We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good value considering the location and view.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Ranked #34 of 181 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 29, 2014 via mobile

The Four Seasons is now at the top of my list of where to stay in Sydney. I took my wife down for a long weekend as a birthday present and the staff went the extra mile to make it special for us. Best location to experience what Sydney has to offer, great staff and fair pricing for the rooms. Oh and the Full Harbour view rooms are the best bang for your buck.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 81ChrisJade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Macklin, Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2014

Dear 81ChrisJade,

I'm glad to hear you had a wonderful stay with us for your wife's birthday. Thank you for your kind words, and we hope to welcome you back for many more celebratory occasions.

Warm regards,
David Macklin
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (6,209)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,832 - 3,838 of 6,209 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 days over Anzac weekend with our 7 month old baby and had the best experience. The hotel is perfectly located within walking distance of Circular Quay and we caught the train from the airport. They looked after all our requests and needs, they provided a cot in the room with baby amenities. The hotel staff were very accommodating and friendly, loved the free Latte in the morning in the foyer! The room was quiet and very spacious. We had a great time and could not fault this hotel. We will be back again.

Stayed: April 2014
Thank Darge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Macklin, Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2014

Dear Darge,

We loved having you and your family stay with us over the Anzac Day long weekend. Thank you for your kind words regarding your stay, and we hope to welcome you back soon for another stay.

Kind regards,
David Macklin
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014

The service at the four seasons sudden is typical of a four seasons - extremely good. Check in/out were seamless and the staff went above and beyond to take care of my needs.

The rooms however are fairly small - the bathroom especially so. Not necessarily what I expected from the four seasons but as I said overall a decent hotel.

The location is tough to beat, minutes from the opera house and bridge, and all the great restaurants of the rocks.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paulix_Troy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Macklin, Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2014

Dear Paulix_Troy,

Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay as a whole, particularly our location and service. We hope to welcome you back soon for another stay.

Safe travels,
David Macklin
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

We stayed in a harbour/opera house view room. The windows were not clean and the decor of the room very dated. Everywhere was "dusty". We did a little survey whilst waiting for our taxi, 2 banana skins were left on a coffee table in the seating are close to the checkin desks. They were there for an hour - surely NOT Four Seasons attitude to litter. Sadly the hotel seemed to be resting on its' laurels.
In saying all of this, the location was really great and the staff were friendly.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank intrepidlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Macklin, Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2014

Dear intrepidLondon,

Thank you for your honest and thoughtful feedback regarding your recent stay with you. I do agree with you that the standards you experienced during your stay were not Four Seasons standard, and for that, I apologise. We are working on these one-off incidents with our Housekeeping team. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed our location and friendly service, and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards
David Macklin
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

A mark of a great hotel is consistency, and four seasons always delivers the absolute best in service. We originally had planned to stay in another town but had a change in plans in the last minutes. we stayed 3 nights in one of their grand view rooms. when made the reservation for myself, my spouse and our son. when we got there the room was ready with the extra bed already in place. these rooms have amazing view of the Sydney Opera House and are in a perfect location.Everything from when we walked in, to when we last was well done and up to what you expect from a great hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Behruz N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Macklin, Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Dear Behruz N,

Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us. We're glad to hear you had an enjoyable stay and enjoyed our views and location. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back soon.

Kind regards
David Macklin
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

The location of this hotel is superb, the Concierge staff could not have been more helpful and the arrival staff (driveway) was just terrific. However, the front desk staff is perfunctory at best. More than one person was barely able to communicate in English (vs Mandarin, which seemed to be the language of choice). Our travel agent booked us at rack rate here, and though we were provided with an upgrade to "full harbor view" on a high floor (32) the front desk agent seemed to do it with reluctance vs graciously. If you don't know, tipping is pretty much not done in Australia, and the only time I felt uncomfortable about not doing it was when the bellman brought our luggage to the room, he was the only person on the entire trip who "hung around" clearly waiting for a tip. Though the view was great, the room itself was surprisingly small, we had to request luggage racks and when I asked for a larger bathrobe, they didn't have one. It's also a big hotel so we had to contend with "the conference crowd" that was there. The breakfast buffet is good, but only if it's included in your room rate - I don't think any breakfast is worth $35+ per head. Other than being the perfect location, and great concierge staff, this property simply does not live up to our expectations of a Four Seasons Hotel.

Room Tip: High floor. Harbor view (Not Harbor/City view)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NYtravelingcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Macklin, Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Dear NYtravelingcouple,

Thank you for your honest and thoughtful feedback following your stay with us. I'm glad you enjoyed our location and the expertise of our concierge staff. I am disappointed to hear that you had some issues with our Front Desk staff. Please be assured that we regularly conduct training sessions for all of our staff which address areas of concern, such as the one you have kindly noted for us in your review.

Should you wish to contact me further about any of the issues you raised, please feel free to email me at david.macklin@fourseasons.com.

Kind regards
David Macklin
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

We took the grand harbour view room with adjoining room for the kids - view was exactly what we wanted (Bridge and opera house). Rooms were immaculate, with all excellent facilities and plenty of space. Room service for the kids was great and housekeeping were very good.
Hotel is perfectly located for easy access to the Rocks area or the bridge or opera house and circular quay for ferries. Equally its a nice walk across the bridge to Lunar park or along to Darling Harbour - all in all with views and location this hotel is perfect for a city stay.
Staff at the hotel all very friendly and helpful, breakfast was good, concierge excellent.
Overall - an excellent stay and would not hesitate to stay again.

Room Tip: Take the harbour view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cc_KL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Macklin, Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Dear cc_KL,

Thank you for your kind review, I'm glad to hear you had an excellent stay with your family. We hope we can welcome you back soon!

Warm regards,
David Macklin
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#36 of 181 in Sydney
6,720 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#31 of 181 in Sydney
4,634 reviews
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#25 of 181 in Sydney
1,347 reviews
Central Business District
Hilton Sydney
Hilton Sydney
#40 of 181 in Sydney
4,703 reviews
Park Hyatt Sydney
#5 of 181 in Sydney
2,651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hotel Sydney

Address: 199 George Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > The Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Sydney
#12 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#16 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#21 Family Hotel in Sydney
#33 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $187 - $482 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Hotel Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 531
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunningly situated overlooking Sydney Harbour in the historic Rocks district, a short walk from the city's shopping and business centres, Four Seasons is vibrant and elegant, with dramatic harbourfront views and a luxurious day spa featuring exclusive skincare and aromatherapy treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Four Seasons Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Hotel Sydney
Four Seasons Sydney
Sydney Four Seasons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing