We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“expensive and little to go with it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Ranked #28 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
california
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“expensive and little to go with it”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Our "city view" room was a view of another building. The room was so small, we could barely move around. Very expensive. Of course they were willing to upgrade for a huge fee. It was hit and miss with the concierges - they would bend over backwards to help us and then the next time act like we were imposing on their computer time. Hotel lobby is nice. Fitness center was very hot. Didn't eat at the hotel - too expensive. Location is great - right by the wharf.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dlpa2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David M, Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your candid comments. I am very sorry that we did not meet your expectations with the room size. As you menetioned, we do have other room catergories and I will make sure we suggest these otehr options on you next visit.
Thank you for you feedback about our concierge adn also the dining facilities.
If you come back to Sydney, please feel free to contact me directly so that I can make sure you have a wonderful experience.

Sincerely
David Macklin
Hotel Manager
david.macklin@fourseasons.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,494 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,114
    1,416
    620
    209
    135
See reviews for
794
2,664
323
1,061
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,434)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bombay
Level Contributor
193 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Prominent location overlooking the Harbour. Just a short walk to the opera house (check out the Aborigines and their didgeridoo''s on the way). The hotel is spotlessly clean and the staff very courteous. Enjoyed our time here...

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rochelle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed in a King Room overlooking Darling Harbour. A beautiful outlook. Very clean and comfortable. Receptionist and Concierge welcomed us. No hassle check-in. Hotel is very central to all the major shopping centres in the heart of the city and a lovely walk over the cross bridge to Darling Harbor restaurants. Very pleased with the cost per night as compared to other hotel prices. I have stayed at other hotels within the city that were much dearer in the cost and there is no difference in the way we were treated, the rooms were clean and tidy. I would highly recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the Harbour for a few dollars more... it is spectacular!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We had just arrived from a long overnight flight and fronted up at this hotel to check in at 7.30am fully eating to be told our room wasn't ready but it was and we spent all of 2 minutes between checking in and ending up in our lovely room overlooking the opera house.
While the rooms are or enormous (we had just stayed at the upper house in Hong kong which is the size of a house) they were very comfortable, amazing bed, free wifi and lovely occitane toiletries.
Two highlights: the gym which is fantastic and the cocktail bar (Grain?) located next to the hotel.
This is a lovely hotel in a brilliant location only moments from the rocks, ferry terminal, trail station and opera house. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Definitely choose a room overlooking the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BronwynS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Desert, Maine
Level Contributor
221 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

It's a very expensive hotel, but didn't live up to our expectations. Our view was hidden by the hotel in front of us (you might try staying there instead!) - the Shangri La. Or right on the water is Park Hyatt Sydney - the location doesn't get any better than that.
Unfortunately we arrived at 10am on January 2 at the FS and it was a zoo. No room available and although they let us in, the buffet was closing down. Not much to choose from. The room was smaller than expected and we overlooked a highway. Very disappointing. The concierge and bell people were great but we couldn't rely on the front desk staff to let us know when the room would be ready so we kept checking back with them. I think we got in to the room two hours after arrival. It's a busy time of year for sure, but with the lack of views and inability to get in a room after 24 hours of travel, we were cranky.

Room Tip: if you want to see the harbor, make sure it's not an obstructed view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JH928S4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is a regular hotel, with small rooms, mediocre food and a four seasons price tag.
The staff is nice and well trained and the location is good, but unless you have a hole burning in your pocket and want to over pay for what you are getting, stay elsewhere. I was really disappointed in this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ibrahim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David M, Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Ibrahim

Thank you for you comments about our hotel. I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations on this stay.
I am glad to read that you felt the staff were nice and well trained however I am disappointed that the hotel's rooms and food was not to your liking.
Please feel free to email me directly with any specific feedback as we continually strive to improve our hotel and to provide a wonderful experience to our guests.
Sincerely,
David Macklin
Hotel Manager
david.macklin@fourseasons.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

I stayed at the Four Seasons for a week at the end of October (this review is long overdue). The property isn't my usual style. I tend to choose boutique luxury properties, rather than stay in large chains. I went with the Four Seasons this time because the location absolutely cannot be beat. It sits at the entrance to The Rocks on the corner of Circle Quay. I paid extra and had an opera house view. The view was worth every penny. I spent way too much time, staring out the window, watching the ferries come and go.

The room itself was a decent size (though not overlarge) and well-presented. So what was the problem? A few different things--

Construction was going on during my stay. This meant tarps draped over lobby walls, traffic patterns rerouted and restaurants closed. It also meant drilling pounding through the walls of the spa during my treatments. The hotel's architecture is dated, so I understand the need for the facelift. But I saw no effort made on the part of management to compensate the guests for this inconvenience.

Speaking of the spa--if you read through my reviews, you see I'm a bit of a spa junkie. I'm a former massage therapist with back issues, so I will almost always take advantage of spa facilities if given the opportunity. I had two massages here. My therapist was superb. But the massage beds were absurdly narrow. I didn't realize it at first, but my initial appointment took place on what was the spa's largest bed. That was bad. During my second appointment, I had to tuck my hands under my hips so I could keep my arms on the table--if I'd known that would be the case, I wouldn't have booked the appointment, no matter how good my therapist was. I said something to her about the problem and she apologized profusely and begged me to say something to the management. She said she and her manager had approached senior management more than once to see if new equipment could be purchased, but had seen no changes. She also told me she got this feedback all the time, and that just that afternoon she'd had a client who'd booked three hours of treatments give up an hour in, saying she was just too uncomfortable to continue. It was absurd.

The weekend I stayed, the hotel had an odd kind of bridal show going on (I say odd because there were exhibitors selling bridal accessories, but there were also people selling products like bookmarks and slippers). The event took place in the atrium, which made the lobby of the hotel noisy and overcrowded, and which caused the one hotel restaurant to close for breakfast an hour early both Saturday and Sunday. I paid a bed and breakfast rate through Booking.com, so I wanted to take advantage of the meal. But, like a lot of other guests, I didn't want to get up at dawn while on my vacation. So I, like apparently half the hotel, I came down at nine, with one hour left of service. The restaurant was caught absolutely flat-footed--the breakfast buffet was half empty, no one was at the door to seat people (there was literally a line a dozen people deep), tables were dirty. I thought it might be best to forgo the buffet and order a la carte, hoping that would be faster. That was a mistake. I sat at my table for 40 minutes. My order was taken, but I didn't receive so much as a cup of coffee during my time there. The table next to me had a similar experience, the four women sitting there finally giving up and leaving. I followed their example 10 minutes later and went to the Starbucks down the street. When I brought this experience to the attention of the front desk manager, asking him to take the meal off my bill, I was told there was nothing he could do because I'd booked the through Booking.com rather than through the Four Seasons site (I should also mention there was an issue about my room and its price that supposedly was caused by the reservation coming from Booking.com. I use that site exclusively and have never had trouble with any other hotel. Thankfully, Booking.com made it right).

This is the first time I ever stayed at a Four Seasons hotel. I don't think I'll be back. There are too many other hotels out there offering better facilities, services and hospitality. For the price--and with the reputation--I expected far better. Stay at the Shangri-la if you want to be near The Rocks.

Room Tip: If you choose to stay here, book a room with a Full Harbor View.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KMarieR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#27 of 178 in Sydney
6,284 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#24 of 178 in Sydney
4,269 reviews
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#19 of 178 in Sydney
1,269 reviews
The Langham, Sydney
#7 of 178 in Sydney
1,726 reviews
Central Business District
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hotel Sydney

Property: Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Address: 199 George Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > The Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Sydney
#12 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#16 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#25 Family Hotel in Sydney
#28 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Hotel Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 531
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunningly situated overlooking Sydney Harbour in the historic Rocks district, a short walk from the city's shopping and business centres, Four Seasons is vibrant and elegant, with dramatic harbourfront views and a luxurious day spa featuring exclusive skincare and aromatherapy treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Evoline ltd, Agoda, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Four Seasons Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Hotel Sydney
Four Seasons Sydney
Sydney Four Seasons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing