We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Harbour Rocks Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection
Ranked #47 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 11, 2012

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan J
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,278)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,108 - 1,114 of 1,278 reviews

Reviewed December 11, 2012

Harbour Rocks Hotel provides a great location to explore Sydney, The Rocks and close to ferry terminal at Circular Quay.
The rooms are spacious and clean, the hotel can be noisy at night and lacks good public facilties.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Stayed a Sunday night here, and this is a great base to work from if you're exploring The Rocks area. It's right next to the street where the weekend markets are held and all of the history of this area - ideal for Harbour Bridge sightseeing, also exploring Circular Quay and neighboring coves.

Our room was at the back of the hotel on the ground floor at street level - it was small but very clean and comfortable - nice big windows with good blind for blocking out the early morning sunlight. Bathroom was not huge, but modern with good shower - no bath.

We were a but worried when we checked in because our room (as a result of the sloping ground) was over a cafe with a singer, however it was quiet when we got back after dinner.

Check in was a breeze, as was the very efficient checkout. Staff were friendly and welcoming.

The building was built about 150 years ago so of course does not have its own parking - that's across the road in a commercial car park - pay the hotel $35 a day for this.

Didn't try the restaurant for dinner but had breakfast - good spread of cereals, fruit, meats and cheeses for the continental and about a dozen choices for hot breakfast. They seem to have the occasional breakfast special - ours was $20pp, when we checked out the board said $25pp.

Well worth it if you're wanting somewhere near the harbour.

Room Tip: rooms at the front may be noisier
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kjbMirani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

It took a good 10 minutes to check out with nobody else in the cue and generally unhelpful staff (until the Duty Manager took over). In the end, the preference was to make coffee instead of address the guest's issues. Not at all what i expect from an Accor group property.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LTS168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moods59
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

I had a great stay here. We went down to Sydney for the weekend to go to a concert and decided to stay in the rocks. The hotel is very nice with a great feel.
I have to thank the staff who were lovely to my group. The assistant manager was really helpful with our room and during our stay.

We did have a miner issue with a door knob which the staff were over helpful with.

I am looking forward to staying here again.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pixrun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

If you need to stay in The Rocks area, this hotel has the perfect location. The room we stayed in was small, which was ok, but the bathroom was tiny. We stayed for two nights, and our room was not cleaned. We arrived back from a day out at 3pm, bumped into a cleaner who asked if she could clean our room then. We had a baby that needed immediate feeding, so asked if she could return in 30 minutes. The answer was 'no'. Also, no elevators to the second floor, so be warned if you have a pram. The front desk will organise for luggage to be carried up and down for you though. Front desk service was average. They had limited knowledge of where to eat in the area, and of their own guest services. Room was furnished nicely and was clean. As this hotel is so central, you will get a lot of street noise on weekend evenings from pubs and bars in the area. It was very loud.

Room Tip: Ask for a larger room if possible, and a quieter room (ours faced the water)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fecp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
#42 of 179 in Sydney
2,423 reviews
The Rocks
The Russell Hotel
The Russell Hotel
#45 of 179 in Sydney
928 reviews
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#21 of 179 in Sydney
1,316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection

Address: 34-52 Harrington St | The Rocks, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > The Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#37 Family Hotel in Sydney
#45 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $152 - $461 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Sydney lies the Harbour Rocks Hotel, a beautiful yet intimate 59 room boutique hotel, steeped in the history of the famous Rocks precinct.The Harbour Rocks Hotel is the perfect Sydney hotel accommodation choice, a popular & exclusive “home away from home” for discerning travellers and the perfect base from which to explore the city of Sydney.Perfectly located in ‘The Rocks’ and just a short stroll from some of Australia’s best icons the Sydney Harbour Bridge & Opera House, this Sydney boutique hotel accommodation offers a variety of stunning guest rooms to choose from. All to suit the needs of both the professional business and experienced leisure traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, ACCOR, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Rocks Sydney
Hotel Harbour Rocks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing