We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely wonderful!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Ranked #34 of 182 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 22, 2006

My mother and I (her adult daughter) recently spent 4 nights at the Four Seasons. Before arriving, we had some qualms about staying in such a large, commercial hotel because we were concerned that it wouldn't be as personable as smaller hotels or that it wouldn't provide a "local" experience. We were, however, more than pleasantly surprised upon our arrival. The staff were very friendly and low key, while also incredibly efficient. We had many requests during our 4-night stay, and each request was met quickly and with a smile.

It was particularly helpful that our room was ready more than 3 hours before the scheduled check-in, and we were upgraded to a full harbour-view room. The views of the opera house, harbour and harbour bridge couldn't be beat.

The restaurant at the hotel was excellent with a very knowledgeable staff (as was room service). The pool area and spa were also wonderful treats at the end of a long day. The location was ideal, within a 5-minute walk of the rocks, the ferries and shopping (and a 10-minute walk of the opera house). It was an ideal "home" during our trip to Sydney.

In sum, the hotel was truly focused on hospitality--I'm not sure I've ever stayed somewhere that was run so well at every level (check-in, housekeeping, room service, the spa, the restaurant, arranging reservations and activities in Sydney, etc.). The only downside (if I must give one) is that the rooms are a bit smaller than the other hotels in which I've stayed in Sydney (the Park Hyatt and the Sir Stamford). But the large picture window overlooking the harbour and the excellent service more than made up for the room size (as a side note, I would recommend booking the full harbour view instead of the city view in the event upgrades aren't available). When we go back to Syndey, this will be our preferred accomodation.

Stayed: November 2006
4  Thank nycbc98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (6,213)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,710 - 5,716 of 6,213 reviews

Reviewed December 12, 2006

this is the third four seasons hotel we have had the pleasure of staying in, and whilst not terrible, it had the least WOW factor, compared to the hotels in Bangkok and Singapore. We stayed in the deluxe, king, city view room The lobby, is the least impressive Four Seasons lobby, it does look aged and definately the WOW factor is not there I would say that the location is very good
The room we had was small to say the least. The bathrooms were puny
The rooms did have a damp smell to them and lacked that freshness feeling
Break fast is not worth the 40 $ bill you pay, as the choice is limited
Service was good, but your expect that with this chain, as that is their main sell
We would not stay here again, for the reasons mentioned above and also there are better value choices elsewhere without the Four Seaons name premium attached

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank huxtable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2006

We often stay at the Four Seasons (when the price is right) ... but this location really didn't live up to the standards of the hotel's reputation.

The room smelled somewhat damp & moldy. The room was very small and overall unimpressive.

This is the only Four Seasons (so far) that has not lived up to the name ... it feels like a 're-labeled hotel' ... The only good things about the hotel were location and room views. The view came at a price though. This leaves the only benefit to its location.

So ... if you can find a location close to the attractions you are interested in ... save the money ...

Be sure to try to see a show at the Opera House ... it is a good experience ... and one of the few things to do in Sydney ... besides visiting the Rocks area ... and of course seeing Aboriginal Buskers and the Bridge Climb ...

As an insider tip ... walk all the way across the bridge and then underneath for great photo ops of the city ... we were the only people (tourists) over there ... it was a great peaceful escape ...

Stayed: February 2006
3  Thank Beyond_Boston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2006

My wife and I stayed here in November during our honeymoon and it ranks as one of the best hotels we've ever stayed at. If you stay here, it's definitely worth paying the extra money for the full harbor view room...and when I say full harbor, I mean completely unobstructed view of the opera house, bridge and the Rocks area from one of the upper floors. Definitely not the same as other rooms, which is why it's worth the extra money for this room.
The room was incredible and service was impeccable. The pool wasn't anything special, but that's not the main reason for our choices in hotels. Location and the quality of the hotel room are the most important, and that is what this hotel excels at.
The food was above average, but not incedible (our only experience was with room service). Of course that doesn't matter that much when you have over 50 restaurants within easy walking distance.
We had struggled between here and the Hyatt and are so glad we chose this. It's the same money for the full harbor suite here as compared to the regular small room at the Hyatt, and the view is much better. The Hyatt is much lower and only offers views of either the opera house or the bridge, but not both.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Midlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2006

Fantastic location, excellent staff, modern clean rooms and an outdoor pool. Staff were all friendly and helpful, on reception, serving breakfast and concierge. No, it isn't cheap but worth it I think.

  • Stayed: December 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank AD72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2006

My wife and I are staying at this hotel for four night. We travel a ton and have stayed at various level of hotels from 4 star to Exclusive. I dont care how this hotel is rated by various magazines. I would never stay here. It is dirty and the service is lacking. The views are great if you can see thru the windows. You may think you can relax, however the hotel is on a major highway. The pool is a truck length away from the highway. The photos on the Four Seasons web site do not match what you get. I would save the money and stay else where.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank rambling_man_fla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2006

My family and I normally stay in upscale hotels when we travel, but we have pretty reasonable expectations. In other words, one wrong thing here and there will not bother us. That being said, this is THE worst hotel I have ever stayed at ...by far! I don't even know where to begin...employees were extremely rude and disrespectful during our check-in. We had arranged for early check-in over the phone, yet they claimed no such arrangement was made and refused to give us a room. We had a really tired little one with us, which made all this even worse. Anyhow,a few points, to keep it brief:

* hotel is pretty run down: public restrooms were missing locks, doors were scraped, soap dispensers broken; rooms are small and completely outdated, air quality not very good

* staff is non-responsive and you have to ask multiple times for whatever you need

* hotel food is HORRENDOUS. we are by notmeans picky eater but i can honestly say that i have never ever had food this bad...anywhere. i think i would rather walk into KFC and have one of their chicken meals than eat at 4Season's Kable again...and I am a vegiterian! You truly know the food is inedible when even steamed rice tastes bad.

Anyhow, this is our first trip to Sydney so I don't know what other hotels in the city are like, but this one should not be given more than 1 star!

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank California_Family_3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#37 of 182 in Sydney
6,725 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#32 of 182 in Sydney
4,635 reviews
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#23 of 182 in Sydney
1,347 reviews
Central Business District
Hilton Sydney
Hilton Sydney
#41 of 182 in Sydney
4,704 reviews
Park Hyatt Sydney
#4 of 182 in Sydney
2,651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hotel Sydney

Address: 199 George Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > The Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Sydney
#12 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#16 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#21 Family Hotel in Sydney
#33 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $181 - $491 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Hotel Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 531
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunningly situated overlooking Sydney Harbour in the historic Rocks district, a short walk from the city's shopping and business centres, Four Seasons is vibrant and elegant, with dramatic harbourfront views and a luxurious day spa featuring exclusive skincare and aromatherapy treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Four Seasons Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Hotel Sydney
Four Seasons Sydney
Sydney Four Seasons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing