We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection
Ranked #40 of 175 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

This is a fabulous hotel, it was recommended to me by friends and I can see why. This is a five star hotel, that makes you feel at home from when you first walk in to when you leave. It is in a brilliant location, full of places to see, eat and drink and shop for all types of items. When you are visiting Sydney this is a great place to stay and do whatever you want.

Room Tip: The room that I had was near the reception and it was very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UKtravelpen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivada P, Manager at Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Uktravelpen

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Harbour Rocks Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    581
    424
    136
    51
    27
See reviews for
138
693
62
175
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gosford, Australia
1 review
Reviewed April 23, 2013

The hotel is very nice , great location, close to Circular Quay railway station so shopping was no worries. There are lots of stairs and no lift so if you cannot manage stairs you would have to ask for a room on the ground floor.Did not take the car so cannot comment on parking. The hotel restaurant was great and the service was excellent. The hotel is very central to the Rocks and not far from the Opera House, lots to do and able to walk to most places. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Lindenis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maroochydore, Australia
1 review
Reviewed April 22, 2013

The breakfast was excellent and well cooked. The one dinner we had was delicious. The staff were delightful, the position was good and taxis constantly outside the hotel made life easy. The fact that it was a walk-up was difficult for one of us, being aged, but ground floor rooms were available ( if only I had known). We will be back when next we are in Sydney if a ground floor room is available.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank happytime_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Really nice hotel and a great fit-out gives it a real modern-heritage feel. I'd stay there again but make sure I wasn't anywhere near the dining area as the banging of doors and rattle of cutlery woke me very early. Wasn't overly impressed with the service at breakfast - maybe that's why he was banging the doors! Would head out next time for this meal.Will ask for a softer pillow next time as well. Was allocated a balcony room but the drawback is it opens onto a general guest area so felt compelled to keep the blinds closed. I'd be thinking an elevated room would better. Very good location and well priced.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank ChookPerth_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Stayed for 1 night at this quaint little hotel before leaving Sydney.

This hotel can be a little hard to find as it is really easy to miss due to the small signage but it is situated in a great location at the rocks area.

I arrived early and the room was not ready so dropped off my bag and went wandering around the area. There was a small market next block with tons of freshly cooked/baked/grilled food for those early risers.

The location is great for exploring the rocks area and it is easy to explore George Street from there too. Easy walk to Darling Harbour and Opera House / Botanic Gardens.

Walking around, there are tons of small shops & quaint cafes to stop for a cuppa at any time.

Checked in after 3pm & my first surprise was that I was offered the 3rd floor (highest floor) though I was using Accor free night. Feels great not to be discriminated!

Second surprise, there is no lift available in this boutique hotel. If your knees are wonky or if steps are just not your thing, better request for a ground floor unit.

Third surprise, the hotel is so small that the registration & reception and bar is the same area. Quaint, charming and totally unexpected.

The room is small but extremely well thought & layed out. I love that they kept the original brickwork and windows of this extremely well preserved building.

Room was extremely clean and smelt fresh. The AC was working perfectly & the shower is clean and totally grime free. Plenty of hot water when needed. Towels smelt clean & fresh too.

The bed was great and I think it can easily match Westin's beds.

Hotel reception was great when I needed to book airport transfer & did it immediately besides helping with my bags both on the way in & out.

Do give this hotel a shot if you are into boutique hotels as it has enough character to hold its own but modernized enough to suit the needs of the current travellers.

Will definitely go for another stay when I am in Sydney again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 3rd floor offer the best view :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elizchua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

My sister and I were looking for somewhere to stay for one night, close to the bridge climb. We decided on this hotel. We were not dissappointed the service was terrific. We arrived early in Sydney from Melbourne, to early to check in to our room but the hotel staff were only to happy for us to arrive at 10am sort out our paperwork and leave our bags so that we could go and climb the bridge. When we returned to the hotel our bags were already in our room waiting. The room was fantastic. Good size with two King single beds and everything you could need. This hotel was comfortable, cosy and had a really good friendly atmosphere about it. It is located right in the heart of the Rocks area and is only a very short walk to Circular Quay, so we only had to catch a train direct from the Airport to Circular Quay station and walk 5min to hotel. The next day we were not flying out of Sydney until late so again the hotel staff were only to pleased and helpful and kept our bags after we checked out until we were ready to pick them up. The next time I visit Sydney for a much longer break I will definately be staying here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heybails_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Great location, amazing interior design, lovely staff! My boyfriend and I have stayed in this boutique hotel for my 26th birthday and it was very special. We really enjoyed our stay I would recommend it to anyone. Our room was quiet small but it didn't really matter, the bed was extremely comfortable and I think I had the best sleep ever. The hotel is very well designed and clean.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
#41 of 175 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,310 reviews
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#19 of 175 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,261 reviews
The Rocks
The Russell Hotel
The Russell Hotel
#37 of 175 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection

Property: Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection
Address: 34-52 Harrington St | The Rocks, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > The Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#37 Family Hotel in Sydney
#39 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Sydney lies the Harbour Rocks Hotel, a beautiful yet intimate 59 room boutique hotel, steeped in the history of the famous Rocks precinct.The Harbour Rocks Hotel is the perfect Sydney hotel accommodation choice, a popular & exclusive “home away from home” for discerning travellers and the perfect base from which to explore the city of Sydney.Perfectly located in ‘The Rocks’ and just a short stroll from some of Australia’s best icons the Sydney Harbour Bridge & Opera House, this Sydney boutique hotel accommodation offers a variety of stunning guest rooms to choose from. All to suit the needs of both the professional business and experienced leisure traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Rocks Sydney
Hotel Harbour Rocks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing