We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Treated like royalty at the Four Seasons”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Ranked #34 of 182 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We recently stayed four nights at the Four Seasons Sydney during the school holidays. Our rooms were the city view ones and, even though they were the least expensive, were luxurious and stylish. The toiletries are of the highest quality and the sheets, beds and pillows were divine. We had breakfast, lunch and dinner at The Woods and the food was definitely worthy of the one hat rating. Staff were friendly and helpful and the only complaint I have would be freezing of the TV on occasions. Apparently the TV installers were working on this as they were a new company. Would definitely recommend to business travellers and older family groups. Really great location to see all Sydney has to offer.

Room Tip: If you don't mind not having a view of the harbour the city view rooms are great value
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (6,222)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,373 - 4,379 of 6,222 reviews

Reviewed April 30, 2013

We took a little city break to Sydney for my husband's birthday and picked the Four Seasons and are so glad that we did. We had a lovely and relaxing stay at this wonderful hotel.

I booked a Grand Premiere room with a city view but we still had quite a good view of the Sydney Opera House and the harbour area. The room itself was magnifient with a wonderful bed that was incredibly comfortable and had great linens. We also liked the little sitting area and the huge television. But the bathroom was really the best part for us because it had a separate shower that was nice and big with great water pressure (much better than our Sydney apartment at the time). This was the perfect little retreat for a relaxing weekend of birthday celebration. Since the staff knew that it was my husband's birthday they brought him a delicious birthday cake to make the celebration perfect.

We didn't try the wifi, because of course they made you pay extra, so we just skipped it.

Breakfast was included in our rate and offered a wide selection of items. However, the space that they have available for serving breakfast is right off of the hotel lobby, open to it actually, and it seemed pretty cramped and noisy. This was the only drawback to the whole hotel I think. Luckily, the service was good and the food was delicious.

The staff were very nice and friendly and always greeted us with a smile. The hotel was immaculate and very nicely maintained. Though it is on the pricey side, it doesn't seem that outrageous for quality Sydney hotels and this is a very nice hotel and worth that extra bit.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KMPeterson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We had a 17th story room with a view of the Opera House and the Coat Hanger [harbor bridge]. That was enough to sell coming back to the hotel for any future visits to Sydney. Staying at the Four Seasons is all about location - near the Rocks and Circular Quay. The view is spectacular.

The room itself was well laid out, nicely appointed, had adaptors for electrical appliances [battery charger, etc.], excellent linens and towels and toiletries, and flat screen TV. However, the rooms are a bit small. You buy the view - not a room with a parlor/lounge area. And, the view is worth the price - especially in the early morning hours as the sun begins to rise behind the Opera House and in the evening/night when the Opera House and Circular Quay are illuminated. The only downside of the room [at or below probably the 20th story] is that you can hear the commuter trains [mostly between about 6 am and 6 pm. You do not hear any of the highway noise from the highway that sits just above the train line...probably the train noise echoes because of the highway's concrete structures that direct the train sounds outward.

If you are from the USA or Canada, you will find food prices outrageous in Australia - often double what you would expect to pay at home. If you want to be a bit more economical in the amount you spend for breakfast or lunch, there is a McDonald's about two blocks away on Alfred Street - the cross street in front of the hotel. And, there is a Subway on Playfair Street - turn left as you leave the hotel and walk on George Street about a block to Argyle Street and turn left, walk up the hill toward the clock tower, turn right at Playfair and walk about 100 yards/meters and the Subway is on your right - there is no obvious/visual signage - you just have to look for the green and yellow sign. The nice part about this area is that there are a number of moderate to high price restaurants/pubs/fast food outlets in easy walking distance from the hotel. Try some of the eating establishments. The ones we tried were good.

Finally, I can't say enough positive things about the staff. We arrived about 9 am - after a 14 hour flight from LAX. Rooms are not supposed to be available until after 3 pm. Our room was available. We were in our room with our luggage 10 minutes later. Took quick showers and were off to the zoo. Also, for early morning joggers, there are complimentary bottles of water sitting in a little bowl of ice just outside the front door. And, if you plan to ride the Hop On Hop Off bus, buy your tickets from the concierge. There is a senior discount that was not offered to folks who bought their tickets from the bus driver or ticket agents, whom we observed.

Room Tip: Definitely get a room with a full harbor view - even though it will be more expensive. Staying here...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlandDiane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Spent one night on the 29th floor with a fantastic view over the harbour bridge and the opera house. The room was excellent, as was the breakfast buffet the following day.

Be warned, if you park there you will be charged for parking - and they don't tell you this beforehand. There are no signs and you aren't advised on check-in. It's only when you check out that you'll be surprised with a bill for parking (over $50 for 24 parking). We were told that the information is on their website - which might have been useful if we'd not booked it with them over the phone. The only blight on an otherwise enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

During my business trip to Australia I have choosen to stay in FS Sydney and it has been perfect. The hotel has a great location in downtown, just a walk away from the harbour and Sydney opera. Evening walks on the Rocks has been always great. The rooms are spacious, well serviced. We had every morning the breakfast in hotel restaurant, the buffet is rich, full of local specials and definitely feeds you up.

Room Tip: If possible ask for the corner rooms, double size, very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PZPRG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Sydney city was great to discover and the situation of Four Seasons is good. Few steps from the Opera and nice bars to have fresh white wine and seafood.
The hotel itself is a business hotel, quiet big with lot of rooms, don't expect a high recognition of the staff. Having say that, staff is very gentle, attentive.
Very clean room, concierge services absolutely great. Food is good too. A very good stay, only positive. Thank you!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NawakRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

The Hotel is well located being convenient to everything that is Sydney.Check in was smooth due to the very professional assistance of a young lady.The room was well presented and comfortable if slightly dated.We had a couple of minor niggles,a breakfast tray was left outside an adjoining room impeding access to our door for over 8 hours,the batttery in the TV remote was flat.
Overall the Hotel is value and we would stay again.

Room Tip: A corner city/harbour view room is a great choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pgthmt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#36 of 182 in Sydney
6,731 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#32 of 182 in Sydney
4,640 reviews
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#26 of 182 in Sydney
1,348 reviews
Central Business District
Hilton Sydney
Hilton Sydney
#41 of 182 in Sydney
4,709 reviews
Park Hyatt Sydney
#5 of 182 in Sydney
2,651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hotel Sydney

Address: 199 George Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > The Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Sydney
#12 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#16 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#21 Family Hotel in Sydney
#33 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $205 - $492 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Hotel Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 531
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunningly situated overlooking Sydney Harbour in the historic Rocks district, a short walk from the city's shopping and business centres, Four Seasons is vibrant and elegant, with dramatic harbourfront views and a luxurious day spa featuring exclusive skincare and aromatherapy treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Four Seasons Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Hotel Sydney
Four Seasons Sydney
Sydney Four Seasons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing