We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent customer service - lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Ranked #30 of 180 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 29, 2014

Stayed at the four seasons for my friends birthday treat and reservations offered complimentary late checkout at 2pm and send a delicious mud cake and hand written card up courtesy of the GM to wish a happy birthday.

The pool area is lovely and tranquil and I felt like I was on holidays...

There were some issues with check out and double charging but was rectified eventually.

Highly recommended

Room Tip: If it is for a special occasion, ask and you shall receive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brenna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Macklin, Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2014

Dear Brenna P,

Thank you for your review, I'm glad to hear you had a great stay and enjoyed your friend's birthday with us. I'm also pleased that the issues you experienced were easily rectified. We hope we can welcome you back soon for more celebrations.

Kind regards,
David Macklin
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,894)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,443 - 3,449 of 5,894 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2014

Our baby girl turned 2, save the stress of organising a party we decided to spoilt her with a weekend in Sydney.

As soon as we arrived and checked into our room, our daughter was bouncing with joy and called the hotel her home. She loved the king size bed, and she said the pillows were "amazzzzzing!"

Prefect location, nestled in the heart of The Rocks and within walking distance to The Harbour Bridge, Opera House and Circular Quay.

We came back from a concert held at The Big Top Luna Park to pick up our luggage up, as soon as we walked into the foyer our daughter Sage said "I'm hommmmme!!!"

From the moment we checked in and checked out it was faultless. Thankyou for leaving a lasting impression on our daughter. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hutties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Macklin, Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2014

Dear Hutties,

Thank you for your very kind review. I'm so glad you enjoyed your family stay and that we did much to impress your 2 year old daughter. We hope to see you back soon!

Kind regards,
David Macklin
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2014

Stayed here for 7 nights and really enjoyed the Four Seasons Sydney. Its location is one of the best right at the rocks and Circular Quay overlooking this spectacular city. The staff were friendly, efficient and aimed to please. Special mention to the doormen and concierge (Jorge) who always greeted us with a smile and a friendly chat. We were left a little treat every night in our beautiful, well appointed room which we enjoyed. Great business, gym and pool area. The extra touches, location, room and staff made our stay so much more enjoyable. We would love to return here next time we visit Sydney.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Penelope B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Macklin, Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2014

Dear Penelope B,

Thank you for your fantastic feedback on the hotel, and in particular your mention of our Concierge, Jorge. I will be sure to let him know that you appreciated his service. We do hope to welcome you back soon.

Safe travels,
David Macklin
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2014

This hotel is centrally located directly adjacent to Circular Quay, near almost everything we were interested in seeing on our first trip to Sydney, which made it worth the extra money to stay here. The staff were all very helpful, especially those at the Concierge desk. They went out of their way to help us find places to eat, book tickets for us at shows, etc. They really did a great job.

The room itself was nice, very clean, and had a partial view of the Harbor Bridge, which was great. The only thing I would have liked to change about the room is that I would have liked a refrigerator that wasn't full of minibar items - as it was, on the occasions that we had takeaway containers, we had to wedge them in around soda, water bottles, etc. But that's really a small gripe.

We were out in Sydney basically all day every day, so we didn't really try out any of the hotel amenities - pool, restaurant, etc. - so I can't comment on those.

Overall, if you're looking for a nice, centrally located hotel and don't mind paying a bit extra, this place is definitely worth it.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Toa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Macklin, Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2014

Dear Toa T,

Thank you for your extremely kind words about your stay here. I was delighted to read of your experience with our Concierge staff. In the future, we would be happy to accommodate your mini-bar requests, please do let our Housekeeping staff know. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards,
David Macklin
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2014

Stayed there for three nights. Overall a poor experience. The hotel is dated with dull colors all over the property. Quite depressing I have to say. Tiny standard rooms which can be noisy if you are in the lower floors as there are a lot of traffic around . The Food experience is very poor as compared to European standards. Only one real restaurant serving boring food.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FerratLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Macklin, Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2014

Dear FerratLondon,

Thank you for your review. I was disappointed to read that we were not able to provide you with a memorable stay, due to your experience with our rooms and restaurant. I would appreciate any further feedback, should you choose to share it, to my direct email address at david.macklin@fourseasons.com.

For your poor experience, we sincerely apologise. Please do let me know if you choose to return to Four Seasons so we can restore your faith in our hotel.

Kind regards
David Macklin
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2014

Recently stayed at the Sydney, Australia Four Seasons Hotel. Its location is absolutely perfect for both business and leisure purposes - easy walking distance to many fine restaurants, to classy weekend street market, to elegant shops, and most of all -- the boardwalk which leads to the incomparable Sydney Opera House.
No doubt many hotels of similar ilk may net similar results in satisfaction, but NONE can compare to the world-class service of its Concierge Desk in the persons of Jorge and David! NO DETAIL was overlooked by them, and no courtesy missed - they created an unforgettable ambiance and a treasured life-long memory. Yes, the gorgeous flowers and daily small/thoughtful amenities could only put an exclamation point on the 10-day stay!!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SundanceDoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Macklin, Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2014

Dear SundanceDoc,

Thank you for your extremely kind words about your stay with us, especially our Concierges Jorge and David. I'll be sure to pass on your feedback to them. I was glad to hear you had a wonderful stay with us, and hope we can welcome you back again soon.

Safe travels,
David Macklin
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Nothing spectacular, actually a bit ordinary with lots of ordinary guest rooms with pretty ordinary views. Lots of missed opportunities I imagine to profile premium guests for upgrading to their showcase rooms to entice them back. Need to do up access to pool. Overall a pretty ordinary Four Seasons that must struggle to keep up with the competition e.g. the Shangri-La next door where we stayed this time last year.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LGRL100313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Macklin, Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2014

Thank you for your review, and I'm sorry to hear that you did not have a memorable stay with us. On behalf of the hotel, I sincerely apologise. We are always aiming to leave our guests with a great experience of memorable service, and on this occasion, I see we missed the mark. Should you choose to return to Four Seasons Hotel Sydney, please do let us know so we can do our utmost to restore your faith in us.

Warm regards,
David Macklin
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#32 of 180 in Sydney
6,531 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#28 of 180 in Sydney
4,470 reviews
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#20 of 180 in Sydney
1,316 reviews
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hotel Sydney

Address: 199 George Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > The Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#11 Business Hotel in Sydney
#16 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#25 Family Hotel in Sydney
#29 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $227 - $549 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Hotel Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 531
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunningly situated overlooking Sydney Harbour in the historic Rocks district, a short walk from the city's shopping and business centres, Four Seasons is vibrant and elegant, with dramatic harbourfront views and a luxurious day spa featuring exclusive skincare and aromatherapy treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Four Seasons Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Hotel Sydney
Four Seasons Sydney
Sydney Four Seasons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing