We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection
Nearby Hotels
$239
$186
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$197
$175
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$245
$178
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hyatt Regency Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
$240
$137
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hilton Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
$394
$137
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
$216
$131
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$164
$158
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
$193
$130
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$203
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$252
$180
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,353)
Filter reviews
1,353 results
Traveler rating
633
477
156
56
31
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
633
477
156
56
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsno liftboutique hotelopera housescarlett restaurantgreat locationa ground floor roomlovely boutiquesmall hotelheritage buildingcruise shipnight managerclose to circular quaybotanical gardensan easy walkgeorge streetrockshrh
Filter
Updating list...
886 - 891 of 1,353 reviews
Reviewed March 15, 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ivada P, General Manager at Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

This hotel has it all !!
Great Location, Great Rates, Great Staff that go out of their way to make you feel welcome and exceed your expectations in every way!
Matt,Chris,Emily and the rest of the staff made our stay in Sydney hassle free and went out of their way to make sure we enjoyed ourselves.
We will stay here again and tell all our friends and work colleagues to do so as well.
Thanks again guys for an amazing stay !! Hope to see you soon !!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivada P, General Manager at Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Thank you for review!

I appreciate you taking the time to highlight the great location, rates and staff! I’ll be sure to pass this feedback on directly to the team!

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Sincerely,
Dylan Cole
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Whilst the staff are friendly and helpful, the location excellent and common areas stylish, we found our room to be very basic and the bathroom poor. We stayed six nights, booked via our travel agent, and I feel that this was part of the problem, being assigned an internal facing room with no soundproofing. Perhaps had we booked directly with the hotel we may have received better service and value for money. We could hear all the noise from people in the courtyard and also had an intermittent and regular noise that did not appear to be connected to the air con, but kept us both awake, every night, resulting in the worst sleep in Australia! We spoke to staff twice about this but no one appeared interested or willing to look into the source of the noise. The bathroom tried to be industrial but was dated and done on the cheap - even the washbasin pedestal was not square and there were holes in tiles in the shower and bathroom where items had been mis-fitted and moved, with no subsequent attempt to fill the holes. Towels were grey and poor quality and on our first night one was stained with black marks. The toilet seat was cheap and bent when sat on and there was dirt behind the bathroom door that, after 3 days, I cleaned up myself! Three times we had to either ask for the room to be made up or for supplies to be restocked: this should not be necessary in a hotel that aspires to boutique status, and I can only suggest that the owners look at several European boutique hotels for inspiration: Jules et Jim in Paris, Relais Julia in Rome, Porte Leone in Verona or Hotel Indigo, Tower Hill, London. We have stayed in all in the past 18 months and they are excellent in very different ways and push all the buttons that The Harbour Rocks just seems to miss. We were so looking forward to staying here having read reviews and been recommended by our travel agent, but felt let down and very disappointed at the value for money.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Skippy50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivada P, General Manager at Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay Skippy.

It was disappointing for me to read that your stay did not live up to expectations on this visit. I do appreciate you highlighting where you felt you were let down. I can assure you this information goes a long way to assisting me in improving services for future guests. I apologise if the overall comfort and enjoyment of your stay in was impacted by the shortfalls you have highlighted above.

If you are ever looking to stay in Sydney again, don’t hesitate to contact me directly.

Thanks again for taking the time to review your stay.


Sincerely,
Dylan Cole
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Harbour Rocks is a great place to stay in the center of the old part of Sydney. The service is excellent and the room was comfortable with a beautifull view of the Sydney Opera House. We enjoied the breakfast very much and there is a nice little terrasse to sit and have an afternoon coffee or tea. This is a place I want to return to.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karin177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivada P, General Manager at Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Thanks for your wonderful review!

You are right in saying, we are in top location down in The Rocks. I will be sure to pass on the feedback in regards to the service you received from our team. I’m glad to hear you were able to enjoy breakfast down in Scarlett restaurant!

We can’t wait to welcome you back.

Sincerely,
Dylan Cole
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

There is an industrial feel to the interior décor but nothing cold or wanting in the provision of the accommodation. The hotel is ideally sited and from our room you could see the Opera House when the cruise liner left! The room had all that was needed including a docking system for the iphone 5 The staff ensured you had all that was required. There are restaurants and eateries nearby which are also listed on trip advisor

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geoffSawbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivada P, General Manager at Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

I appreciate the time you have taken to review your stay!

I’m glad to hear you were able to make use of the rooms facilities and that you were able to get a peak of the Opera House once the cruise liner left! I hope you had time to try a few of the wonderful restaurants located near by!

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Sincerely,
Dylan Cole
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews