We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Location, Location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection
Ranked #41 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Wirral
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Location, Location, Location!”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

superb location a few hundred yards from Circular Quay, The Rocks and Opera House, also at the start of George Street and great shopping!

We arrived around 9.30pm after 18 hours travelling to be told we had a few minutes to order dinner as the restaurant was closing, no offer of an extention, bar meal or room service, so we walked to Circular Quay and found Quay extra, open 24 hours with a great fish & chips washed down with a superb Chardoney.

our room was on the ground floor, small and dark, actally quite opressive and ok for 2 nights but would drive you mad after much longer. The bathroom was cavelike and very small and the wardrobe was so small we left our clothes in our suitecases as there was no room.

The Wi Fi didnt work in our room due to in being "boutique and a conversion" a real shame actually, i had my laptop so was able to use the cable connection but IPads? no chance. Breakfast was downstairs and continental buffet, ok choice and fine, you can pay extra for a cooked breakfast, starting at $5 each. the small bar is located in reception and is a good place to enjoy a drink before dinner, the restaurant offers a dinner menu but the tables are tiny and the room a bit dark, we didnt bother and found a fabulous chines on the quay.

The hotel is good value and brilliantly located, i think the boutique thing is maybe an aquired taste but the staff were fantastic and very attentive, really couldnt fault them. this is a perfect place for a short stay close to ll the atractions and shopping.

Overall a great hotel, we would stay again but only for a few days

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T4DJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    590
    431
    138
    51
    27
See reviews for
139
704
62
177
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (314)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dundee
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

That's what it's all about for this hotel, Rooms are rather small (it's a conversion from an old hospital, I think), and none really has a great view, but the location is fantastic - just a couple of blocks from Circular Harbour with all its ferry connections, and of course a view to the Opera House which is about a 15 min walk away. Very friendly staff and a very pleasant bar area. Good food, too.

Room Tip: Specify bath if you want one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DundeeDogboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

You just want an CBD place to rest your head? Inner city location to discover the delights of Sydney at a reasonable price? Not fussy about taking the stairs or occasional noise from the pub patrons downstairs? This is the spot and as a boutique hotel it serves its purpose very well with the added appeal of historical importance in the famous Rocks location... a previous colonial hospital no less. It's casual, not pretentious and that's really all you need if you are not looking for high end service. We loved the generous and delicious cooked to order breakfast as well as the attentive and friendly staff. The room was standard ,nothing special but very clean and comfortable. Just remember to ask for drop off at the front door and not in George street below where juggling luggage over cobblestones and stairs will be difficult.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaxieSpaniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Had a quick trip to visit Sydney Biennale - so location was spot-on - just a quick walk to the MCA & ferries to Cockatoo Island. We had 3 of us so were in large suite - ample room with good views over Circular Quay. Some concern about the supposed noise from other reviews, but no drama - bit of noise on Sat night - but we were in the middle of The Rocks, after all.
Breakfast in restaurant was fine. Being a converted old hospital - a few shortcomings (lift, windows etc ) but the ambience cancelled it out. Staff were helpful - all good.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dannoAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

This hotel is in an excellent location. Easy walk to the ferries, city centre, harbour bridge and more. There are many good bars and restaurants nearby and the markets on the weekend are just down the road.
The hotel rooms are fairly spacious and clean, but are rather noisy at night. The nightly happy hour is a great way to unwind and the outside lounge area is pleasant. We did however find the service to be slightly lacking. We had to ask a couple of times about our laundry, taxi and a couple of other requests. We also didn't get our champagne and strawberries upon arrival, which we pre-ordered. As it was a rainy week we wanted to use to the gym however, the gym is very old. The bike was old and noisy, and the treadmill was out of order which was disappointing. There is also no free WIFI and after we paid the $40 to connect, it only lasted a couple of days.
We enjoyed our time in the Rocks and love staying in boutique hotels, but I'm not sure we would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BTraynor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

The hotel looks different from a standard hotel and location is excellent. But having to pay for WIFI with bad reception is not acceptable anymore nowadays. There is a gym, but outdated and running machine was broken. Very small bathroom.
No elevator! Noisy on the street side in the evening with partying public outside and traffic passing by. Outside terrace was closed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HongKongTraveller3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
#45 of 179 in Sydney
2,363 reviews
The Rocks
The Russell Hotel
The Russell Hotel
#39 of 179 in Sydney
908 reviews
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#20 of 179 in Sydney
1,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection

Property: Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection
Address: 34-52 Harrington St | The Rocks, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > The Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#37 Family Hotel in Sydney
#40 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Sydney lies the Harbour Rocks Hotel, a beautiful yet intimate 59 room boutique hotel, steeped in the history of the famous Rocks precinct.The Harbour Rocks Hotel is the perfect Sydney hotel accommodation choice, a popular & exclusive “home away from home” for discerning travellers and the perfect base from which to explore the city of Sydney.Perfectly located in ‘The Rocks’ and just a short stroll from some of Australia’s best icons the Sydney Harbour Bridge & Opera House, this Sydney boutique hotel accommodation offers a variety of stunning guest rooms to choose from. All to suit the needs of both the professional business and experienced leisure traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Rocks Sydney
Hotel Harbour Rocks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing