We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Ranked #30 of 174 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
bowral
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“excellent stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

Stayed Saturday 25th January with my Husband. Loved the location, as there where lots of things happening in the city over the Australia Day celebrations. We paid a little more to have entry into their ambassador's Club. This gave us a lovely buffet of nibbles and drinks that we could make ourselves in the evening and a very nice buffet breakfast the next morning with our own chef doing the eggs to our liking. Cost only an extra $60 for the two of us. Very good value and very nice to not have to put up with the buffet crowds downstairs.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jacqui b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Macklin, Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Jacqui B,

Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us, I'm glad to hear you enjoyed our location and the services of our Executive Club. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Warm regards,
David Macklin
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,946
    1,349
    594
    200
    132
See reviews for
757
2,515
308
1,009
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,402)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

I live in Sydney, but we decided to stay at The Four Seasons for one night for my husband's birthday. We splurged for a Harbour View Room and if you are staying there for a special occasion, or you only have one night in Sydney, I would definitely recommend going for this option. We were able to see both the Sydney Opera House and the Harbour Bridge from our room and the view was absolutely breathtaking.

The room was impeccably designed and maintained. The King bed was enormous and incredibly comfortable. We were able to have an early check in and check out was at 12:00 pm, which is such a nice amenity. The staff were incredibly helpful and friendly, completely genuine and unpretentious even though their hotel is one of the best in the world. I find that quality in service rare at major hotels. When we got back that night, there was a bottle of champagne and a cake for my husband which said happy birthday and even a happy birthday note from the staff.

One night at this hotel is pricey, but the experience is unparalleled. A grand hotel, I would recommend this hotel to anyone I know. One of the best, if not THE best, hotel in Sydney.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bribs28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Macklin, Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear bribs28,

Thank you for your very kind words following your recent stay with us, and belated birthday wishes to your husband. I'm glad we were able to play a small part in your celebrations.

We hope to welcome you back soon for another stay-cation.

Kind regards
David Macklin
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

We chose the Four Seasons for a weekend to celebrate our wedding anniversary. When we checked in we were offered an upgrade for an extra $115 pn. Considering what we were already paying we declined. Given better rooms were obviously available it would have been nice for the hotel to upgrade us at no additional cost. Our room was small, no wow factor. The bed was really comfortable. We had dinner at Woods Restaurant at the hotel and it was amazing,we would definitely recommend this as a place to eat. The hotel is in a fantastic convenient location.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Fadden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Macklin, Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Fadden,

Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us. I'm glad you enjoyed the location of the hotel, our restaurant The Woods and our beds. Congratulations also on your wedding anniversary, we're honoured that we could play a small part in your celebrations.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,
David Macklin
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, California
Level Contributor
104 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

Four Seasons location is great. The hotel is modern and nicely decorated. We had a great view to the Sydney Harbour Bridge. They also have a great breakfast and a nice executive lounge.

Now for the bad part - the noise! Wow - it's annoying. I don't know about the other rooms, but the rooms with a view to the Bridge overlook the Circular Quay railway station. The darn trains blow horns every time they approach and leave the station - even in the middle of the night. We were on a high floor and were still very bothered. Ear plugs did not help.

The room was also very small. A tight squeeze. Friends from Sydney have told us that many business people don't stay there because of the small room size.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view to bridge overlook Circular Quay Rail station. Trains signal horn when they enter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Moonray1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Macklin, Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Moonray1,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I'm sorry to hear you were disturbed by noise from the train station, and we would have gladly moved you another room and area of the hotel if you had let us know.

Thank you also for your comments on our Deluxe room size. Should you need more room, our Grand Premier rooms are larger rooms for additional comfort. We also offer Full Harbour View Junior Suites and Executive Suites, should you wish to upgrade to a larger room.

Kind regards
David Macklin
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2014

Great location, with executive room have fantastic views across the bridge and opera house. The pool felt like a bit of a bolt on. The bar has a very good level of service and atmostphere. A good base to explore Sydney.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaTY_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Macklin, Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear LisaTY_12,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay, I'm glad to hear you enjoyed the views from your room, our location and the bar. We have been working to improve our pool area, and with daily poolside service from our Cabana area in summer, it's become a much more enjoyable place to relax. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards
David Macklin
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014

The cruise ship line we were sailing (Regent Seven Seas) offered a 3 night post-cruise stay in Sydney. They selected the Four Seasons Sydney for their guests. After reading several reviews about the small size of the rooms, I contacted the hotel via email and asked if we could upgrade to an executive level room that was larger and included breakfast as well as cocktails and an appetizer buffet in the evening. We received a prompt response from the hotel. They were very willing to charge us only the amount above what Regent was paying for a smaller room.

Our suite/room was approximately 570 sq. ft. vs. the regular room that is under 300 sq. ft. The layout of the room was excellent with a nice soft and sitting area as well as a walk-in closet that can be closed off if you have guests and a large desk (with free Wi-Fi). The king size bed very comfortable and the air conditioning worked extremely well ( important we were there in their summer).

The full breakfast in the executive lounge was wonderful. Eggs cooked to order and a buffet that would meet most people's requirements for breakfast. In the evening, there were hot and cold appetizers, cheeses with fresh bread that you cut yourself, as well as a good selection of wines, beer and alcohol that you could prepare for yourself. The hotel advertises snacks during the day but we were not at the hotel to check them out.

Sydney is an extremely expensive city. A cup of coffee can cost $8. Having the executive lounge available to us helped to offset the extra cost to stay in the upper level suite.

Everyone - from the front desk employees to the concierge downstairs and in the executive lounge were professional and very customer service oriented. They could not do enough for their guests.

As a side note, I had a medical emergency that required that we stay an extra 10 days at the hotel. Due to this emergency, we were offered the same rate that we were paying throughout the rest of our stay.

I can not praise this hotel enough. On top of everything, it is a two minute walk from the harbor, the ferries and all of the action in the "Rocks" area of Sydney!

Room Tip: If you can afford it, stay in the larger rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Travelcat2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Macklin, Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Travelcat2014,

Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed the facilities of our Executive Club and its great food and beverage offering. I do hope you have recovered well, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards
David Macklin
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014

Twelve to twenty years ago this hotel was called The Regent. It was pretty swish but now it is a Four Seasons with its rooms stuck in a nineties time warp. This does not support the Four Seasons brand and the gloomy rooms may not please regular travellers. But it does still have the best views in Sydney taking in the Bridge and the Opera House.

We booked an executive room that gave access to the lounge with free breakfast and in-room wi-fi. There are also soft drinks and snacks throughout the day and free drinks between 5 and 8 in the evening.

The public rooms are pleasant enough but the rooms are way behind the beat for the 21st century. Our bed was two divans zipped together and each morning I found myself in the gutter between the two. The bath was great for short people but not for six footers. The shower did not have a mixer tap and once set the temperature wavered dependant on other users.

Room Tip: We pre-booked our room direct with Four Seasons but were still ripped off with a 2% credit card char...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Macklin, Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Michael C,

Thank you for providing us feedback about your stay. I am very sorry to read that we did not meet your expectations.

We take guest satisfaction very seriously, and I would be most grateful to go through all the feedback you have provided personally. You can contact me directly at david.macklin@fourseasons.com.

I again extend to you my sincerest apologies for this disappointing experience and I do look forward to hearing from you.

With kind regards
David Macklin
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#26 of 174 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,113 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#24 of 174 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,152 reviews
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#21 of 174 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,245 reviews
The Langham, Sydney
#8 of 174 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hotel Sydney

Property: Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Address: 199 George Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > The Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Sydney
#12 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#16 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#25 Family Hotel in Sydney
#30 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Hotel Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 531
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunningly situated overlooking Sydney Harbour in the historic Rocks district, a short walk from the city's shopping and business centres, Four Seasons is vibrant and elegant, with dramatic harbourfront views and a luxurious day spa featuring exclusive skincare and aromatherapy treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cancelon, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Four Seasons Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Hotel Sydney
Four Seasons Sydney
Sydney Four Seasons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing