We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Opera House view unbelievable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Ranked #29 of 180 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 2, 2013

We stayed in the Four Seasons, over New Year's. We had a great view of the harbour and opera house. The room is what you expect of a Four Seasons- very comfortable and terrific bathroom.
Location was premiere for touring the Harbour, Opera House, Royal Botanical Gardens, and the Rocks area.
Conceirge was very helpful.

Room Tip: ask for both opera house and bridge harbor to have a view of both. We only had opera house
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tennislover28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,888)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,199 - 4,205 of 5,888 reviews

Reviewed February 2, 2013

I have used Four Seasons in Sydney for twenty years, right back to when it was The Regent. It remains a pretty decent hotel, but it seems to be going through a bit of an identity crisis. It cannot seem to decide whether it wants to be a first class business hotel, a vacation destination hotel or a cruise ship departure point.
We stayed for ten days and they wanted to charge more than 200 Aussie dollars for wi-fi access. This is crazy. As a result, my wife and I went to Starbucks every day for breakfast and free wi-fi. We would otherwise have used the hotel restaurant.
The wait for elevators when the cruise ships are in town is absolutely intolerable.
Bizarrely, there is no information about hotel restaurants and bars in the room. In fact, the hotel directory and the lift information panels still refer to a restaurant that has been closed for about nine months.
The pool remains nice, but there is no poolside service. Find your own towel and get your own water.
It feels like a hotel that has financial problems. In fact, the night we arrived the bar had closed early because "staff in Sydney are expensive".
We will continue to use it, because it has the best location in Sydney, but I hope it rediscovers its five star service.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bigal57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Travellers of 2013 expect wifi free of charge no matter what they pay for their room. Whether 3 star or luxury, wifi is a right just like electricity or running water.

Standard rooms are pokey and cleanliness is average.

Service and staff manner is poor

Only the porter owes a commendation. Nice guy, shame he works for a hotel living in the 3rd world

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Travelling_wisdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David M, Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments about the internet service at the hotel. We are currently reviewing this service as our goal is to provide a wonderful guest experience.
I would also like to apologize for not meeting you expectations with the manner of the staff. If you would like to share more information, please feel free to contact me directly by email as your feedback is extremely important.

Sincerely
David Macklin
Hotel Manager
david.macklin@fourseasons.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We were so glad that we stayed at the Four Seasons in Sydney at the end of our Australian trip. It certainly helped seal our beautiful memories of Australia.

We booked directly with the hotel via their website. Having stayed at Darling Harbour at the beginning of our trip, we picked Four Seasons at Circular Quay for its spectacular view of the Sydney Harbour for the last leg of our journey. We booked the Deluxe Full Harbour View Room. Upon check in, we were pleasantly surprised that they upgraded us to the Grand Premier Full Harbour View Room.

The view was indeed breathtaking, both in the day time and at night. I must say Four Seasons has one of the best location at Circular Quay for its view of the harbour. The view of both the Opera House and the Sydney Bridge was spectacular!

The spacious suite, elegant decor, indulgent toiletries, impeccable service and convenient location also made our stay very, very memorable. Totally recommend!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank isimpo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Incredible location for a well appointed hotel. Very comfortable bedrooms. We spent one night in a full harbour room and another in a city view room, both at the same price. The former gave us the view but was small whilst the latter was spacious and more relaxing. The Executive Lounge was as good as any we have been in and has to be recommended. The staff, throughout, were very excellent

Room Tip: Go for a city view room- you can bet a larger room for the same price as a full harbour view one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike1331_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

Overpriced ordinary hotel. Room interior needs renovation. 25$ extra for wifi in 800$ room is unacceptable! Hotel trsnsfer from airport delayed meeting us. Location is nice. Harbour view ix good but nothing special in it. Expected much more from this hotel brand.

1  Thank FDUCHMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We had our 10th wedding anniversary here. The bed was brilliant, the food excellent, staff friendly and our view over harbour and opera house to die for. Lovely room service set up on a table at the window and the food was worth every cent.

Room Tip: go high, ask for room with view of opera house - you will pay more but it is really worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank illana15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#31 of 180 in Sydney
6,525 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#27 of 180 in Sydney
4,467 reviews
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#20 of 180 in Sydney
1,316 reviews
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hotel Sydney

Address: 199 George Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > The Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#11 Business Hotel in Sydney
#16 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#25 Family Hotel in Sydney
#29 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $228 - $538 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Hotel Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 531
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunningly situated overlooking Sydney Harbour in the historic Rocks district, a short walk from the city's shopping and business centres, Four Seasons is vibrant and elegant, with dramatic harbourfront views and a luxurious day spa featuring exclusive skincare and aromatherapy treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Four Seasons Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Hotel Sydney
Four Seasons Sydney
Sydney Four Seasons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing