We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“More than I expected” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Four Seasons Hotel Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Ranked #28 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“More than I expected”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

This Hotel is charming, inviting and just Gorgeous. Its in a great location, where it is just a stroll to all the major shops, Circular Quay and great restaurants.
I have stayed in Sydney at numerous Hotels, but this one stands out.
Check in process was fast, our room was nice with a view of the harbour and Sydney opera house.
I found room service fantastic as the food was great.
The spa is great, I had a facial and felt so relaxed and refreshed. If I had time to use the pool and steam rooms, I don't think I would have left.
The hair salon downstairs has professional hair stylists who could tame and manage my hair. For once in a very long time, I walked out extremely happy with the blow dry style i asked for.

Room Tip: harbour view room is always a good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Louise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,082 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,880
    1,309
    575
    193
    125
See reviews for
732
2,451
300
974
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,380)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

Me and my partner stayed here for 4 nights. It was out first time to Sydney and first time to Australia so we wanted to treat ourselves so we chose the Four Seasons Sydney due to its luxurious looking rooms and good location.

Prior to arriving at the hotel, I pre-paid for the room in advance. I was aware of a 1.5% fee on credit card payments but I was not aware that the payment would be taken in multiple stages so on top of the 1.5% surcharge I also had two non-sterling charges from my bank (coming from the UK) I would have appreciated if this was advised to me in advance as I would of paid at the hotel if I had known.

The city view room was lovely and clean, great tea and coffee making facilities, bathroom, toiletries, large television and very comfortable big bed. The room was a little smaller than I was expecting but I guess this is because of its central location. Housekeeping were fantastic and cleaned the rooms very well, they were lovely and very polite. Our big window looking out to the city was amazing,

The hotel itself is very striking inside. The staff are very polite and helpful. We arrived much earlier than the check in time and we were in our room within 2 hours so excellent service from the staff. The self with our luggage almost immediately which was greatly appreciated after a very long flight from the UK. We were able to use the washrooms too.

When we arrived at the hotel and proceeded with check in, we were advised that there is currently an introductory rate which would be very beneficial to us. $90 for breakfast and wi-fi for the full 4 nights of our stay. We thought about it and then booked this the next morning. When we confirmed this the next morning we asked the reception staff to re-check the price was correct, which she did so we were not expecting a bill at the end of our stay for €90 X 3!! This was quickly dealt with once we mentioned what had happened.

The Wi-Fi can be quite slow and too much of a bother to arrange it. We spoke to 6 members of staff before we finally got our wi fi to log in correctly. A simple log in code would of done fine but it was much more complicated than that. We were told a few times that we should be able to log in now as this has been fixed for you and it still wasn't working. I would suggest avoiding the charge and use the free wi-fi in the city restaurants.

Breakfast in the executive lounge was fantastic. There was plenty of choice and the chef was brilliant. The daily specials that were cooked every morning by the chef was some of the best breakfast I have ever had! It was lovely to look out at the harbour every morning.

Overall I had an enjoyable stay, the hotel has a perfect location which you cannot fault. If I was to return to Sydney in the future, I would consider the Four Seasons again and I would recommend to others but I would be likely to try the Shangri La next door.

Room Tip: Take the 15 minute walk to Darling Harbour for great food and a great evening, Pre-book your arri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bvbbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Four Seasons for two nights in January arriving on the night of our wedding. Front desk and conceirge staff were fantastic - very helpful and fast.

Our room was great and the view was just amazing. We only ate room service but were quite impressed with the servings and the quality.

Am hoping to stay sometime again soon!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank didi1182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

The Four Seasons in Sydney was beautiful. It is in the perfect location, near Circular Quay and The Rocks. We could see the Opera House from our window. We had a city view room. The bed was the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in. Great size room with tea & coffee facilities and robes. Fabulous place.

Room Tip: We were on floor 7 with a city view. We could see the Opera House and part of the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SharonSmh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

Husband and I stayed the weekend of 7th Dec - 9th Dec 2012

We chose to stay at the Four Seasons because it was one the hotels in Sydney that we had not yet stayed in. We wanted to compare as we have previously at other 5 star hotels in Sydney. The Four Season service is stellar and for us, came out on top blowing the Intercontinental and Shangrila out of the water.

From the moment we arrived we were greeted and welcomed by their staff, our bags swiftly whisked away and check in was so pleasant - the best welcome we have experienced at any hotel in Australia.

Our room was ready when we arrived, which was much earlier than their official check in time. The room was a good size with a partial view of the opera house & sydney harbour.

Housekeeping was excellent and providided daily service + turn down service during the evening, which was so nice to come back to after returning from a late dinner.

Location is convenient - 2 min from Circular Quay station and bus stations, few minute walk to The Rocks and 15 min walking distance to Pitt St Mall shops.

If I wanted to be pedantic, I could mention;
- the windows were a little dirty .. but we were out and about exploring the city most of the time anyway
- we could hear sirens from the street below from our room from time to time
- free wi-fi is not provided complimentary in rooms, but they do have internet on the computers on level 3

Overall, the service the staff provides at the Four Seasons is truly friendly & genuine. We enjoyed our stay here very much and hope to return.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Danzelldc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

Had a weeks stay with work and loved it.
Location was excellent and you will have to go a long way (and i just had) to beat the staff.
Was lucky and as a promotion they were offering Executive Lounge access for $A50 per night bearing in mind breakfast runs to 40 something and Internet which is pretty slow another 25, it was a no brainier. The staff in the lounge were the most helpful I think I have ever come across.
The Grain bar again had wonderful staff and great views if you like to people watch.
As long as you can negotiate a good rate then this place is a fantastic hotel to stay in whilst in Sydney

Room Tip: Go high for better views and get the train from the airport to circular quay, just over $A16 and ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lbproperties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

This hotel was ideal! I stayed for four nights as a solo female traveller. Walking distance to Circular Quay, all major shopping areas, The Rocks and Opera House. Area is also very safe at night, streets are well lit and quite busy. If you're able, pay for a full harbour view room, so worth it! I ordered room service for breakfast which could get me through the whole day, meals were lovely and filling. Staff were very friendly and professional. Room size (Deluxe)was fine for me, but two people might want to upgrade, although the bed was huge! Room serviced daily with turndown service. I would stay here again for the comfort, location and that view!!

Room Tip: Go for full harbour view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darls72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#25 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,005 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#20 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,066 reviews
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#23 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,226 reviews
Central Business District
Pullman Quay Grand Sydney Harbour
The Langham, Sydney
#8 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hotel Sydney

Property: Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Address: 199 George Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > The Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Sydney
#12 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#16 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#25 Family Hotel in Sydney
#28 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Hotel Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 531
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunningly situated overlooking Sydney Harbour in the historic Rocks district, a short walk from the city's shopping and business centres, Four Seasons is vibrant and elegant, with dramatic harbourfront views and a luxurious day spa featuring exclusive skincare and aromatherapy treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct and Jetsetter so you can book your Four Seasons Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Hotel Sydney
Four Seasons Sydney
Sydney Four Seasons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing