World Square, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Hi,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Hotel. I am very sorry you did not enjoy your stay.

I will write to city council again in regards to parking out the front of the Hotel, it is only a loading zone. It is very hard to find parking in Pitt Street, your letter will assist us in this fight with them, and so for that I thank you.

Our bathrooms have vanity's being installed at the moment, I am sorry you were allocated a room without one. The upgrade should be completed by the end of this month.

The coffee machine is by Nestle and it is bean coffee, I am sorry you did not enjoy the flavor. The beans are already grinded and placed in the machine.

I know you may not want to return, but if I can every assist you please let me know and I will reduce your rate by 50%.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Busy, no-nonsense and central hotel, ideal for short business trips. Small but comfortable room, friendly service. Offers in-house services which I didn't use (because the whole city is just outside the door). Easy walk to Central Station or Town Hall.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NichoT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisWorldSquare_GM, Manager at Ibis Sydney World Square, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Hi,

Thank you for your review.

Yes we are in a fantastic location, we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank phshanks
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
IbisWorldSquare_GM, Manager at Ibis Sydney World Square, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Regina D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
IbisWorldSquare_GM, Manager at Ibis Sydney World Square, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Very welcoming and friendly staff. Stayed at the Ibis Darling Harbour previously and fond this Ibis to be of a similar standard. Although older it had been refurbished and the room here was great.

Breakfast was fine and plentiful - Staff attentive and very knowlegable with ideas for trips etc. The laundry facility in the basement along with pre pay lockers for luggage is a bonus. All in all agood find. Hotels in Sydney are expensive especially if travelling solo but the Ibis group offer great accommodation at a reasonable cost. I could not find fault with anything.

Room Tip: Better views from the high floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barton2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisWorldSquare_GM, Manager at Ibis Sydney World Square, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Hi,

Thank you for your review,

It sounds like you had a great hoilday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sparkymattt
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
IbisWorldSquare_GM, Manager at Ibis Sydney World Square, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Ibis Sydney King Street Wharf
Central Business District
Central Station Hotel
Central Station Hotel
#83 of 179 in Sydney
2,522 reviews
Central Business District
Park Regis City Centre
Park Regis City Centre
#130 of 179 in Sydney
2,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
#105 of 179 in Sydney
5,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Sydney World Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Sydney World Square

Address: 382 - 384 Pitt St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $75 - $290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Sydney World Square 3*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Sydney World Square is in the heart of the Sydney CBD, within easy walking distance of Darling Harbour, Cockle Bay, Sydney Convention and Exhibition Centre and Chinatown. The hotel features 166 rooms and is conveniently close to the Sydney Light Rail and Central Station. The hotel has been recently refreshed with new bedding, carpet, in room amenities and upgraded dining facilities. The ibis Sydney World Square hotel in Sydney's CBD offers Standard and Deluxe room type, ideal for both corporate and leisure travelers in Sydney! From the solo traveler needing a comfortable queen sized bed for a night, to large two king sized bed rooms for the family holiday or a group of friends wanting to share. All hotel rooms are clean, wonderfully comfortable and have the convenience of a private en-suite bathroom with shower, new smart TVs, direct dial IDD / STD, tea & coffee making facilities, iron & ironing board, hair dryer, high-speed broadband internet access, in-house movies and fluffy towels. Guests staying at the Ibis Sydney World Square can also take advantage of the extensive hotel facilities including the 24 hour Reception, tour desk and on-site self-service laundry and dry cleaning services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ibis Sydney World Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor World Square Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing