We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Lovely old building in great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection
Ranked #36 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Lovely old building in great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

This hotel is in a beautiful old building, in a great location. We chose this hotel mainly due to its close proximity to the Bridge Climb, which is within easy walking distance and also easy walk to Circular Quay. The room was very nice, but the bathroom is the smallest that I've ever seen. You had to step carefully around the basin to get at the toilet and there wasn't room to dry yourself in the bathroom once you stepped out of the shower. The street light outside the room was very bright and the window blind did nothing to block out the light. Also the room was very hot and we had to leave the air conditioner on all night (in September). The staff were helpful and locked our luggage away for us until it was time for to leave for the airport.

Room Tip: Away from the street so no street lights as the window blind did nothing to block out the light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jennyg1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    544
    397
    119
    49
    22
See reviews for
131
641
58
157
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here a number of times but this time it was so different. Room 101 fantastic, We thought as we had before eat in with nice wine and the great bar snacks. Olives, deep fried school prawns pâté to be told NO there is new management and we stopped doing that 12 months ago!!! Hello we stayed here 2 months ago and before that and it was excellent?? Anyway decided to eat out came back nice glass of wine as a night cap went to our room to relax and a nice cup of tea. We had used out TWO tea bags on arrival so my wife went two reception and asked for two more with a further two for the morning. Not an unreasonable request one would have thought??? Only to be told by the young lady at the bar "I'm sorry but I can only give you two tea bags as that is the instruction from the management" I respectfully request Accor that you replace this manager and rethink your hospitality strategy you had it so right before but so wrong now. Advantage Club Member Graham Staples

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Graham S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivada P, Manager at Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Graham S

I am taking this opportunity to respond to your posting as this is a public forum. We have already been in contact through our internal guest survey and I thank you for your understanding.

There was obviously a communication breakdown between your wife and our front desk for which I apologize. We have never had a daily allowance on tea and never will. We had run out on the front desk and the Guest Services Agent advised that she only had two and would have to get some more from our storeroom and get them sent up. I apologize that this was not communicated clearly.

Our bar menu changes seasonally, as I mentioned in our previous communications. The bar menu changed in July for winter. This change occurred between your two stays with us that month. I am happy to advise that our bar tasting plates are back for the busy spring and summer periods.

I thank you for your previous support and loyalty and hope that this will continue into the future as I am sure your next stay will be more indicative of our usual high standards.

I thank you again for assisting us in improving our overall customer service standards.

Sincerely
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

In stark contrast to other reviewers comments, this hotel was absolutely perfect for a short stay in central Sydney, it had everything you could want and more. The decor is a mix of old and new and the rooms, although on the compact side were comfortable, clean and well equipped. The staff were very friendly and helpful and you are just a few steps from the breathtaking sights of this amazing city. As for Buzz 1967...perhaps he should dig deeper in his pockets and then he might get what he is looking for. This hotel is EXCELLENT value for money and I will be returning on my next visit to Sydney.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank linda c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tadcaster, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
187 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

Lovely conversion of some old buildings into a hotel. The room we had was to one side of the terrace and there was a little noise, but not as bad for us as others have reported. Only a couple of things that would have improved it for us. We arrived early from the airport, as many international arrivals do, and as the room wasn't ready wandered off to kill an hour getting coffee and breakfast. In fact the hotel has an excellent offer for breakfast on the day you arrive only, but they didn't draw it to our attention, so we missed it. Other than that the in room safe had been left closed by a previous guest, which we reported, though it wasn't ever fixed. Would definitely consider a return stay

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Alison W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
#43 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,117 reviews
The Rocks
The Russell Hotel
The Russell Hotel
#33 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#21 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection

Property: Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection
Address: 34-52 Harrington St | The Rocks, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > The Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#35 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#37 Family Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Sydney lies the Harbour Rocks Hotel, a beautiful yet intimate 59 room boutique hotel, steeped in the history of the famous Rocks precinct.The Harbour Rocks Hotel is the perfect Sydney hotel accommodation choice, a popular & exclusive “home away from home” for discerning travellers and the perfect base from which to explore the city of Sydney.Perfectly located in ‘The Rocks’ and just a short stroll from some of Australia’s best icons the Sydney Harbour Bridge & Opera House, this Sydney boutique hotel accommodation offers a variety of stunning guest rooms to choose from. All to suit the needs of both the professional business and experienced leisure traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, ACCOR, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Rocks Sydney
Hotel Harbour Rocks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing