We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb location and staff. Room needed a little refurb”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Ranked #32 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 24, 2009

My wife and I had booked an Opera View junior suite for four nights directly through the Four Seasons site, it seems these are now classified as Premier rooms. Looking at their site it seemed the best bet at the standard rooms were a tiny 280 square feet.

Location:
The location of the hotel is absolutely fantastic, just across from Circular Quay a two minute walk into the Rocks and about five round to the Sydney Opera House.

Ambience:
Not quite the usual Four Seasons, nice entrance and friendly welcome. The public areas of the hotel did feel a bit ordinary, luxury hotels often stand out not only from their public and private areas but this just didn’t have the wow factor.

Room:
Plenty spacious with nice view of the Opera House (as we had a very high floor) from the window in the living area. Good storage space for cases with desk and large bathroom too. My only disappointment with it was the fact the large bathroom had no windows which with a view of the Sydney skyline would have been fantastic, one way glass of course! Also our room had old style Nokia CRT televisions, even mid range hotels have flat screen HDTVs now so this was a bit of a surprise. It seems more recent reviews note that rooms have these. The room did feel a bit tired, the desks had been bumped a few times too many and the carpet looked a little worn in places. Otherwise, very comfortable bed as usual with L’Occitane toiletries (love them!)

Facilities:
To be honest we really didn’t take advantage of much of the hotel facilities favouring restaurants in the city.We did see the pool round the back of the hotel which while quite nice did have the hum of the Cahill Expressway running just above it!

Service:
Usual Four Seasons excellence! We used the concierge to score an excellent table at Aqua down beside the Opera House (a really fantastic meal) which we were unable otherwise to get. Staff were very friendly and gracious as has become expected at stays at Four Seasons everywhere. Even the young kid hailing the cab outside was great! Also had a few items dry cleaned and was very impressed with the speed there too. Other nice little things like the fact a pair of rather tatty shoes I left on the floor in the room were polished and left beside the bed.

Summary:
The only disappointment was the décor and furnishings of the room. Flat screen HDTVs should be standard at any high end hotel and the room was in need of a refresh. Other than that we can’t complain, the location is absolutely fantastic. We didn’t fork over the extra cash for a harbor view room, might do that next time, I bet the view from the high floors is spectacular. Definitely consider getting anything above the standard rooms though.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OP2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,989)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,394 - 5,400 of 5,997 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2009

We had an interconnecting room for $440 a night parking was $40 a day breakfast at Executive Club and drinks snacks in afternoon $120 approx per day. Breakfast was amazing anything you could possibly want and more all were extremely fresh and Shane the chef on call to make eggs any way you like. Jane the host upstairs knows you name before you even meet her. How is that? Our rooms overlooked the Opera House - Beautiful - Beds were huge - and two large lcd tvs with fabulous furnishings. The kids couldn't believe this place and neither could I. A great place to stay, near the Rocks, Circular Quay and all Ferries Trains, good location on George Street.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WanttobeNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2009

Situated close to the Harbour bridge and Opera House this hotel is a genuine 5 star with prices to match.
Rooms are in the traditional dark wood style, smallish but very comfortable, The bathrooms are lovely and they've thought of all the little things.
Service can't be faulted.
Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrDBP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2009

I regularly travel to Sydney for work, often running seminars and courses at Cliftons on George Street, so the Four Seasons is very convenient.

The Four Seasons has so many things going for it:

a) location --> right next to Circular Key and the Rocks, with all of Sydney's attractions in walking distance. Also great to catch the train from the airport, its a 50 meter walk from station to hotel door for less than $15.

b) noise --> the hotel rooms are free of air conditioner, fridge, traffic, plumbing noise.

c) staff --> the staff are TRULY can-do and just want to serve you. If you see a lapse in service it is not due to a lapse or shortage of staff, more likely because they are over-servicing some other client and will be with you shortly. I love it.

d) food --> the food is over-priced (as always for a large hotel) but the quality is very good. Room service is fast and always well delivered.

e) bathrooms --> having a separate bath and shower is fantastic and the bath rooms themselves are clean, modern and the soaps, towels, etc are all excellent quality.

f) Gym --> fantastic gym with lots of modern equipment.

g) staff --> the staff are fantastic, they open the door, offer water to joggers, and the reception staff are so welcoming!!

I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough.

To be clear the rooms are on the small side and the TV channels do not include a movie channel (just sports and news, as usual).
If you don't get a harbour view, the city view is not that inspiring.
These negatives are no match for the over whelming positives.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anthony V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2009

Four Seasons was fabulous. Great staff, comfortable rooms, amazing location. Loved the Sydney get away staying in this amazing hotel, everything was lovely. Great bed and pillow, clean bathroon and Locatane products were beautiful. Stayed for three nights, but would like to move in.

  • Stayed: August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BeachLoverTorquay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2009

I enjoyed a wonderful five day stay at the Four Seasons. It was my first visit to Sydney, and the staff made me feel right at home. Arlando was so friendly in showing my room amenities and providing sightseeing suggestions. Check in was prompt and friendly.

The views of the Opera House and Harbor Bridge were amazing. The hotel's location was perfect, as it's steps from the Circular Quay.

The staff was warm, and not stuffy. On one occassion, I felt a bit out of place sporting my jeans and Ugg boots while riding in the elevator with several staff looking polished and professional in their suits and ties. One staff member suddenly exclaimed, "Oh, how I wish I were wearing my Ugg boots!" The staff is good natured, and they were always available to assist with any needs.

I will definitely return to this lovely hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sdtravelgirlSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2009

My family and I stayed at the Four Seasons Hotel when we went to Sydney, Australia. It is located in Circular Quay and is just a short walk to the shopping centers and restaurants. There are also museums, art galleries and beaches nearby. The location is perfect because it is very easy to visit the other tourist spots of Sydney. It is within walking distance to the buses, trains and ferries. It is a good place to stay in for business travelers because it’s near the business centers. And it is about 20 minutes away from the airport.

Our room was a bit small but comfortable and clean. We were on a higher floor and we had an incredible view of the Sydney Opera House and the Harbour Bridge from our window. The bathroom was also small but clean. Aside from shampoo and soap, this hotel did not have any other toiletries in the bathroom, which was quite strange for a well-known hotel.

The buffet breakfast was good but there was not much food on the table. We had to order from the kitchen.

Service was great. The staff were very helpful and friendly. They were courteous and efficient.

Other amenities like the spa and swimming pool were good.

The Four Seasons Hotel is a bit expensive but we had a nice experience and a pleasant stay at the hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank pnreddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#35 of 179 in Sydney
6,588 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#30 of 179 in Sydney
4,510 reviews
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#23 of 179 in Sydney
1,324 reviews
Park Hyatt Sydney
#4 of 179 in Sydney
2,582 reviews
The Langham, Sydney
#8 of 179 in Sydney
1,862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hotel Sydney

Address: 199 George Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > The Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Sydney
#11 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#16 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#25 Family Hotel in Sydney
#31 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $206 - $637 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Hotel Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 531
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunningly situated overlooking Sydney Harbour in the historic Rocks district, a short walk from the city's shopping and business centres, Four Seasons is vibrant and elegant, with dramatic harbourfront views and a luxurious day spa featuring exclusive skincare and aromatherapy treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Four Seasons Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Hotel Sydney
Four Seasons Sydney
Sydney Four Seasons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing