We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent service, location and views” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Four Seasons Hotel Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Ranked #28 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Darien, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent service, location and views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

Breakfast at the hotel (TheWoods) is amazing. The coffee is delicious! The location is very convenient, steps to The Rocks, Museum of Contemporary Art, Opera House, Harbour Bridge and Ferries. Walk to Darling Harbor and RBG. The staff is friendly and the view of the Opera House and Harbour Bridge are beautiful. We got an amazing rate for a hotel of this quality. L'Occitane toiletries are always a great treat. The gym is pretty spacious and well equipped.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Harbour. We were close to the elevators but there was no noise at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Talita M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,090 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,885
    1,310
    576
    194
    125
See reviews for
733
2,455
300
977
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,383)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level Contributor
47 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

I stayed at this hotel a week ago whilst on business. This was my second stay, the last being about 2 years ago which was great. I recommended this hotel to my two colleagues and we booked three rooms. There was no problem with the room, it was clean and comfortable. However, the staff at the main desk were indifferent and I was not offered any assistance with my case when I first arrived at the hotel. None of the staff in the reception area were friendly for the 2 nights that I stayed. There was a considerable decline in friendly and helpful service at this hotel in the last two years. I also felt the breakfast additional cost was far too expensive. I will not stay at this hotel again as there are better and more friendly choices in Sydney, namely the Westin.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sjbsteven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful hotel, wonderful location for walking in The Rocks, to the Ferries, Opera House, Opera Bar etc. quiet comfortable rooms with lovely toiletries. We stayed for one night as a transition in from the US on our way to Port Douglas. taking a taxi to and from the airport is a very affordable means of transport. Enjoy!

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Susie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
85 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Stayed in the Four Seasons Sydney 2 weeks back, and had a really enjoyable stay with the spacious room, and we could even see the Sydney Opera House from our window!

Arrived much earlier than the check in time, but the hotel got the room ready in less than an hour, which was very much appreciated since we took an overnight flight. Service staff was very helpful in making sure that we had something to do while waiting and suggested a couple of things we could do around the area, and offered free Wifi in the lobby while waiting.

Location wise, it was perfect, as it was just a 5mins walk to The Rocks and Circular Quay. It was also close enough to walk to the Opera House, and shopping areas in town.

I didn't have much time in the hotel, but I would definitely recommend it to friends!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Getassha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
125 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Recently stayed for 3 weeks in a restricted harbour view Premier Room on a high floor. The view of the Opera House was excellent though I did not get to see the Bridge.

This hotel is a solid establishment in Sydney, but it is not as "flash" as many other Four Seasons properties in the world. Room furnishings are not as modern as they can be and the room lighting and entertainment systems are not particularly high-tech either - these cannot be compared to international 5 star standards.

However, if a hotel guest appreciates a higher standard of hotel service and real politeness in Sydney (which is not particularly known for great service) then this hotel should not disappoint. Staff members really do try to make guests feel comfortable. They are certainly mindful of the preferences of repeat guests and noted all my requirements during reservation. What let the staff down is the hotel itself - it really needs refurbishment and upgrading.

They have started to change the interiors of their elevators (something long overdue) and there are maybe 3 more lifts to go. I strongly believe that they should follow up with a huge refurbishment of rooms and especially the bathrooms. Shower heads need to be changed from the present old fashioned ones, and the water pressure is nowhere near as good as they can be -I have had better showers in a 4 star hotel in the Sydney CBD. The rooms are on the dark side even though there were quite a few lamps in the Premier Rooms.

Their room service menu is not adequate and the cooking style is very bland - it is not bad, but it is not good either. They focus on being "health conscious" but as any international guest should know, healthy does not mean bland or tasteless or anything being slightly over-cooked.

Even so, due to the hotel location and the professionalism of the service staff, I would still recommend it to friends who are used to a particular type of service attitude. Staff members are indeed very pleasant - from Reception and the Concierge, to the Doormen and In-Room Dining.

I hope that in future, this hotel can be further modernised and they could maybe give more floor space to their Spa.

Room Tip: Go for rooms on high floors if you want good harbour views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grace S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

We got a good deal through Expedia so I can not complain. We booked the standard room. Really small and with not much natural light , but nothing different to what I expected after reading the reviews, so no surprises. Bed was very comfortable. I don' t spend much time in the hotel when I go to Sydney so it did not bother me. Location is superb, unbeatable., next to circular quay and the Rocks, very close to restaurants and the shopping strip. I would return if prices were similar next time

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Begoaussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Despite paying for extra high room we were given lowest of the high rooms and view was nto fabulous- the rooms were small and bathrooms dated
did have very comfortable beds, lovely staff everywhere and nice breakfast but way over priced for room and view

Room Tip: Ask for a high room if paying the extra but make sure its way above the 14th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dispeaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#25 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,008 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#24 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,067 reviews
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#22 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,227 reviews
Central Business District
Pullman Quay Grand Sydney Harbour
The Langham, Sydney
#8 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hotel Sydney

Property: Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Address: 199 George Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > The Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Sydney
#12 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#16 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#25 Family Hotel in Sydney
#28 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Hotel Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 531
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunningly situated overlooking Sydney Harbour in the historic Rocks district, a short walk from the city's shopping and business centres, Four Seasons is vibrant and elegant, with dramatic harbourfront views and a luxurious day spa featuring exclusive skincare and aromatherapy treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Four Seasons Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Hotel Sydney
Four Seasons Sydney
Sydney Four Seasons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing