We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Samll rooms but great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Ranked #29 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Cruz Mountains
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Samll rooms but great location”
Reviewed October 17, 2007

Smallish rooms, but comfortable, and fantastic location. Very friendly staff.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Small rooms
  • Stayed July 2004, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Emmanuelle70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,587 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,176
    1,429
    631
    215
    136
See reviews for
813
2,716
326
1,074
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,444)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oz
1 review
Reviewed October 7, 2007

Thew view from the room was great, the checkin process was good although there was a bit of a wait. The food in the hotel was good, i did expect better but i can not complain. The rooms were well finished and the beds very confy. Overal experience was a good one.

  • Stayed September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank BoogyOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
Level 4 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2007

We stayed for 2 nights and then 1 more night later in our trip in July. Our first two nights cost AUD$350/night including the buffet breakfast (weekend special), and our third night was AUD$350 with no breakfast. We thought it was a great deal, especially the weekend special.

There's a reason that the Four Seasons has a great reputation - great service. We had reserved city view room for all three nights, but we were upgraded to an opera view room for the first two nights and then a junior suite on our third night. Almost in every Four Seasons we've stayed at, we've been upgraded. It's really smart of them to do that - it doesn't cost them any more and it goes a long way in terms of good will.

The hotel itself is not what I normally think of when I think of a Four Seasons hotel. It's more like what I call a "conference hotel." Maybe it was something else before. It's a high-rise building, with a more business-like feelng. It has a great location by the Rocks. Very convenient to everything. The front desk person was very friendly, courteous and efficient. We were able to check in even though it was before 9 am. That was great, especially after getting off a long international flight!

In terms of the rooms themselves, we can't complain. We had a great view of the Opera House from the 32nd floor on our first two nights (we asked for a room on a high floor) and then also on the 12th floor on our third night. The rooms were comfortable, as expected. The junior suite was huge. The buffet breakfast, as you would expect, was very good. The service at the concierge was a bit uneven. We had an encounter with one woman who didn't really know what she was talking about. We had better luck getting information from the tourist information booth across the street from the hotel.

We would recommend this hotel highly. We had read some mixed reviews on these boards, but we really couldn't find any faults. We love the Four Seasons chain!

  • Liked — Location, upgrades, breakfast
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank williams44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2007

The room was immaculate with plush pillows and high-quality sheets. I didn't feel the staff bent over backwards for me but I prefer it that way. If you're used to 5-star hotels giving you that sort of treatment, then you won't get that here. At least I didn't. The location was great and you could walk to the Opera House, the Sydney Bridge, and all the nearby attractions. If you want to save some money on internet access, go across the street to the grocery store. It was much cheaper. Cleanliness is my #1 item when staying at hotels and I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2005, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank man910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2007

My husband and I stayed in the 360 suite--and sweet it was! What a view! We could see the ENTIRE harbour, the bridge, the opera house, and Manley Island. What a city!
This was the best city visit we've ever taken and the hotel is located right on Circular Quay--right in the heart of downtown happenings.
The suite is on the executive level, so bfast, lunch, and cocktails & snacks were included in the room stay. Bathroom was spectacular--marble everywhere and wonderful L'occietain soaps & lotions!
Spa was fabulous. Gym is terrific--great view of the street below while doing cardio.
Food & presentation @ the hotel was exceptional. Everything was delicious and so fresh! Wonderful breakfast muscli! They even gave me the recipe! We arrived very early in the morning and the bfast buffet was just fantastic after spending 15hrs in a plane.
Hotel is located right next to the Rocks, and there are many excellent restaurants and pubs in the Quay, just a quick walk away.
Far away the best hotel in Sydney. We can't wait to return.

  • Liked — The suite and it's views and the hotel location.
  • Disliked — Spent a lot of time sight-seeing and enjoying lunches that we didn't do dinner much.
  • Stayed October 2003, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Traceymari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle (Now)
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2007

This has to be the worst hotel in Sydney. DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY. Rooms are tiny and look nothing like the photos on the website. My husband and I tried to have a romantic weekend together there and booked a suite. The suite had horribly old carpet, and a horribly old smell to go with it, and the view was of a brick wall. So we moved - to a higher floor - and it was a shoebox. The pool area was very average. They staff were rude. We checked out after one night and went home. We've stayed at the Westin in Sydney many times before that and many times since and that is by far and away a superior hotel. We have stayed at the FS Los Angeles (South Doheny Drive), FS Maldives at Kuda Huraa, FS Bahamas, FS Jackson Hole, FS Arizona and FS Whistler, and I was shocked at truly how appalling this hotel really was. It is the old Regent Hotel (which it was prior to FS purchasing the property) and it has not been updated since the 80's. I can understand a hotel not being updated, however, this needs to be reflected accurately in photos and the price needs to reflect this also.

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank FSTouroftheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Mirada, CA
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2007

We spent five wonderful nights in Sydney in August. We frequently stay in Four Seasons Properties because we like the consistant quality. After reading reviews, we booked the FS Sydney. Because we had our son with us we elected to book a junior suite. We heard the regular rooms were not as large as a typical FS room. The suite ended up costing the price of a regular room in other Four Seasons. So I thought the price was fair. Got upgraded to a full harbour view and Opera House view. The room was typical FS quality, plenty spacious. All staff was great. I would highly recommend the FS Sydney. On our return trip to Sydney we spent two nights at the Park Hyatt. Also a wonderful property, but the room was not as large as the junior suite at the FS. The retail price at the Hyatt was more, but I used points so cannot complain. Per other reviews the FS is in a great location, short walk to the rocks and very close to Circular Quay for all types of transportation (bus, train, ferry)

  • Liked — great staff and location
  • Disliked — could use interior remodeling, but everything was clean and quality
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank YoMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#31 of 179 in Sydney
6,338 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#25 of 179 in Sydney
4,315 reviews
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#20 of 179 in Sydney
1,280 reviews
The Langham, Sydney
#9 of 179 in Sydney
1,757 reviews
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hotel Sydney

Property: Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Address: 199 George Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > The Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Sydney
#12 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#16 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#25 Family Hotel in Sydney
#29 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Hotel Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 531
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunningly situated overlooking Sydney Harbour in the historic Rocks district, a short walk from the city's shopping and business centres, Four Seasons is vibrant and elegant, with dramatic harbourfront views and a luxurious day spa featuring exclusive skincare and aromatherapy treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Four Seasons Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Hotel Sydney
Four Seasons Sydney
Sydney Four Seasons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing