We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection
Nearby Hotels
Hilton Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
$145
$137
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
$182
$139
Radisson Blu
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$234
$221
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$213
$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$197
$176
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$244
$159
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$158
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
$193
$128
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Grace Hotel Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
$144
$126
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$180
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,353)
Filter reviews
1,353 results
Traveler rating
633
477
156
56
31
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
633
477
156
56
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsno liftboutique hotelopera housescarlett restaurantgreat locationa ground floor roomlovely boutiquesmall hotelheritage buildingcruise shipnight managerclose to circular quaybotanical gardensan easy walkgeorge streetrockshrh
Filter
Updating list...
1,200 - 1,205 of 1,353 reviews
Reviewed October 27, 2012

This hotel is in an excellent location. Easy walk to the ferries, city centre, harbour bridge and more. There are many good bars and restaurants nearby and the markets on the weekend are just down the road.
The hotel rooms are fairly spacious and clean, but are rather noisy at night. The nightly happy hour is a great way to unwind and the outside lounge area is pleasant. We did however find the service to be slightly lacking. We had to ask a couple of times about our laundry, taxi and a couple of other requests. We also didn't get our champagne and strawberries upon arrival, which we pre-ordered. As it was a rainy week we wanted to use to the gym however, the gym is very old. The bike was old and noisy, and the treadmill was out of order which was disappointing. There is also no free WIFI and after we paid the $40 to connect, it only lasted a couple of days.
We enjoyed our time in the Rocks and love staying in boutique hotels, but I'm not sure we would stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BTraynor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

The hotel looks different from a standard hotel and location is excellent. But having to pay for WIFI with bad reception is not acceptable anymore nowadays. There is a gym, but outdated and running machine was broken. Very small bathroom.
No elevator! Noisy on the street side in the evening with partying public outside and traffic passing by. Outside terrace was closed.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HongKongTraveller3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

This is one of those reviews that you think twice about posting! Why? Because the ugly truth is - i'm not sure i wantto share it! I consider this little boutique hotel a real find. Sydney accomodation is expensive unless you want to feel like a backpaker - and i personally am beyond that. This hotel is in a perfect location - walk out the door and find eateries and bars. Its a short walk to circular quay and to the shopping precinct. The stff are competent and friendly . This is a 4 star boutique hotel so dont expect 5 star treatment - but if you enjoy the boutique experience this is where you will find it. Its funky and homely and we will make it a regular place to stay in when we need to b in sydney. One thing to note - there are quite a few stairs throughout the hotel and no elevator other than for luggage - so if u dont do stairs then ask for a ground floor room

Room Tip: We found the standard room a little too small - just enough room for the bed and desk - so if your budget allows go for a bigger room and if u dont like stairs ask for a room on the ground level.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank russkat22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

newly branded mcgallery this boutique hotel is in an extremely good location, a boutique style of residence hotel with just 59 quirky rooms. our room was compact but well equipped and extremely comfortable. the bar and library area create a lounge style effect in amongst the reception which can be disconcerting for those used to the traditional hotel style of welcome. Whilst the team were a little laid back in greeting and explanation of the facilities i am sure that this will be addressed in the near future with the integration into the accor group. the hospitality and service provided to ourselves was very high, the assistance with late checkout, use of the hospitality showers and bar and lounge areas. i will return again to this hotel and i will recommend it to my clients, especially those staying for pre and post cruise holidays

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travel Options United Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Stayed here with my 9 yr old daughter - found it all good and particularly great location.
Just a short walk and you were under the harbour bridge/great local cafes, easy walk to train station -
I thought good value for money

Room Tip: Handy 7/11 type shop across the road for milk/coffee extra snacks etc.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThaiPrivateEye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews