We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very very comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Ranked #29 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
australia
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“very very comfortable”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Stayed for a conference for only one night sadly. Bedding great quality and comfortable. Smallish room, with only a snippet of a view out of the window, did however have a well appointed bathroom with beautiful L'Occitane toiletries. Nice conference facilities too. Was very pleasant in the morning with a grand piano playing int the foyer adjacent to the Breakfast area. Very close to CIrcular Quay and the Rock, make it a terrific location for visitors to Sydney.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helsie57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,589 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,177
    1,430
    631
    215
    136
See reviews for
813
2,717
326
1,074
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,445)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
chch nz
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Class, exceptional standards, great views and great location. If you only do one 5 star in your life, make it this one!

Unbelievable views from higher floors, great room with everything you could want. The room wasn't the largest in the world but who cares when you have such luxury. Staff are professional and attentive.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nzmikey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

This was the worst of the Four Seasons I've been to globally. It looks like it was built as a Hilton/Holiday Inn and Four Seasons took over. Service is good but not great. Pool is small and looks like holiday Inn style. The famous L'Occitane toiletries got switched out on 7/3/13 and it's now an Aussie brand smelling of sandlewood, cinnamon, with the shampoo in neon blue liquid like toxic waste.

Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank MissingMoments
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Macklin, Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear Bebecatt,

Thank you for taking the time to pass on your feedback regarding your recent experience at Four Seasons Hotel Sydney.

I apologise that we did not meet your expectations during your stay. We take guest satisfaction very seriously, and hope we can welcome you back in future to show you why we are a leading five-star hotel in Sydney.

I would love to further hear your thoughts on our rooms, and would welcome you to email me directly at david.macklin@fourseasons.com

With kind regards,
David Macklin
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed in the Four Seasons in February for 5 nights. Luckily, we scored a corner room with a breathtaking view of the Opera House. The room was well appointed and chic. The staff was attentive and the latte/cappuccino machine in the lobby was awesome. However, the hotel's pool and spa was not what I expected at a Four Seasons (except maybe the price of my pedicure). It sits right below the elevated freeway and looks more like a motel pool - it was dated and very uninviting. I was surprised and definitely not what I expected at a Four Seasons.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cab2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Macklin, Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear cab2012,

Thank you for writing your review following your recent stay and I am pleased overall your stay was enjoyed and you found our rooms and staff to be of a high standard.

I am very sorry that you were disappointed in the pool and spa, and if there's any further feedback you wish to share, please contact me directly at david.macklin@fourseasons.com.

I do hope we can welcome you back again to Sydney very soon.

With kind regards
David Macklin
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Stayed at the Four Seasons for 2 weeks - 1 week for a conference and then a week for a break away. The room, the staff, the service could not have been better. I needed the room re-configured with more of an office desk setup, as I had a lot of course work to do in the evenings. The staff got straight on to it and within 30 mins of checking in and making the request it was done, just awesome, they just knew what I needed without any more input and got it done; very professional. The room was maintained and serviced to an immaculate standard and really felt like a home away from home.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hamish R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Macklin, Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Hamish R,

Thank you for sharing your review with us, it’s extremely pleasing to read that you had a great stay with us. I will pass on your wonderful comments to the Housekeeping team.

We look forward to having you return to Four Seasons Hotel Sydney for another great stay.

Thank you again.

With kind regards
David Macklin
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed one night using Amex points while in transit from Cairns back to the US via Sydney. The location was quite good - close to the Rocks, Circular Quay, Opera House. It was rainy that day and we could easily get an umbrella to use. The staff was very friendly and helpful.
Since we used points, we didn't expect a great view (it was a city view room) and we didn't get one. It faced an office building, but since it was only one night it didn't matter. The bed was comfortable. The bathroom was nicely designed, with separate bathtub and shower stall. However, the fan was really loud and it was activated by closing the door, so there was no way to shut that off at night unless I chose to leave the door open. I guess it wouldn't be a problem if I was traveling alone. But then I wouldn't have to worry about waking up my travel companion. Haha!
The room was on the small side (comparable to the Hilton in Sydney where we stayed five nights prior) but we had everything we needed.
The problem with a Four Seasons is that you expect a certain (very high) level of satisfaction, and it was very hard to be wowed when the expectation was so high. Hence the four circles rating.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TorontoMao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Macklin, Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear TorontoMao,

Thank you for writing your review following your recent stay and I am pleased overall your stay was enjoyed and you found our staff to be of a high standard.

I am very sorry though that you found the fan noisy. I will look into that room to make sure that the fan is in working order, and thank you for bringing this to our attention.

I do hope we can welcome you back again to Sydney very soon.

With kind regards
David Macklin
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 6, 2013

I usually stay for business but this time is weekend escaped. Thoroughly enjoyed my stay, staff are all exceptional in customer service and friendly. great location and just a minute away from the famous sydney harbour. highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MattW2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#31 of 179 in Sydney
6,339 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#26 of 179 in Sydney
4,317 reviews
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#20 of 179 in Sydney
1,280 reviews
The Langham, Sydney
#9 of 179 in Sydney
1,757 reviews
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hotel Sydney

Property: Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Address: 199 George Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > The Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Sydney
#12 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#16 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#25 Family Hotel in Sydney
#29 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Hotel Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 531
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunningly situated overlooking Sydney Harbour in the historic Rocks district, a short walk from the city's shopping and business centres, Four Seasons is vibrant and elegant, with dramatic harbourfront views and a luxurious day spa featuring exclusive skincare and aromatherapy treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Four Seasons Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Hotel Sydney
Four Seasons Sydney
Sydney Four Seasons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing