We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Rendezvous Hotel Sydney The Rocks(Sydney)(Great Value!)
$139
$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of $144/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Shangri-La Hotel Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
$165
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Holiday Inn Old Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
$125
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of $147/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
$174
$133
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hyatt Regency Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
$144
$131
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of $157/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$271
$172
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of $203/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$138
$130
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $144/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$170
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
$210
$117
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $131/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$192
$151
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of $181/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (1,383)
Filter reviews
1,383 results
Traveler rating
647
492
156
56
32
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
647
492
156
56
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsno liftboutique hotelopera housescarlett restaurantgreat locationa ground floor roomlovely boutiqueheritage buildingnight managersmall hotelcruise shipclose to circular quaybotanical gardensan easy walkgeorge streetrocksharbour
Filter
Updating list...
845 - 850 of 1,383 reviews
Reviewed June 15, 2014

The hotel is in fantastic location and the building itself has lots of character. The rooms were okay, the layout is a little awkward although we did have a little bit of a view from our room. The bathroom is clumsy and the vanity/basin area is tiny and really doesn't work and a real lack of amenities. The food in the basement area was good at any time of the day and the smoothies were spot on. The hotel has no lifts although not a huge deal. Would I stay again?

Room Tip: Try to get view out to Opera House and Water if you can...
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thesmdm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dylan C, General Manager at Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2014

Thanks for your review ‘thesmdm’ – It was great to read that you found our location to be fantastic and that you also found our hotel to have a lot of character! Given the historic age of the building and the fact that no single room is the same we have a lot to work with.

Great to hear you enjoyed the smoothies!

We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,
Dylan Cole
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2014

The Harbour Rocks hotel is in a top location for tourists -in the Rocks area but close to Circular Quay. Very friendly staff and impressive renovation of very old character buildings. Good restaurant to complete the package.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank PaulBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dylan C, General Manager at Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2014

Thank you for your review ‘PaulBrisbane’

It was really pleasing to read that you enjoyed your time with us at the Harbour Rocks Hotel.
Was great to see you were able to find time to enjoy a meal in at Scarlett Restaurant! I’ll be sure to pass your great feedback about our staff on to the team.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,
Dylan Cole
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2014

We stayed at this hotel just recently to visit Sydney's fabulous Vivid Festival and the Biennale. The hotel is conveniently located just around the corner from Circular Quay. We loved the shower best of all which made up for the very small bathroom. Our Queen room though was spacious, the beds very comfortable, and the décor appropriate to this historic building. Its solid walls ensured a good night's sleep as noises from the street could not be heard. We had some excellent meals too, but make sure you get to the restaurant before 8pm as there is none after 8pm. There is free Wi-Fi, but fast Wi-Fi needs to be paid for. Staff were very friendly and accommodating, including carrying our bags upstairs as there is no lift. We enjoyed the ambience of this small boutique hotel, and would certainly stay there again. It is a welcome change from big brassy hotels that lack personality.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Coco308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dylan C, General Manager at Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2014

Thanks for your review Coco308.

I appreciate the time you have taken to highlight our hotel.

We hope to welcome you back in the future!

Sincerely,
Dylan Cole
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2014

We recently stayed at Harbour Rocks hotel on a family trip to see Vivid festival. It was one of the few hotels in the CBD that could accommodate a family without the need for 2 rooms. It is a small boutique hotel and the building had lots of history. It was the perfect location for Vivid. There is lots of fab places to eat within a very short distance. The staff were very helpful and went out of their way to make sure we had a great stay. Our room was beautiful and easily accommodated a family of 4. The free wifi was pretty poor, but hey not a big deal in the scheme of things.The bar and cafe were nice.
Would definitely stay there again and would recommend to all, especially overseas visitors.

Room Tip: All rooms are good. You are in the heart of the city, some street noise to be expected!
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dylan C, General Manager at Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2014

Thanks very much for your review!

It was great to read that you and your famliy enjoyed your time with us. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Sincerely,
Dylan Cole
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2014

A very good location if you are a first time visitor to Sydney and not have much time to explore the city. You are next to the harbour to see the main highlights of the city and walking distance to beautiful Queen Victoria Building for some beautiful architecture and retail therapy.
Comfy bed, decent bathroom. Good restaurant and very nice terrace bar. Most of the staff was very helpful and friendly.
The only problem is the noise insulation. It is a small historic building, but I wish they addressed this issue. If your bathroom is located to the back of the building, you will hear conversation from the restaurant at the back alley until they are closed. I do not know how the other rooms at the front were. Also you do hear all bathroom activity next door - a bit too loud.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZDA-London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dylan C, General Manager at Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay with us!

Sincerely,
Dylan Cole
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews