We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous in every respect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Ranked #29 of 175 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fabulous in every respect”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Great location next door to Circular Quay and The Rocks - very central and convenient for all Sydney's main tourist attractions - an easy walk to the Opera House and Botanical Gardens and a good walk to the CBD's main shopping area and/or Darling Harbour. Wynyard Station is a short walk away if your feet are sore and you want to take public transport.
The rooms are lovely, ditto the bathrooms, and worth upgrading to a Harbour/Opera House view.
The buffet breakfast is excellent but make sure you arrive no later than 9.15am as they do clear everything away promptly at 10am - wonderful fresh wide selection (honey off the hive) and there is an omelette/egg station for individual orders.
The staff are very friendly and helpful. This is a five star hotel without the attitude. Love it!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank findarainbow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,011
    1,378
    607
    204
    132
See reviews for
770
2,571
315
1,034
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,418)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Louisiana
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

If nothing else, you expect the quality service you pay for at Four Seasons. Not here! Rooms paid for 4 months in advance not ready at 10:00pm. They said all of us would have to accept twin beds as they were out of the guaranteed king beds our party had reserved for our 4 night New Years celebration! Then, they turned away people for prepaid breakfast buffet and accepted people who arrived later. No rhyme or reason to their repeated inability to provide customer service. Then, 4 year old girl got locked in an adjoining room (without adults) that was not supposed to lock from that side. Took them hours to break her out and 4 seasons could not explain how it locked to prevent it from happening again. 10 rooms in our group at $800 per night and Management never responded to anyone's issues or complaints after unfortunately daily issues by at least 1 group.

Room Tip: Call ahead to ensure the type of room you reserved is ready... They do not take reservations serious...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bayou_Believer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David M, Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback about your stay over the New Year season.
I would like to extend my sincere apologies for not meeting your expectations over this important holiday period.
Since reading your comments, I have personally followed up with our managers who responded to your concerns and we are very sorry that this was not resolved to your satisfaction in a timely manner.
As this is a very time for the hotel, I would like to offer my personal assistance should you return to Sydney so that I can make sure you have a wonderful and memorable stay with us.

Sincerely,

David Macklin
Hotel Manager
david.macklin@fourseasons.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Don't get me wrong, staying at this busy establishment is very nice. Easily the best part of the experience is the VIP service which starts at the front door and continues through to Reception, restaurant and housekeeping. We enjoyed 2 weekend nights in a Grand Premier City-Harbour View room, which housekeeping serviced twice daily. The buffet breakfast was excellent, as was the hotel's proximity to The Rocks and Circular Quay. But age shows. Room decor and fittings, though well maintained, were a little dated, and therefore out-of-style. The bedside lights were table lamps with hard-to-reach switches on cords behind the bedside tables - far from ideal. Soap aside, the toiletries provided were not fancy. The thin toilet paper and somewhat rough bath robes were a disappointment. The marble bathroom was surprisingly cramped, but did contain a wonderful big deep bath. As a result of a travel glitch, we sadly did not have the time to try out the attractive spa, fitness centre or outdoor pool. I shopped around for the best rate available; interestingly, none of the booking sites could beat that which was offered on the Four Seasons website. I'm glad we tried out the Four Seasons, but will look elsewhere when organising our next Sydney harbourside luxury holiday.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gostan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suva, Fiji
Level Contributor
45 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Spent four nights here for meetings, both at the hotel and in the area. Very comfortable room with a great view of the Harbour. Was impressed with the assistance provided by the Concierge Department in locating my luggage which did not make it to Sydney with me from London.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DennisM2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at this property in early March 2013. For the class of property and price range it was underwhelming compared to Asian style hotels - by the latter standards, this was a 3.5 star property. The rooms were small and in desperate need of a refurbishment. Having said that, service was excellent and so was the location. We were just disappointed that this Four Seasons did not match our expectations of what that name stands for elsewhere around the world.

Room Tip: High floor facing the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cmcmcm1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We enjoyed an indulgent evening at the recently refurbished Four Seasons at Circular Quay, Sydney. The room was very comfortable and the bed heavenly! The hotel is well located adjacent The Rocks and quay and near to the Pitt St shopping precinct. Staff were very friendly and facilities and food in the Executive Club very good.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 1415 which enjoyed spectacular views of both the Opera House and Sydney Harbour Br...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Having stayed at Four seasons Sydney for the last 4 years i was looking forward to staying there again but i must say i would think twice before returning there again.

The day started with been given the wrong room and my bags not been sent up for over 30 minutes when i specifically requested for them to be sent up straight away as i had a meeting to go to.

Yes ended up going to Lunch meeting with out been able to get changed.

Finally they gave me the correct room but actually said it was a upgrade when it was no upgrade it was the room that i was actually booked for so go figure.

I emailed the GM of the hotel with in regards to my experience and the duty manager and 2 weeks later still no reply which is even more disappointing.


I think i will go back to staying at Park Hyatt Sydney, very disappointing and very sad really as its usually such a great hotel to stay at.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David M, Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Sam B

I would like to extend my sincere apologies for the lapse in service you experienced on your last stay. I am very sorry for the delay with delivery your luggage and the room allocation.
As you are a very valued guest of ours, please feel free to contact me directly with your next reservation as I would personally like to make sure your stay exceeds your expectations.

Sincerely,
David Macklin
Hotel Manager
david.macklin@fourseasons.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#26 of 175 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,180 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#23 of 175 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,199 reviews
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#19 of 175 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,261 reviews
The Langham, Sydney
#8 of 175 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hotel Sydney

Property: Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Address: 199 George Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > The Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Sydney
#12 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#16 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#25 Family Hotel in Sydney
#29 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Hotel Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 531
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunningly situated overlooking Sydney Harbour in the historic Rocks district, a short walk from the city's shopping and business centres, Four Seasons is vibrant and elegant, with dramatic harbourfront views and a luxurious day spa featuring exclusive skincare and aromatherapy treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Four Seasons Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Hotel Sydney
Four Seasons Sydney
Sydney Four Seasons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing