We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Ranked #27 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Aspen, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Awesome location”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Awesome location and nice rooms. I agree with others that this is a little less extraordinary than some of the others Four Seasons, but it's still really nice and the service was good. And did I mention the location? If this is your first trip to Sydney and you want to see all the right stuff, stay here. There are some real good deals to be found for this hotel online as well.

Stayed May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Aspen09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,610 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,191
    1,435
    632
    215
    137
See reviews for
817
2,725
329
1,078
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,447)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

This was my 3rd and 4th stay and it didn’t disappoint!

Good points:
Still the most comfy bed ever
The location - opening your curtains to see the famous Sydney view is why you came! PLus being able to be at the Quay in seconds is brilliant.
The staff are incredible. I had reason to speak much more to them this time and was impressed at their care, thoughtfulness and efficiency, especially the concierge and door team.
Free use of computers in the foyer

Bad points:
As I remarked before, the rooms are small - still perfect for one though. I hadn’t noticed before but they seemed a lot darker than I remember and very odd placing of mirrors that aren’t of any use, something to consider at the next refirb.
The spa opening times were more like office opening hours than a hotel. Meant I couldn’t go.
Paying for wifi

Overall: If you want to know you are in Sydney and stay somewhere special, then this is the hotel for you. If you are trying to choose between here and the Shangri la then I would opt for here every time. Yes, the rooms are bigger at the Shangri la and they do have free wifi but being able to walk out your door onto George Street and not down a steep hill is worth the swap! However if you just want a base to explore Sydney from and are not fussed about where you sleep then save your pennies and stay somewhere cheaper than either. But I cannot stay anywhere else in Sydney now, it makes the holiday that much more special.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PrincessWombat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

I stayed here for a wedding last year, booked for 2 nights, just alone, and well, I ended up booking an extra night, this was HEAVEN. The bed - comfiest in my life, the curtains completely black out the room, the gym is well equipped, the staff are wonderful, the breakfast buffet is beautiful, the room service was awesome, honestly it's very very good!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katiebiscuits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We stayed at Four Seasons Hotel Sydney for four nights. It was lovely. Perfect location, great decor and services. Highly recommend the hotel to anyone going to Sydney and wanting to stay in the City center.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yasmin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

we spent two nights at Four Seasons and had a spacious room with lovely bathroom. Everything worked and the bed was extremely comfortable.
The staff were amazing-nothing was too much trouble.
But best of all is the hotel's position at the bottom of George Street with Circular Quay and the Rocks on the doorstep.
We had a terrific weekend and would go back.
We didn't eat there so can't comment on the dining room.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ozzygal5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

The location was excellent, right at the rocks (check out the sunday markets!). The bar had really original cocktails and great ambience, service was great. I was a little surprised they cleaned our two rooms again only hours after we checked in, even changed our sheets (my partner had cut his leg and there had been a little blood on the doona). The room was on the small side but comfortable bed, huge pillows, block out
curtains and fab view. We We got a really good deal on booking.com. this is without my new fav Sydney hotel!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AngJ123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We stayed for one night in May (Deluxe Full Harbour View, 14th floor) before our flight home and had decided to treat ourselves on our last night by spending more than we normally would. We were very disappointed by the small, almost cramped room (seriously, you would get a bigger room in an Ibis or a Travelodge) and the view of the harbour was undermined by the proximity of the hotel to a busy multi-lane freeway in the foreground. There was no free Wi-fi in the room, rather you had to pay $25 for access. This felt a bit steep given that we had already paid c.£240 for the room. I would not recommend staying here. Earlier in our holiday we spent four nights at the Shangri-La hotel which was much cheaper and a 1,000 times better. Do yourself a favour and stay there instead.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Roland W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#29 of 179 in Sydney
6,349 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#25 of 179 in Sydney
4,328 reviews
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#20 of 179 in Sydney
1,282 reviews
The Langham, Sydney
#8 of 179 in Sydney
1,758 reviews
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hotel Sydney

Property: Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Address: 199 George Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > The Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Sydney
#11 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#16 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#25 Family Hotel in Sydney
#27 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Hotel Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 531
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunningly situated overlooking Sydney Harbour in the historic Rocks district, a short walk from the city's shopping and business centres, Four Seasons is vibrant and elegant, with dramatic harbourfront views and a luxurious day spa featuring exclusive skincare and aromatherapy treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelsClick, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Four Seasons Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Hotel Sydney
Four Seasons Sydney
Sydney Four Seasons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing