We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay, perfect view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection
Ranked #39 of 174 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Ljubljana
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great stay, perfect view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

Harbour Rocks is a great place to stay in the center of the old part of Sydney. The service is excellent and the room was comfortable with a beautifull view of the Sydney Opera House. We enjoied the breakfast very much and there is a nice little terrasse to sit and have an afternoon coffee or tea. This is a place I want to return to.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karin177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivada P, General Manager at Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Thanks for your wonderful review!

You are right in saying, we are in top location down in The Rocks. I will be sure to pass on the feedback in regards to the service you received from our team. I’m glad to hear you were able to enjoy breakfast down in Scarlett restaurant!

We can’t wait to welcome you back.

Sincerely,
Dylan Cole
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    576
    419
    133
    51
    27
See reviews for
137
687
61
172
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
sawbridgeworth
Level Contributor
96 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

There is an industrial feel to the interior décor but nothing cold or wanting in the provision of the accommodation. The hotel is ideally sited and from our room you could see the Opera House when the cruise liner left! The room had all that was needed including a docking system for the iphone 5 The staff ensured you had all that was required. There are restaurants and eateries nearby which are also listed on trip advisor

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geoffSawbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivada P, General Manager at Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
I appreciate the time you have taken to review your stay!

I’m glad to hear you were able to make use of the rooms facilities and that you were able to get a peak of the Opera House once the cruise liner left! I hope you had time to try a few of the wonderful restaurants located near by!

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Sincerely,
Dylan Cole
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

Really funky hotel in a great location in Sydney.

We experienced no noise issues and had a room on the inner courtyard. The bathroom was
a fair size with the shower behind the door, although the room was a little dark. I had no issues with the shelf above the sink that everyone mentions on here.

This hotel was a great base for our stay in Sydney!

The car park is literally opposite but expensive. You can also leave the car on the street overnight where the parking meter ends about 6pm I recall. So if you time it carefully, you can save quite a bit of money.

The bar and lounge downstairs is a really nice place to chill. We relaxed here on christmas day whilst playing scrabble!! Although they had some strange rule about not serving alcohol unless you were eating ( weird........only applicable at xmas and easter?!?!) so we ordered a few nibbles and a few glasses of wine!

I would recommend this place to stay in sydney, although the use of an outside pool would have been nice.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank icklenal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivada P, General Manager at Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful review Icklenal! It sounds like you had a great time with us down in The Rocks!

I’m glad to hear you were able to make use of the hotels facilities and in particular a game of scrabble downstairs! Yes, we do have some different rules in relation to the sale of alcohol at Christmas and Easter, but as you said, all it takes is a few nibbles to go with your drink!

We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,
Dylan Cole
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

Great funky place to stay right in the middle of the rocks. Excellent service! Awesome 24 hour bar in the lobby. Wilsons car park (can get a discounted rate) right across the road from the hotel. Most comfortable hotel bed I've slept in for a while and I was surprised by the fantastic shower pressure in a Heritage listed building! Also had a great sleep in thanks to the 11am check out and minimal traffic noise. This will be the first place I try and book for our next trip to Sydney.

Room Tip: Ask for a top level room for a great view - however be aware there are no lifts!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blackdelta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dylan C, General Manager at Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Thanks for your review blackdelta!

I was really pleased to hear that you had such a great stay. We do have so many positive comments about our bar and our beds, I’m glad you felt the same way!

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,
Dylan Cole
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Levin, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014

A very comfortable hotel. Our 3rd floor room had a potentially great view of the harbour and Opera House ( I say potentially because in fact all we could see was the Queen Elizabeth cruise ship) However, plenty of room, a window which opened, comfortable beds.
The service we received was excellent and nothing was too much trouble. Slightly surprised to find no lift in the hotel although I understand the reasons, heritage building etc. but our luggage was quickly delivered to our room and the stairs were ok taken slowly.
The restaurant was excellent, good food and good service, both evening meal and breakfast.
As for the location, what could be better? Right in the middle of the Rocks, just above George St and the Saturday market and the MCA.
I would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: We had a "superior room facing the harbour" Quiet, and fresh air available if you want it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dylan C, General Manager at Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
What a wonderful review Brian!

I’m really happy that you were able to enjoy our hotel to the full extent. I will be sure to pass this feedback on to our team! That Queen Elizabeth sure was a big ship!

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Sincerely,
Dylan Cole
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

as a resident of Sydney living in Africa for a few years I always struggle to find somewhere to stay in my home city that lives up to expectations of home. This trip back i decided to give the Rocks a go due to central location and something a bit different. I found the Sydney Harbour Rocks Hotel online and booked in as i am a fan of the boutique style hotels. This was no disappointment. The styling and location of the hotel in historic Sydney was fantastic and the customer service nothing short of outstanding in terms of efficiency, helpfulness and friendliness. The only (minor) negative I had was that the bathroom was a little small, but as a single occupant that was no issue at all for me.

Clearly being located where it is and a 4 star hotel it is not cheap, but very good value for money considering what else you get in terms of formulaic standard international design 4 star hotels in the immediate area.

higfhly recommend it to those who are bored with the 'standard' 4 star accomodation and fancy something a bit different.

Room Tip: they're all boutique style and individual, being on the Rocks very central yet quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StuCassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dylan C, General Manager at Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us StuCassie!

I’m really pleased to hear that you enjoyed what we have to offer at the Harbour Rocks Hotel! It really is a home away from home for a lot of our visitors, I'm glad you felt the same.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future!

Sincerely,
Dylan Cole
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
#42 of 174 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,276 reviews
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#22 of 174 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,243 reviews
The Rocks
The Russell Hotel
The Russell Hotel
#35 of 174 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection

Property: Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection
Address: 34-52 Harrington St | The Rocks, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > The Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#37 Family Hotel in Sydney
#38 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Sydney lies the Harbour Rocks Hotel, a beautiful yet intimate 59 room boutique hotel, steeped in the history of the famous Rocks precinct.The Harbour Rocks Hotel is the perfect Sydney hotel accommodation choice, a popular & exclusive “home away from home” for discerning travellers and the perfect base from which to explore the city of Sydney.Perfectly located in ‘The Rocks’ and just a short stroll from some of Australia’s best icons the Sydney Harbour Bridge & Opera House, this Sydney boutique hotel accommodation offers a variety of stunning guest rooms to choose from. All to suit the needs of both the professional business and experienced leisure traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, ACCOR, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Rocks Sydney
Hotel Harbour Rocks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing