We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing View”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Sydney
Ranked #82 of 174 Hotels in Sydney
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing View”
Reviewed April 18, 2007

Just a quick note to thank the staff at Four Points for an absolutely wonderful stay.
The room, view, and service were absolutely amazing.
If you are looking to stay in Sydney and want a comfortable, affordable room with superb water views, this is the place.
We have family coming over from the UK later in the year, and will be recommending Four Points very strongly to them.
Regards
Grant & Nic

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TheDobsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,010
    1,451
    615
    219
    158
See reviews for
381
1,244
222
1,058
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (986)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bath
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2007

This was our first time in Australia. We stayed 3 nights. The location was brilliant, overlooking Darling Harbour. close to a huge variety of restaurants, easy access by ferry or public transport to Opera House, Harbour Bridge, and historic area. Easy walk to city centre.
Hotel itself was very comfortable, rooms very pleasant, staff friendly and restaurant served good food. we would certainly
return.

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank lizterry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex uk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2007

When we arrived we were a bit disappointed in our room, we asked to be moved and we were moved to a wonderful suite on floor 14 we had walk-in wardrobes massive bathroom clean bedding everyday and plenty of tea/coffee etc, the bar was very good the barman was charming, the lads on the concierge desk were more than helpful and it was in a great position, just about 3 mins walk to the harbour to pick up the ferry, we enjoyed our stay very much and the girls on reception were very helpful as well, would stay again

  • Liked — it was very clean, central and welcoming
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maureen001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds west yorkshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2007

My wife and i stayed at the four points for 4 days in march after a 12 day cruise ,the hotel is in a wonderful location overlooking darling harbour,we had an harbourside view room that gave us a n excellent view of the activities going on in darling harbour which was spectacular at night

The hotel was 1st class with a full range of amenities to be had ,the staff were very courteous and helpful.the CBD is within walking distance with plenty of quality restaurants close by would recommend a stay anytime.
Brenda and Michael Booth
Leeds U.K.

Helpful?
3 Thank bremic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Hemisphere
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2007

Highlights were service, location,

Lowlights were over priced for food and drinks. "City side" rooms are awful and look out onto a busy street - definately try and get the harbour view. Just being a Starwood member doesn't seem to make any difference.

  • Liked — Harbour location
  • Disliked — Lack of value or satisfaction plus VERY small rooms
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Swig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2007

We were happy with our five day stay at the Four Points in Sydney. Our bed was very comfortable and we had a lovely view of Darling Harbour, which the hotel upgraded us to without request (probably due to membership in their Starwood program) The Conceirge was very helpful, esp when one of our bags were mis-delivered by the Super Shuttle to another passenger and immediately drove to pick it up herself. The location of the hotel was convenient to everything...and easy walk or ferry ride to everything. Avoid the breakfast buffet...very overpriced for quality of food. There's a cafe across the street that is much better for much less.

  • Liked — location, bed quality
  • Disliked — expensive Internet access
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank rcasey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2007

We stayed here for 4-5 nights in December. The hotel was completely full. When we arrived, they assigned us a room type that we had not booked. Unfortunately it was the only room available that night. However, after we spoke to the manager, they did move us first thing the next morning. The room was nice, very clean with a nice bathroom.

The location of the hotel was great. We were right next to Darling Harbor and all of the restaurants there (King Street Wharf, I think). The hotel was also very close to the shopping mall (I forget the name, maybe it was very Victoria). Chinatown was nearby also, along with an IMAX theater. We mostly walked around Sydney and took cabs or the bus occasionally. It was about a twenty minute walk to the Sydney Harbor bridge and Opera House area.

Even though the hotel is primarily business oriented, the concierge was very helpful with all of our "touristy" requests. In fact, the concierge service was excellent. They booked our Bridge Climb for us, gave us any number of options for our trip to the Blue Mountains, made wonderful suggestions for meals and made all of our reservations for everything, despite the fact that we noticed very few people asking them for "touristy" help. The people at the tour desk were very friendly and very honest with their recommendations and advice.

Internet access at the hotel was very expensive, but the area convenience stores offer internet access within a few blocks of the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank whitesandbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
PARKROYAL Darling Harbour Sydney
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Central Business District
Swissotel Sydney
Swissotel Sydney
#15 of 174 in Sydney
1,563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#24 of 174 in Sydney
4,139 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Darling Harbour
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Sydney

Property: Hyatt Regency Sydney
Address: 161 Sussex Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Four Points by Sheraton Sydney, Darling Harbour)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#31 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#34 Family Hotel in Sydney
#35 Business Hotel in Sydney
#74 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hyatt Regency Sydney 4.5*
Number of rooms: 648
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Everything you need to travel the way you like. Located adjacent to Darling Harbour in Sydney's Central Business District (CBD), our hotel is a haven of relaxation for the business or leisure traveler. As Sydney's largest hotel, Hyatt Regency Sydney (formerly a Four Points by Sheraton Sydney, Darling Harbour)boasts 892 guestrooms, three dining experiences, and 3,450 square metres of flexible meeting space. We invite you to enjoy an unparalleled Australian getaway. Hyatt Regency Sydney has the facilities to cater for all your needs. This includes complimentary Wi-Fi, tour services, laundry services, convenient room service, 24-hour front desk, limousine service, car rentals, parking (for a fee) and babysitting services - We can help you with all of that! Plus our guests have complimentary access to a 24-hour fitness centre. Hungry? Enjoy a tasty meal in a casual setting. The Sailmaker features 272 seats and an Australian-inspired menu. The Rooftop Bar, an open-air rooftop lounge (opening late December), offers guests unparalleled views of Darling Harbour. The Lobby Bar is located in the lobby and serves coffee, tea, snacks, and alcoholic beverages, while the Regency Club Lounge (opening late December) offers Regency Club guests a daily continental breakfast and all-day refreshments. At any hour of day, room service is available with an extensive menu. Our guest rooms feature comfortable beds, large flat screen TVs, cable television, movies on-demand, over sized work desk, complimentary Wi-Fi, in-room safe, air conditioning, alarm clock, wake-up service, hairdryer, tea & coffee making facilities, and a free weekday newspaper (on-demand). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Cancelon, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Points By Sheraton Darling Harbour Hotel Sydney
4 Points By Sheraton Darling Harbour
Four Points Darling Harbour
Four Points Sydney
Sheraton Sydney
Sydney Four Points
Sydney Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing