We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Beautiful hotel in great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seasons Hotel Sydney

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Ranked #24 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel in great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel twice now (both for business) and have been very impressed both times. The staff are always very attentive and make you feel very welcome. The rooms are beautiful, well appointed and very clean. The first time I stayed I must have been given an upgrade without knowing as I had a larger room with a view of the Opera house which was lovely. Will always stay here when in Sydney. Great location too.

Room Tip: Room with a view is well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank N H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,451
    1,124
    490
    163
    100
See reviews for
590
2,068
263
862
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,236)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

Pros: beautiful view, that was for sure! The room itself was beautifully presented and perfectly clean. Fantastic set up of the room. Staff were friendly.

Cons: When we went to check in the room was not ready; which I understand no problem - staff said it would be ready in about 30 mins and they took down my number saying they would call as soon as it was ready; so me and my partner went down the road for a drink. After about and hour and a half we decided to head back, staff had obviously forgotten to call. Then had to wait in line (not that it was really a line, no clear stop to queue up and ended up have several people walk in front of us lacking organization a bit) this was for a further 20 minutes. Once checked in we went up to our room ready to eat our pre-paid for meal which was meant to be ready upon arrival; however very disappointed to find nothing. I called reception to ask and they had a meal sent to us within an hour. Also had the understanding that there was meant to be and iPhone charger in room but couldnt find it, tried to call reception but I just wrang out.

Overall it was okay, however when paying over $700 per night there was just one too many hiccups for my liking. Will be stoked if we stay there again, however will only do so if given a voucher or something, won't be spending my own money there again.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank RhyannaJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, SC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We found the best thing about our stay at the Four Seasons Hotel Sydney was the location! We couldn't ask for a better spot in the city. Easy walking distance to all the city has to offer. We took a ferry to the beach, a bus tour, walked to the shopping district, Circular Quay, and the historic pubs. Quick walk to a show at the Opera House. Staff friendly and very professional. Enjoyed the lobby bar, concierge was very helpful in arranging our tickets and drivers. Spa was so-so....I had a massage and the therapist did a good job, but the room was anything but sound proof. Could hear people being escorted to their rooms and coming and going. Small waiting area in a hallway-not very relaxing and co-ed. Breakfast was delicious-but very pricey compared to my small appetite. Service in the pool area was adequate. I would definitely stay their again for the location alone, and the great staff.

Room Tip: Our room was on a corner that provided a beautiful view of the harbour and the Sydney Opera House.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TomKaten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
75 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 409 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

I flew half way around the World and there is no Wizard to make everything magical at this Four Seasons in the land of Oz.

The service was gracious on check-in, but after first seeing the rooms I was disappointed. Very small rooms with lots of cookie-cutter one-size accommodations per floor. Old elevators with burnt out buttons. There are a few larger suites and a presidential.. We tried the second largest suite and deluxe room with adjoining during this stay and were unimpressed with finishing that felt more like Westin, Sheraton or Marriott than FS.

They are still doing the minimalist, contemporary asian thing that was the rage 5 years ago. The biggest thing for me were room layouts and sizes with lots of energy saving lightbulbs and other annoyances. I understand pitching in for the environment, but I lump these sad, depressing halogen replacements and site-made inoperable 2 pane windows in the same pile as shower aerators. You can't offer energy saving bulbs and in-operable glass at over $2000 USD per night. I want the warm honey glow of the energy wasting bulbs I grew up with and a breath of fresh air for that kind of money.

Room sizes and penny-pinching power saving aren't the only thing that sets this Four Seasons apart from it's better bred ilk outside the land of Oz. The room service staff fought us in a verbal tit-for-tat as we tried to order an omelet after 1pm. "I'd like an omelet please" .. "breakfast was over 50 minutes ago sir"... "Breakfast is over?" ... I rifle through the menu and order a substitute before seeing "all day eggs" on another page.. "But it says you have all day eggs?!?" ... "Well, I guess I could ask them to make a few of those eggs into an omelette".. What kind of Four Seasons is that!?

The whole thing felt like a decidedly un-special business-hotel in a touristy location.

It wasn't horrible.. It was just so ordinary - I would have hated to have come all the way around the World for this. Oh wait, I did!

Pool was really substandard and needs to be bigger and rebuilt. If I was Four Seasons I would sell this hotel and start over with some better bones, then charge more. Thought about going to the spa but cancelled because everything felt so Sheraton-like.

Within 3 days I was looking for my wife's Ruby slippers and knocking them together saying "I want to go home!~" Ok - enough with the Wizard-of-Oz analogies... You get the idea.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank theLuckiestGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

I stayed in this Hotel in September, 2012 for 2 days. It was a Business trip. Hotel is located in the heart of Sydney. The view of Opra house is amazing from the window of the hotel. And right across the street you can catch the City sight seeing Tours bus and get a amazing tour of this beautiful city.Staff are friendly and the concierge team is very helpful in terms of giving information on which all execursion the city offers. very good hotel rooms a bit small but very cosy. over all a great hotel to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for the room facing towards Opera House. The view is amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mac m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

We recently stayed at this location and while it could use some updating it was a fairly typical city four seasons. The location is great for wandering around Circular Quay and its near some pretty decent restaurants.
The room is cozy but for two it is just fine. I did enjoy the breakfast every morning.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelbug814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Great staff
Convenient location
Rooms a bit dated I thought and very dark
Spa bust
Pool quite nice
Hideous charges for everything. Wifi, parking, food, mini bar taking con to a new level

Verdict - the staff make it. Way better paces in Sydney for less

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Paul19781
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#21 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 stars 3,486 reviews
The Rocks
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#25 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 stars 5,231 reviews
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Pullman Quay Grand Sydney Harbour
The Rocks
Park Hyatt Sydney
Park Hyatt Sydney
#3 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 stars 1,865 reviews
Central Business District
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hotel Sydney

Property: Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Address: 199 George Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > The Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#11 Business Hotel in Sydney
#16 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#24 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#25 Family Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Hotel Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 531
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunningly situated overlooking Sydney Harbour in the historic Rocks district, a short walk from the city's shopping and business centres, Four Seasons is vibrant and elegant, with dramatic harbourfront views and a luxurious day spa featuring exclusive skincare and aromatherapy treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Four Seasons Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Hotel Sydney
Four Seasons Sydney
Sydney Four Seasons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing