We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Harbour rocks hotel is great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection
Ranked #52 of 182 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 7, 2013

My wife and I stayed here recently and liked it so much we have come back for another break. Great location can be a bit noisy but thats the location. Can't praise the stay enough. Use public transport to get there as the parking in this local area is expensive. We would recommend this hotel to any one looking for some atmosphere in a hotel to stay at in a historic part of Sydney. Everything you want to visit around the quay is with in walking distance. Take a walk across the harbour brisge and a walk around the botanical gardens.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greg N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,310)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,040 - 1,046 of 1,311 reviews

Reviewed May 2, 2013

Location is fantastic - lovely atmosphere at night. Not many reasonably priced restaurants but plenty of pubs if your after a good, cheap feed!
Disappointed with our room though. It was very clean and new - but we were on the ground floor facing the street and heard cars and people walking past all night long. Also, there was a constant beeping noise.
The lighting in the room was terrible - middle of the day we had to have the room lights on because the window was small. And the lighting in the bathroom was very poor.
I would consider staying again but only if we had a better room.
On a positive note, the inhouse resturant was lovely!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Shelly34_1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelJames7, Manager at Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at Harbour Rocks Hotel. I am disappointed to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations.

At Accor Hotels, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. Double glazing of windows near the street is our priority to reduce any impact on customer comfort. Please do not hesitate to let us know at any time, should a room not be to your liking and we will do our utmost to rectify the situation immediately.

I hope that you will accept our apology and allow us the opportunity to show you this level of service is not indicative of the usual high standard at our hotel.

Regards
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Had a 2 night stay at this hotel, location is ideal, but watch out for very strange Samsung TVs in the rooms which take forever to bring up the picture. But the most mind boggling thing is their breakfast "deal" of $20 which they will charge the entire amount on checking in, with no change of mind option - I was rudely told - No refunds, even for future dates that have not taken place.

Oh, and the inroom air conditioning control is for feeling good, the temperature is the same no matter what you set. My bathroom has a sewagey smell all the time, the air extractor does not appear to run.

Room Tip: There is no elevator, so watch out if stairs are a problem
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PerthVince_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivada P, Manager at Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Dear Mr PerthVince_K

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at Harbour Rocks Hotel. I am disappointed to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations.

At Accor Hotels, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us.

Please be assured that I have passed on this information to our Housekeeping Manager and Maintenance Manager, who have both inpsected the plumbing in your room to ensure it is rectified immediately. I apologise for the inconvenience this caused.

Our breakfast special on check for $20 is extremely popular. The normal full buffet breakfast price is $35 however on check in we offer the great special of $20, however in order to gain the discount there are conditions such as they are non refundable. They can be purchased for any number of days during a stay and operate just like an advance purchase deal you find online these days. I apologise that this was not communicated clearly to you.

Our air conditioners have a cooling and heating option. During autumn and winter they are set to heat. Therefore any change of temperature will still heat. Should one wish to cool the room then the cooling option needs to be selected first and then the temperature altered. Please feel free to contact us at any time during a visit and we will be happy to assist.

I hope that you will accept our apology and allow us the opportunity to show you this level of service is not indicative of the usual high standard at our hotel.

I thank you for your feedback and assisting us in improving the services we offer all of our valuable guests.

Regards

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic historic building and location. However, owing to the fact that it is a historic building, the single-glazed windows meant that it was a bit noisy in the room. Nevertheless, this was made up for by the location and helpful staff. Only negative was the breakfast - probably the worst coffee I have had - unflavoured dishwater would be putting things mildly.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

This hotel was lovely, quaint and right in the middle of an exciting area which was vibrant and alive! The management were very helpful in acommodating my very elderly parents by putting them in a room that required the least amount of climbing stairs. We were thrilled to be able to check in early as we had just disembarked from a cruise ship amd didn't want to have to lug our luggage around. The rooms were spacious and luxurious.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank macgregor57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights in April.
Positives of our stay: great location, good a la carte breakfast and dinner menu and comfortable beds.

Negatives of our stay: when we arrived we were given a room over looking the courtyard on the ground floor, which was a good size and had a good sized bathroom however the happy hour meant that there was lack of privacy and noise issues right outside the room (curtains and blinds had to be drawn the entire time for privacy), if you're not bothered by this then overall it is a nice room but we asked to be moved as it felt a little "open". We looked at two further rooms but the bathrooms were tiny, barely enough room to sit on the toilet. The rooms are comfortable but just on the small side - especially the bathrooms. They offered us the king room but the bathroom was the same size so didn't seem worth paying more. The service was ok, but they didn't really seemed that bothered that we were not happy with our room and did not come back to us on the Sunday as planned - I would expect more from a 5 star hotel .

The service in this hotel is friendly but I think they were a little understaffed at reception at times.

Great location but I wouldn't stay here again, I think there are lots of other options close to harbour rocks (not in harbour rocks though!) that can offer more space and better service.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liviburden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivada P, Manager at Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Dear Liviburden,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Harbour Rocks Hotel and for the constructive feedback you conveyed, regarding the lapses in service you experienced during your stay with us.

We value all feedback from our guests and appreciate the time that you have taken to inform us of the issues you experienced. At Harbour Rocks Hotel we pride ourselves on our excellent facilities and customer service, which in this instance were lacking and I sincerely apologise.

Please be assured that I have passed on this information to our Front Office Managers, who are using this as an example to the team to ensure that a similar situation does not recur. Due to the Heritage nature of the building, were we not approved to move any walls and therefore some rooms have limited bathroom space for which I apologise. We certainly do have rooms with larger bathrooms and I am disappointed that these were not offered to you as an option.

I apologise once again and I am hopeful we may welcome you back to Harbour Rocks Hotel in the future in order to show you that this level of service is not indicative of our usual high standards.

Regards
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful Hotel located in a very convenient location. Only minutes walk from the opera house and plenty of bars, cafes and restaurants right outside the doorstep. Also circular quay ferry/bus/train station is right nearby so very easy to get to any where in the city you need to. Fri/sat/sun markets also only 50m away which was lovely. Lots of food stalls and unique designers. Only downside was the street noise coming straight through the windows. Perhaps a room on a higher level towards the back of the hotel would be better. Also make sure you double check the staff have correctly booked your shuttle to the airport as we were waiting around only to be told 20minutes later that they had incorrectly booked it. Then had to pay for a taxi instead.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Birdy789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
#45 of 182 in Sydney
2,506 reviews
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#26 of 182 in Sydney
1,348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection

Address: 34-52 Harrington St | The Rocks, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > The Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#48 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $183 - $425 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Sydney lies the Harbour Rocks Hotel, a beautiful yet intimate 59 room boutique hotel, steeped in the history of the famous Rocks precinct.The Harbour Rocks Hotel is the perfect Sydney hotel accommodation choice, a popular & exclusive “home away from home” for discerning travellers and the perfect base from which to explore the city of Sydney.Perfectly located in ‘The Rocks’ and just a short stroll from some of Australia’s best icons the Sydney Harbour Bridge & Opera House, this Sydney boutique hotel accommodation offers a variety of stunning guest rooms to choose from. All to suit the needs of both the professional business and experienced leisure traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Accorhotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Rocks Sydney
Hotel Harbour Rocks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing