We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Night at the Rocks”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection
Ranked #40 of 175 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Sunshine Coast Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A Night at the Rocks”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

What a wonderful boutique hotel which was originally Sydney's first Hospital and built with convict labour. The rooms are on the small side but have a comfortable bed and a good sized bathroom. The rooms are airconditioned but also have the old fashion push up windows and some have windows that open out. All keeping with the heritage listing of the hotel.The walls are the original brickwork and the ceilings are the original woodwork. You are no more than a 10 minute stroll to Circular Quay and the Opera House and on a weekend a 3 minute walk to the Rocks Markets. The staff were superb. Alan (who was on reception) could not do enough to make our stay special and hot on his heels was Sebastian (the porter and bar assistant) who carried on the "Can do" approach and made us feel very welcome. We had breakfast at the restaurant the following morning and was served by Cassandra who also continued on the "Can do" approach and made the service enjoyable and nothing was a problem. Well Done HRH

Room Tip: We were originally given Room 106. Stay away from this room as it is above the restaurant and Fri,Sa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FJB56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    581
    424
    136
    51
    27
See reviews for
138
693
62
175
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

I won't stay again. We paid $960 for three nights in a superior room. The bathroom is tiny (broom cupboard tiny), the staff are easily flustered and bumbling, the reception/bar/living room area is crowded, the wifi signal didn't extend to our room (218), some laundry was lost and we had to keep asking the staff to find it -- it was found 24 hours later in a store room instead of being returned to our room.
The room was stuffy as well. Previous complaints about street noise had prompted the hotel to recently double-glaze the windows. But now you can't open the windows. The room at least was quiet and, overall, was comfortable -- except for that bathroom.
Nonetheless, my impression is far too many rooms have been squeezed into this hotel, making it feel cramped, overpriced and poorly designed. It doesn't appear to have retained much of the original hertitage charm either. The only good thing is the location, which is brilliant.
The staff, while friendly, are bumbling.
Two examples: While having a drink in the bar around 9.30 pm, another guest wanted to order a meal.
But the chef had just left, was the reply from the bar/reception staff member, who added that only the room-service menu was available.
"What's on that menu?" the guest asks. The staff member's reply: "Basically anything I can put into a microwave." The guest naturally declined and said she'd wait for breakfast.
Later on, another guest asks for a latte. But the bar had run out of milk.
If you want to see a far superior example of a small heritage hotel in central Sydney, visit The Establishment Hotel. Beautiful reception, beautiful rooms, professional staff.

Room Tip: Avoid ground floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidfogarty1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivada P, Manager at Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear davidfogarty1

Thank you for taking my telephone call to discuss the issues you have mentioned.

The level of service you experienced at our property was certainly not indicative of our usual high standards, and I am glad that you have accepted our offer to return to the property in the future in order allow us to prove that to you.

I apologise once again and look forward to meeting you in person.

Regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We recently stayed at this fantastic Sydney hotel, the place is highly recommended for a romantic get away in Sydney. The location is central to everything and right in the historic Rocks district, which is the oldest part of Sydney. All in all the hotel is highly recommended to all.

Room Tip: No elevators, so a lower floor is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidoBarr-Smithy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Right in the heart of the Rocks with only a short stroll down to the Quay. Staff very welcoming. Pleasant decor. Refurbished heritage listed property built in 1800s as a hospital. Room was on the small side. Bathroom tiny. Bathrobes & slippers that we didn't expect. Location is its strong point.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sydneygal5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We visit Sydney quite a bit and found this hotel met everything we needed. Cetral position in the Rocks and if you make it a Saturday or Sunday you are right on the corner of the market, with walking distance to Central Quay and the oldest pub in Sydney( even with me in a moonboot! ). The staff were welcoming, young and efficent espceially Mark with his lovely English accent. A relaxing bar which you can walk into from the Street and a good choice of bubbles. A lovely room with views of the cruise ships and Bridge - modern decor.
We had a thoroughly lovely time.

Room Tip: They dont make up the rooms in the morning and the bar wasnt restocked fully.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OrkneygirlOratia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 14, 2013

close to Circular Quay, classic style room and design.
only unconvinient thing is parking.
Can only stop my car for 5 minutes in fron of th hotel.

lots of things to see and visit in the Rocks.
Will recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 11, 2013

There is NO lift in this hotel and this is not made clear at the time of booking.
My first room was very small and next to the luggage lift which went day and night and was very noisy.
I asked to be moved and went to a larger room but the window did not close so I had street noise all night. I would not stay here again.
That said the staff were fabulous and very helpful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank ILynch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
#41 of 175 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,309 reviews
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#19 of 175 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,261 reviews
The Rocks
The Russell Hotel
The Russell Hotel
#37 of 175 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection

Property: Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection
Address: 34-52 Harrington St | The Rocks, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > The Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#37 Family Hotel in Sydney
#39 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Sydney lies the Harbour Rocks Hotel, a beautiful yet intimate 59 room boutique hotel, steeped in the history of the famous Rocks precinct.The Harbour Rocks Hotel is the perfect Sydney hotel accommodation choice, a popular & exclusive “home away from home” for discerning travellers and the perfect base from which to explore the city of Sydney.Perfectly located in ‘The Rocks’ and just a short stroll from some of Australia’s best icons the Sydney Harbour Bridge & Opera House, this Sydney boutique hotel accommodation offers a variety of stunning guest rooms to choose from. All to suit the needs of both the professional business and experienced leisure traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, ACCOR, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Rocks Sydney
Hotel Harbour Rocks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing